We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diving Holiday to remember!”
Review of Roots Red Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roots Red Sea
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in El Quseir
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Diving Holiday to remember!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

After a recommendation from John at Scuba Place and speaking to Steve at the London Dive Show in February, we took a chance and booked a week at Roots. After arriving, checking and settling in we awaited the first dive the following morning. No rushing to the dive centre at ungodly times, after a quick bite for breakfast? No pressure to complete the dives early in the day so the staff can clean up? No rushing back after the mornings' dives to find all the food gone? What was going on? Was this all a wonderful dream? Nope! Roots camp was relaxed and accomodating. Pharoah Dive Club staff ran the Diving like a well oiled machine! Whatever we wanted was no trouble! As we were repeatedly reminded, "You're on Holiday, relax, chill, don't worry! You're on Egyptian Time now!"
I can't praise the staff highly enough! From the technical staff, the dive guides, the boat staff, housekeeping and bar staff, kitchen and chef (even my allergy to peppers was successfully catered for), all of whom went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Special thanks should go to Martina (more paperwork?), Claire (thanks for the kettle) and Moudi (after you've had enough coffee)! The Diving was special, no diver soup or racing the other dive boats to the location. Corals and life in wonderful condition. We saw our first Slipper Lobster and it was huge!
You made us feel welcome and part of a special family! I will recommend you to anyone I care about because I know, with your high standards, no-one will come away wanting! A Safe, relaxed, quiet location. We will be returning soon and will say Hi to you all at the next Dive Show.

Room Tip: If you have any specific needs I would encourage you to contact Claire via their website. They will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
46
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have just returned from my first visit to Roots camp wish I was still there .. Everyone so very friendly patient and helpful . I cannot thank Tito enough for his patience and understanding whilst teaching me to dive,amazingly with his help I passed my open water dive course . The week was amazing .. Outdoor cinema , stars , popcorn .. BBQ on the beach full moon, wonderful food . And fish ,coral and other beautiful sea creatures .Clare ,Steve ,Moudi and all the staff are extremely helpful and friendly . I will be going back .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tseptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very quiet, (very) basic, very good. Although not too basic, seeing the swimming pool ...
Excellent house reef (!!!), plenty to discover on several repetitive dives. Goes quite deep too, so plenty of options.
Food is ok and variation is good ... but could benefit from some "added twists". The plain tomato and cucumber, although a healthy option, are less attractive after a few days.
Staff is excellent, helpful and very friendly.
The campfire-evenings are great to have a deco-beer!
Hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Close to the restaurant or close to the dive centre/entrance ... that's the only question.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

First of all, let's make a clear point: this is a camp! You won't find hundreds of waiters around, huge buffets and crazy entertainment. It is a place thought and build for divers and under that point of view it is just perfect! You will get a nice comfortable and welcoming chalet, eat really good home made food and most importantly dive with great guys, really experienced and professional who really know their stuff.

Unfortunately the place was a little bit too empty when i arrived, I'm sure it must be super fun to be there with big groups of divers.

The stuff is great! A personal thank you to Martina and the other for being so flexible and made me feel like a welcome friend. I will be back

Room Tip: Any room is fine! You will open the door and amazed by the beautiful view of the desert and the shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baldavito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just returned from a week with Claire and the team at Roots.
From the pick up at the airport to the time they dropped us off to go home, we were absolutely spolied by them. Food great, diving amazing, evenings around the Bedouin fire. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble, nothing is left to chance, all your needs as divers are catered for. If you want to dive 4 times a day on the house reef, you can. If you want to further afield you can. It's so easy here!!! THANK YOU all.......

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank morg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Thank you once again for a wonderful Christmas and New Year. You really do want for nothing at Roots. The accommodation is extremely clean with a daily room service. The only finger you have to lift is the one that opens your door to your room to walk over to the dive centre and get dressed for diving. After that everything else is done for you. A great breakfast, lunch and 3 course meal is available on the all inclusive deal. We had a traditional English five course meal for Chrismtas Day and a fish feast on New Years Eve. New Years Eve midnight dive finished off with bacon butties! We have been two years running now and have made some wonderful friends from all over Europe. I took my PADI rescue divers course while I was there and it was expertly taught by Moudi. The trainnig there is second to none. Cannot wait for next year. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMMAGALEDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Pharoh diving! Now based at Roots camp, its an excellent partnership. The staff, food, and new boutique rooms were excellent value. We stayed over Christmas, enjoying a fabulous Christmas dinner and superb entertainment. The diving was arranged to suit our needs and dependent on the weather, but that did not stop us from enjoying each dive. The house reef is good when there is a gentle current and a great challenge when the current is strong. The whole team managed by Claire and Steve are friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Quseir
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, El Quseir
23.2 mi away
TUI MAGIC LIFE Kalawy
TUI MAGIC LIFE Kalawy
#1 of 14 in Safaga
502 reviews
19.9 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#13 of 68 in Marsa Alam
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Pensee Royal Garden
Pensee Royal Garden
#8 of 11 in El Quseir
501 reviews
3.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort El Quseir
14.0 mi away
Rohanou Beach Resort & Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roots Red Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roots Red Sea

Property: Roots Red Sea
Address: 14km North of El Quseir | El Quseir - Safaga Road, El Quseir R1, Egypt (Formerly Roots Luxury Camp)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Quseir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in El Quseir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roots Red Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roots Red Sea is situated on the southern part of the Red Sea coast,just north of El Quseir town. Ideally situated between Hurghada and Marsa Alam Airports. We are surrounded by magnificent colourful mountains and unspoilt Red Sea beaches making it both a beautiful and relaxing destination.There are 3 styles of accommodation, Superior Boutiques & Deluxe Chalets which all have Sea-view,en-suite facilities,AC,flat screen TV and fridge or the standard Eco-Huts with shared facilities and fan giving a more rustic feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Roots Red Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing