We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiness in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse La Raie
Certificate of Excellence
Port Louis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happiness in Paradise”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We visited this hotel for a few nights for a long weekend getaway.

The hotel was recently renovated in 2013, and besides some apparent major changes to the overall decor themes and design, as well as construction of new leisure areas and complete renovation of all rooms and public spaces and restaurants, the hotels also became 'couples/adults only' and introduced a 'dine around' concept for all guests.

With regards to the public and leisure areas, and the overall decor, we found it absolutely fantastic, a very appropriate mix of modern and chic colonial design and furniture, with natural wood finishes, with splashes of turquoise and white, to match the sea and the sand. We instantly felt that we were in a 5 star luxury resort whether in our rooms, or any of the restaurants and fitness areas, and all decor and furniture was in perfect condition, and everywhere was spotless.

This being a boutique hotel, in addition to being couples/adults only, the atmosphere overall was very tranquil, no hustle and bustle of larger properties, and the service from the staff was incredible, as they were able to fully dedicate themselves to the requisite limited number of guests due to the limited number of rooms.

This is not to say that this is a small property! The mature garden spaces are incredibly beautiful and extensive, with names on all plants, and variety of plants and good maintenance and mature growth of each variety making the gardens worthy of botanical garden status!

The social public spaces are also huge given the small number of rooms, providing multiple spaces for guests to relax and lounge in the sun by the 2 pools, one being an infinity pool perched on a rocky hill on the small peninsular located between the sea and the private cove of the hotel, with an AMAZING view of the northern offshore island, lagoon, and coral reef breakers; this pool is also adjacent to the hotels waters edge restaurant, boat house, and many of the wooden and thatch 'beach huts' that are scatted along the waters edge, where you can relax in the shade, or lounge in the sun, with the occasional dips into the lagoon surrounding this small peninsula that is completely exclusive to the hotel.

There are additionally 'chaise longue' and umbrellas along the beach of the private cove, and throughout the garden space between all the rooms and cove beach, as all rooms open up onto the private cove, and there is the lovely background noise of the waterfall feature that cascades from the top of the hill on the peninsula into the cove, both decorative and functional apparently, ensuring regular movement of water in the cove, in additional to the rise and fall of the water levels with the tide.

With regards to the restaurants, the hotel has a 'dine around' concept, where you can eat your dinners or lunches at any of the 4 restaurants the hotel has, for no additional cost regardless of what restaurant is chosen, although booking is required for 2 of the restaurants open only in the evenings, the seafood restaurant with tables in dedicated huts perched on pillars over the cove, and the Asian fusion restaurant, overlooking the main pool and adjacent to the main restaurant.

I would advise for dinner the first night the main restaurant, as this is usually a la carte, with different themed a la carte menus each night depending on the culinary team and what fresh produce is available to them. The other restaurants that require booking can be discovered over the coming nights, and I would advise to try and see what the 'a la carte' options for the main restaurant will be for the coming nights, before committing yourself to either of the specialty restaurants.

For lunch, you have the choice of the main restaurant, or the waters edge restaurant on the peninsula. We went mostly to the waters edge restaurant, whose menu changes each day, and the food and service was fantastic, as in the evenings, and the proximity of this restaurant to the sea, infinity pool, and our usual lounging haunts in the huts on the waters edge definitely helped make this our no. 1 daytime dining choice!

As you can see from the long review, I absolutely loved the place, but to try remain as impartial as possible, a few things to take note of if you are considering the Paradise Cove for your next holiday.

If you want to come with the kids, not possible, couples/adults only.

If you are looking for some nightlife or nighttime social activity, the hotel has live music every night, and a beautiful bar and pool table/bar games area, but it is no nightclub/disco, much more chilled out vibe. You need to get a taxi to Grand Bay (15min by car) on the weekend or Wed nights for some dancing and party atmosphere.

Water sports activities are not available all day, as there is limited staff at boat house, so if you love sailing, or water-skiing, you will need to schedule your days around when those are available.

I hope you enjoyed the review, and definitely consider Paradise Cove for your next romantic or relaxing getaway, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the waterfall might not be for those who will find the constant sound of flowing wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SebasJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy that you had experienced a nice holiday at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    204
    55
    8
    7
See reviews for
67
1,365
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in Paradise Cove in a Club Junior Suite room for our honeymoon and had the most fantastic time. We chose the hotel based on the range of activities available, the food and the overall look of the place and none of these aspects disappointed. The catamaran trip from the hotel is worth every penny (it only cost around £50 for both of us for a whole day out including food, drink and snorkelling equipment). My husband also tried paddle boarding, water skiing and kayaking, finding the Boat House staff helpful and friendly. We also enjoyed the floodlit tennis courts after sunset - the hotel provide equipment so you don't have to bring your own.

The food was incredible. My husband and I both like to eat so were keen to try the three different restaurants in the first few days to find our favourite - this proved very difficult as all three restaurants were fantastic. The main restaurant provided a great range of dishes and the chilled buffet style meant you could try a little of everything, or on the BBQ night, in our case, a LOT of everything! XO, the Asian fusion restaurant, offered a nice change and slightly more refined dishes. However, our favourite was probably the Cove restaurant which provided superb local seafood in a great location right on the cove. We alternated between the three throughout our holiday - the booking system at the hotel was easy and you just have to book a few days in advance - and were delighted to end our holiday with an incredible seafood platter in the Cove restaurant on the final night.

The overall look of the hotel and all the staff were a delight - nothing was too much trouble and we felt so relaxed.

We honestly could not recommend this more and are already planning our next trip. Many many thanks to all the staff at Paradise Cove - you really did make our Honeymoon perfect.

Room Tip: We had a Club Junior Suite room which was wonderful - it was spacious and had a balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Jenny O,

We are very pleased to have been able to contribute to an unforgettable honeymoon trip.

We look forward to welcoming you again for your first wedding anniversary…

Best regards,

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent 6 nights at Paradise Cove and enjoyed a truly relaxing stay. We chose an adults only resort as we were looking for a peaceful escape and we certainly found it. Although the hotel was full throughout our stay we never had to wait or queue for tables or service. There are enough sunbeds for everyone but despite this it was still disappointing that so many English people insisted on getting up at sunrise to reserve sunbeds that they only occupied during the late morning. The food was mostly delicious and there was always a wide selection to choose from. We were surprised to find that all of the meat was Halal and preferred to eat fish of which there was plenty so we weren't disappointed. We particularly enjoyed lunches which were varied, tasty and served in the most beautiful location. We were on an all inclusive basis and think that we probably got what we had paid for: the selection of local spirits was quite basic and the cocktail list wasn't inspiring! Our room was lovely - quite dated but still charming and the bed was huge and very comfortable. We wanted for nothing during our stay and would definitely return. A little slice of paradise!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaznSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

All the Family Members join me to thank you for your review.

We have taken good note of your comment regarding our cocktail list and we shall undertake necessary measures to improve it.

We would be delighted to see you back.

Warm regards,

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for my partners 40th birthday and it was the perfect place for a relaxing celebration. On arrival we were greeted with a refreshing cocktail and shown around the resort then to our room where our luggage was waiting.

The hotel has a very relaxing ambience too and this is reflected in the bar shutting at 11pm. This was not a bad thing for us and we had drinks on our balcony and a few times we had a midnight dip in the cove - bliss!

The food was excellent and if you did not fancy anything on the menu they would happily cook you what you asked for - you don't get that in many hotels.

There are two reasons why we did not give this a 5 star.

Sunbeds.......this really needs to be addressed. If you want to get a love nest overlooking the ocean be prepared to get up at 4! We barely made breakfast let alone do this...holidays are for relaxing when you work hard!

Slow service.....the drinks and waiter service was always a little hit and miss around the whole hotel. You could often wait up to 1hr for pool service, I would expect better from a 5 star.

No real beach....We had a day visit to Trou Aux Biches which was beautiful accompanied by a bottle of Moët.

We would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor corner room which was great as you could walk directly into the cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie_7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this comment following your stay with us.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite some little niggles.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to visit! Simply amazing!

The service, facilities, ambience all outstanding.

The private setting and highly appointed hotel is a must for any couple looking for an intimate holiday escape.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of traveling to Mauritius

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Travis C,

The hotel’s team joins me to thank you for your positive comment.

Thank you for recommending Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel.

Warm regards,

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here in November as part of our honeymoon. A fantastic location (very quiet, beautiful views at sunset) and restful time was had. Although our room was a little tired in places this added to the charm of the hotel. We spent our days lounging on a bean bag by the gorgeous infinity pool, on a sun bed (lots to choose from though people were reserving at 5.30am!) or drifting in the lagoon (take some water shoes so you can swim around to the front of the bay). Food was excellent, especially breakfast, and we had a relaxing massage in the Spa. The small touches made the stay memorable - the beautiful flower arrangements in the bowls of water in the grounds and the Mauritian gifts. We hired a car for a day; it was so easy to get around and gave us a taste of the rest of the island. We would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzybtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and taking note that you have well enjoyed the food and the Spa!

We would be happy to welcome you back for a second stay.

Warm regards,

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.Yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This really is an amazing place. The setting is idyllic, so peaceful and tranquil. The rooms are really nice and comfortable. Food is excellent too with a choice of 3 restaurants. If you book the two smaller restaurants, you don't need to specify a time, the table is just yours when you want it which was really nice and added to the very relaxed atmosphere. The staff are a credit, they try very hard to make sure you are well looked after and have everything you need. Being quite a small hotel, it's easy to get to know your fellow guests if you want to but there is so much space here you can also quite easily keep yourself to yourself. We went all inclusive which was perfect for us. I would return/recommend at the drop of a hat, it is now one of my favourite hotels. A special thank you too to Michael, Reshma and Satyam for really looking after us.

Room Tip: We had room 30 which had a great view of the beach/cove. It was a deluxe premium - not sure what ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hadhadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

A big thank you for your positive review and kind words towards our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse La Raie
38.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,562 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,240 reviews
2.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,436 reviews
4.3 mi away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel

Property: Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Address: Royal Road, Anse La Raie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Anse La Raie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse La Raie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
you&me moments in Mauritius... Situated on the north coast of Mauritius, at Anse la Raie, the Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel is the ideal address for a relaxed holiday in very private and intimate surroundings. It is an adult exclusive hotel (from 18 years old onwards) thus guaranteeing a peaceful and tranquil holiday. Paradise Cove, a 67 room boutique hotel, nestled in a beautiful tropical garden, combines harmoniously the Mauritian traditional architecture and contemporary exotic decoration. The refined atmosphere is conveyed by the open spaces bathed in sunlight. The hotel allows each one to enjoy peacefully the beauty and character of the spot, to combine exotic activities and pleasures of this day and age. Those fond of intimate havens will choose the cove and its numerous love nests to share moments together. At the tip, the peninsula with its new infinity pool overlooking the turquoise lagoon offers a spectacular view on the northern islands; its Peninsula restaurant and bar is a real invitation to those looking for a vibrant and trendy atmosphere by the sea. Numerous nautical and land activities are available. There are four restaurants, offering a variety of tastes in paradisiacal and very intimate set ups, for a unique ‘Dine Around’ experience. At sunset, live acoustic music and piano-bar are an absolute guarantee of a nice evening within a convivial atmosphere. All of this together with its attentive and smiling staff, its personalized service, its Club Lounge and Spa, Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel is the place where you&me can choose to discover the hotel and its surroundings, to hide away, to meet others or to do as much or as little as ‘we’ wish… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Hotel Anse La Raie
Paradise Cove Mauritius
Hotel Paradise Cove
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel Mauritius/Anse La Raie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing