We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Magee Country Diner
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Waterloo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Magee Country Diner is now accepting Del Lago Casino players club rewards cards in place of payment. Please not to be used with any other discounts or coupons. Thank You, Managment
Reviewed October 30, 2018

I understand that this location is a local favorite. We were there late afternoon, and although there were many empty tables, we were asked to wait to be seated by the hostess. After a short wait, we were led to a table. After placing our orders, two of the three came without the requested additions. Also, the burger order from our table came cold with the cheese no longer melted, but congealed. I am willing to give it another try, based on the good word-of-mouth reviews, in the hope that the meal will live up to its reputation.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jtrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryS4538, Manager at Magee Country Diner, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

We're disheartened to hear about your less than stellar experience with us. We'd like to assure you that this is not the norm for us and look forward to giving you the 5-star experience you deserve upon your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 258 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2018

Four of us arrived ~ 5:45 PM on Friday and were told 15-20 minutes. That turned out to be accurate as we were seated a few minutes after 6. Our server came a few minutes later with the menus. Shortly thereafter, we placed our order, 3 getting soup to start. Two orders of clam chowder arrived rather quickly and was pronounced as possibly the BEST tasting ever had by its recipients. Those were finished but the other order, for French Onion, had yet to arrive. When our server came by and picked up the empty bowls, an inquiry was made about the other order. "I'll get that as soon as I get the table of 10 their food." About 10 minutes later, it finally arrived. That was finished ("too salty") and then we all waited... and waited... almost another hour more! Wasn't worth the wait either. Fish fry, strip steak, country-fried steak and the Mac&Cheese with bacon, all warm at best with only the Mac&Cheese person saying it was tasty.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kemosabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryS4538, Owner at Magee Country Diner, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Hey there, thanks for your feedback! I would like to apologize that you experienced a wait and that your food was not as warm as it should be, as we do train our employees to be as timely as possible. We hope you can understand that this is not a representation of our business. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

My wife, a friend and I came here for their Friday fish fry. The food is typical diner food. The restaurant is clean and the service is good. The do a fried fish special on Fridays that our friend (who lives in the area) really likes. It was good.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryS4538, Owner at Magee Country Diner, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Thanks, Donald! We're happy that you and your friend had a good time with us. Our fish fry is definitely a fan favorite and not to be missed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

We always liked Magee Diner. It used to be really clean with delicious food. The last few times we visited it hasn’t been so great. There were lots of flies everywhere, and it’s just not as clean as it was. The service was great- efficient and friendly. The food was good too. The place needs a good scrubbing.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank TravlgrlNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryS4538, Owner at Magee Country Diner, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

While we are happy to hear that you have previously loved dining at our restaurant we are dismayed that you were met with disappointment this time around. While we can assure you that we continuously maintain only the highest safety and cleanliness standards in order to ensure our customers are provided with the perfect dining experience they deserve, we thank you for bringing this to our attention and hope that you will give us another try in the future (so that you can have the same experience you used to have while dining with us)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

this country diner has good food. we had the special for the night and it was tasty and filling. will stop again. dont be suprised by all the decorations, it is cow country

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank lick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryS4538, Owner at Magee Country Diner, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

It is great to hear you were able to stop by and enjoy our evening special! Thank you for the rating and please be sure to join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magee Country Diner also viewed

Waterloo, Finger Lakes
 
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Magee Country Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing