We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Was Average- Restaurant's Cleanliness Questionable- Great Location”
Review of Crow's Nest

Crow's Nest
Ranked #13 of 39 Restaurants in Waterloo
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Seasonal waterfront restaurant situated on scenic Seneca Lake and the Seneca-Cayuga Canal. Outdoor Bar. Live Music Saturday Nights during the summer season. Open April to September 30
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
226 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Food Was Average- Restaurant's Cleanliness Questionable- Great Location”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

You can't beat the location of this restaurant. Right on the water, with lakeside dining and boats going by. However, this is a restaurant and not just a beautiful place to sit. The Food was ok. I do like they emphasize local wines, however the food didn't seem to be "local". The taste of the food was ok. Nothing outstanding. The Frickles were good and the Blackened Mahi had good flavor. The flavors of the food were muted by the questionable cleanliness of the plates and therefore overall restaurant. On our way to the table there was a random dirty glass and knife on the floor and the appetizer plates were not clean at all. I was really expecting more based on these reviews, but I don't think we'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank leneyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    47
    17
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Place”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

A little out of the wau, but well worth the trip -- just a few miles from Geneva. Wait staff very courteous and responsive. Meal was well prepared with a wide choice of wines to choose. A winner!!

Helpful?
Thank Rsnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
264 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice lakeside restaurant”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Outdoor dining is available and one can enjoy the view of the boats coming in and out from the adjacent marina. Efficient service with a typical nautical type of menu items-seafood baskets, steamers, calamari, and various fish entrees. For landlubbers there are sandwiches, burgers and steak. The Land & Sea entrée of flank steak paired with crab cake was quite good but on the small side portion wise.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PepperNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binbrook
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“nice view of the lake”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great menu selection. Nice deck and patio to sit outside and watch the boats go by from the Marina. Off the regular roadway in a quaint area so you don't hear the traffic. Hard to notice from the main street. Waitress didn't check on is to see if drinks were ok. That being said, only 1 waitress was on duty in the afternoon and for a tourist area that was lacking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myrtlelover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
394 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“You can't eat the view....”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have been here before with better results. We were seated quickly and addressed soon thereafter. But the rest was like pulling teeth. Slow bar service. Even though we were next to the bar. My shrimp basket had a good taste but only 6 shrimp? In a shrimp basket? How many would there be in a shrimp cocktail? The wife enjoyed her overpriced clam chowder and ceasar salad. When we asked for 2 more drinks, the server took a full 10 minutes to bring back my beer - and forgot the wife's wine. When we pointed out the missing wine, she went around the corner and had it in 20 seconds. While the water view from the deck is attractive, they should treat this place for what it is - a restaurant. Better service, fair potions and realistic pricing would be a start.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crow's Nest also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Crow's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing