We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas and New Year 2013”
Review of Roots Red Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roots Red Sea
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in El Quseir
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Christmas and New Year 2013”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Thank you once again for a wonderful Christmas and New Year. You really do want for nothing at Roots. The accommodation is extremely clean with a daily room service. The only finger you have to lift is the one that opens your door to your room to walk over to the dive centre and get dressed for diving. After that everything else is done for you. A great breakfast, lunch and 3 course meal is available on the all inclusive deal. We had a traditional English five course meal for Chrismtas Day and a fish feast on New Years Eve. New Years Eve midnight dive finished off with bacon butties! We have been two years running now and have made some wonderful friends from all over Europe. I took my PADI rescue divers course while I was there and it was expertly taught by Moudi. The trainnig there is second to none. Cannot wait for next year. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMMAGALEDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
46
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Pharoh diving! Now based at Roots camp, its an excellent partnership. The staff, food, and new boutique rooms were excellent value. We stayed over Christmas, enjoying a fabulous Christmas dinner and superb entertainment. The diving was arranged to suit our needs and dependent on the weather, but that did not stop us from enjoying each dive. The house reef is good when there is a gentle current and a great challenge when the current is strong. The whole team managed by Claire and Steve are friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Mainly shore diving with two exceptional reefs with resident turtle and dolphin. Divecrew checked this venue out for our Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award programme, Marine Research Course and for school's open water referrals. Unlimited diving on the house reef. Great for beginners and slopes down to over 40 metres. British owned and managed, not many places where you see the owners, dive with the owners and eat with the owners. Very flexible, helpful and nothing was a problem. The stone chalets are lovely. Boat diving is available as an extra. It is a real getaway from it all, with fantastic diving in warm clear waters, and on fantastic pristine house reefs.

Room Tip: The all stone chalets at the highest point of the camp are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkmanWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our first visit to the El Quseir area of Eqypt - & what an amazing week we had with the hospitality of ROOTS LUXURY CAMP!
Between the 3 of us (all divers), we have previously experienced diving holidays in Egypt, at Sharm el Sheik, Taba Heights and Dahab. After reading excellent online reviews and meeting the Roots Camp staff at the NEC Dive Show this year, we booked the 7 day all inclusive Millionaire package of diving and Deluxe Chalet accommodation.
We were immediately struck by the amazing location of the Roots Camp in such close proximity to the House Reef but with the awesome backdrop of the desert landscape. A beautiful beach with its own house reef dive centre area, just steps from reef entrance site & a superb beach restaurant offering great lunches, food and refreshments (all included). (I'll come back to the diving bit!)
The Camp itself is a short walk (5mins) from this beach and offers a real experience of Egypt when not diving - it has a new but extremely authentic reception and bar area and the staff are exceptionally helpful & friendly. A large and relaxing swimming pool is a recent addition - great places to chill in the heat of the sun & lots of shaded areas to relax with a book & a cool drink.
The choice of accommodation is excellent and as divers it was great not to be caught up in the hubbub of a typical all inclusive hotel with the mad rush for meals and sunloungers! The theme for the week was an incredibly relaxed one around camp - our evening entertainment ritual consisted of an after-dinner campfire, good music, in good company with a chilled beer or two and lots of starwatching! Great to recount our sites and experiences of each of the days diving & bliss after 3 amazing dives each day.
As part of the 'package' we had booked, we had 2 morning guided dives at various locations and the option for a house reef dive in the afternoon. A House Reef orientation dive with Moudi on the first day introduced us to the amazing diversity of the reef and just some of its many inhabitants. Giant Morays, Lionfish, Rays, Pufferfish & much more but these were all within the first few fins out into the bay!
Our guides Moudi, Steve & Tito took us on the most brilliant dives. These including shore dives, through swim throughs and canyons, The Rock (a huge rock surface covered in anenomes home to literally hundreds of clown fish); a hard boat dive from Safaga to the Wreck of the Salem Express; an exciting night dive on the house reef followed by a traditional beach barbeque under the stars; one of my favourite dives was the Pharoahs Tomb, led by owner Steve - a network of swim throughs and caverns accessible from a Zodiac boat - another highlight being a passing dolphin & her calf! We had some superb close up encounters with turtles and saw a vast spectrum of vivid marine life ranging from huge titan triggers to miniature nudibrachs. The corals of the area are pristine & varied. Glorious colours shapes and sizes, some are more like Coral forests than Coral gardens!
A week full of firsts for me including the night dive, rib dive, wreck dive - I returned home exhilarated but relaxed...we have already booked again for 10 days in March 2014, along with 6 other members of our local dive group, whom I can guarantee will have an experience of a lifetime.
The professional service and knowledge of owners Claire & Steve, along with their excellent & friendly staff can cater for divers of all levels and experience. The Dive Centre is highly organised by Martina & her team, whom check each diver in and out, along with careful maintenance of kit, and provision of weights/air/nitrox requirements etc.... none of our booking requests were overlooked and nothing was too much trouble.
I cannot recommend Roots Luxury Camp highly enough. A truly unique dive centre experience for divers, run by divers.

Room Tip: Eco huts do not have air conditioning and will require using shared washroom / shower facilities but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just returned from my 2nd stay at Roots Camp and as the title says , I thought it was even better than last year.
At the camp, the addition of the swimming pool and reception area enhanced its appearance and I totally agree with everything said in the review made by Steve K.
In addition the house reef was awesome with very healthy coral and abundant fish life of all sizes and colours. Another dive site you must go to is Abu Hamra.
As a solo diver I cannot recommend Fadi, Tito or Moudi enough as instructors who make you feel so confident from the start that you can relax and just enjoy the superb dives. They even join you for lunch after the dives.
They are a very well organised and efficient team from the minute you walk out of the airport to be met by one of the team to when you are transported back at the end of your stay.
Nothing is too much trouble and as Steve and Clare often said - its your holiday so you decide what you want to do.
From Martine on the desk, right through to Nadi in the gear room, the chefs, and those who make sure your gear is at the dive site and then whisked away afterwards to be washed and dried for the next day, the whole team are friendly and just want you to enjoy your time with them.

It is no surprise that they have been voted the best hotel in the area and once you have been there you won't want to go anywhere else in the Red Sea.

Room Tip: Go for the soft all inclusive option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our 6th trip to the Red Sea, following on from Hurghada, Sharm, Hamata, Soma Bay and a liveaboard. Roots Camp excels above all others for divers and those wanting an Egyptian experience on land, with European-style standards in food, cleanliness and service. At Roots Camp, this is Egypt.

DIVING

We dived for 6 days, two dives a day with a blend of house reef, shore diving and rib (boat) diving. Incredibly safe and brilliantly organised, they make sure that you get the diving you want. We will alway remember Martina saying to us on day one that she did not want to here the "but" word at the end of our stay in the context of "The diving was good 'but'". So if there was anything we wanted to do or change, we were encouraged to tell them. As it was, there was nothing we would have changed. They have a number of different dive instructors and we were able to dive in small groups of like-minded and similarly experienced divers. As a result, Moudi, Steve and Tito (some of the dive instructors) had no problem with us doing 70+ minute dives, safely as we were all good with air consumption. For each dive, the kit was there waiting for you, after having been washed after the previous day's diving. Dive briefings were good and you set the agenda as to where you want to go; not the dive centre. The Rock and Pharoah's Tombs are two dive sites that are up there with the best in the world and just 10 minutes from the jetty by rib (to set the context we have done 235 dives at locations from Thailand, Maldives, Borneo, Barrier Reef, Corn Islands and 5 different Caribbean Islands). Our dive on the rock started with a dugon, had dolphins and beautiful corals. But all of these were secondary to the actual rock itself which is completely covered by soft anenomes with thousands of clown anemome fish. You have to see it to believe it.

As a dive operation, they cannot be bettered. If you are a dive club, this has to be on your itiniery. If you are a singleton, it is ideal as it is like a liveaboard on land - and easy to meet and socialise with other guests as well as Moudi, Claire and Steve. And if you are a couple, like us - the same.

THE RESORT

If you want lots of international hotel facilities and entertainment, this won't be for you. If you want tranquility, friendliness and a personal service from all staff then this is perfect. We stayed in a boutique room which was clean, comfortable, pretty, had air conditioning and en-suite facilities.

The camp was also clean and the photographs don't really show it off as being as nice as it actually is. Lunch is served at the beach restaurant; breakfast and dinner in the camp. Lunch and dinner are buffet with limited choice which might be restrictive for some - but actually we thought over the week that the food was excellent, varied and gave a good balance between European food and Egyptian dishes. They do cater for people with dietary constraints, you just need to let them know. Dinner outside under the stars was fantastic, followed by coffee round the fire.

THE STAFF

All of the staff, from Claire and Steve, to Martina, Moudi, Tito and then all of the drivers, cooks, waiters and dive shop technicians were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and they were all great to be around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveKingTut, Owner at Roots Red Sea, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
It is a great reward to have such compliments on the service and diving we offer, all our team are very proud of what their effort and dedication has achieved. It is very much the team and not the individuals that make it all possible, everyone puts their heart and soul in to making every guests holiday a special memory. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at Roots in September with a small, excellent stay, We were all made to feel very welcome by Steve, Clare and all the staff, Dive set up is well organised as are the facility's in the hotel.
Rooms are clean and have everything you need for a relaxing week.
House reef offers plenty to see however very accommodating in arranging trips to other dive sites.

A trip to Roots camp is well worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Quseir
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, El Quseir
19.9 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#12 of 68 in Marsa Alam
381 reviews
23.2 mi away
TUI MAGIC LIFE Kalawy
TUI MAGIC LIFE Kalawy
#1 of 13 in Safaga
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Pensee Royal Garden
Pensee Royal Garden
#8 of 11 in El Quseir
507 reviews
3.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort El Quseir
14.0 mi away
Rohanou Beach Resort & Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roots Red Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roots Red Sea

Property: Roots Red Sea
Address: 14km North of El Quseir | El Quseir - Safaga Road, El Quseir R1, Egypt (Formerly Roots Luxury Camp)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Quseir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in El Quseir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roots Red Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roots Red Sea is situated on the southern part of the Red Sea coast,just north of El Quseir town. Ideally situated between Hurghada and Marsa Alam Airports. We are surrounded by magnificent colourful mountains and unspoilt Red Sea beaches making it both a beautiful and relaxing destination.There are 3 styles of accommodation, Superior Boutiques & Deluxe Chalets which all have Sea-view,en-suite facilities,AC,flat screen TV and fridge or the standard Eco-Huts with shared facilities and fan giving a more rustic feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Roots Red Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing