We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family restaurant”

Magee Country Diner
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Magee Country Diner is now accepting Del Lago Casino players club rewards cards in place of payment. Please not to be used with any other discounts or coupons. Thank You, Managment
Orange
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great family restaurant”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have eaten here several times and have always enjoyed the people, the food and the reasonable prices. It has a fun atmosphere with lots of decorations involving cows. It is extremely easy to get into and out of if you are traveling the NY Thruway or shopping at the nearby Waterloo Outlets.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GageMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    62
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Found this diner on our way back to the Thruway. Very glad we did! We had a brief wait, which I was fine with because bad restaurants usually don’t have a wait. The three of us had breakfast, and didn’t leave hungry. The portions were generous, and the prices were reasonable. And, the food was very good, and I could tell the folks in the kitchen cared about what was coming out the window. Although I can only speak for the breakfast food (omelet, home fries, French toast, pancakes and cinnamon bun), I did see some lunch items coming by. If I’m there again, I’ll be sure to try what looked like an excellent club sandwich! If you’re in the area (or a short drive away), this place is definitely worth giving a try. And, if there is a wait… it’s worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Redbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
449 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“We stopped in for brunch”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We missed the breakfast at our hotel so we went here at the hotel clerk's recommendation. It was packed at 11:30. Our waitress, Katie, was terrific. She was super busy, but our order was taken, delivered quickly and accurately. We had the Mickey Mouse pancake, a hotdog and the chicken salad club with fries. Everything was great. They serve breakfast until 2 and dinner is served after 4. I would classify this food as "down home cooking". Several healthy options, but lots of fried foods as well.

Helpful?
Thank dbae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Classic American Breakfast!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

You know how you've been in one of the chain "diners" that serve their version of the everything breakfast and it turns out to be two 4" pancakes, with thin, runny scrambled eggs, two strips of floppy thin bacon, a greasy little sausage link, and a spoonful of underdone hash browns? Well, this is NOT that place! This is definitely the place for a huge breakfast that will hold you over all day long! We were visiting the Finger Lakes region of upstate NY and stopped here for breakfast. My wife had the western omelet with cheese...turned out to be about 3 inches thick, loaded with fresh ingredients and gooey cheese and took up the plate, a large portion of crisp hash browns and two large slices of toast made from fresh Italian bread. This in itself would have made normal portions for 3 people. (In fact we took most of her meal back to the hotel and enjoyed the leftovers for breakfast the next day.) I opted for the big breakfast; two dinner plate size pancakes, fluffy and chewy, on their own plate, with a large portion of nicely scrambled eggs, done perfectly and a great big pile of home fries, crisp and hot, along with two nice sized sausage patties and two thick slices of Texas toast. Couldn't finish it. Oh, yeah....diner mugs of steaming coffee. The table next to us was having the breakfast special: prime rib and eggs! Looked fantastic as it went by us. This may have been one of the best classic American breakfasts we have had anywhere in the country. We did not eat again until about 9:00 P.M. that night when we split a sandwich in a local bar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PABucsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
163 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fly infestation”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My spouse and I just stopped at Magee's for dinner on our way home from shopping. The place was packed but the food was horrible and the place was crawling with flies. Imagine how they get so many flies in the middle of March when it's only 18 degrees out??? Everyone was complaining about it but the waitresses just laughed. It was disgusting to say the least. We didn't even finish our meals because we were so grossed out by where they were coming from during this time of year. (Can you say maggots???). Needless to say, we will never go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cguillau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magee Country Diner also viewed

Waterloo, Finger Lakes
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 
Waterloo, Finger Lakes
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
Waterloo, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Magee Country Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing