We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 1 week in Dec 2013 and the hotel is great for a quick glimpse of sunshine before the winter. Weather and water temperature was still warm enough. The hotel has the greatest location of the bay and is very nicely situated in the landscape. The rooms had everything you needed and all facilities were clean. Nice up to date bathroom.

Big selection of buffet options (almost overwhelming) so difficult not to gain weight while staying. The resort was also not overly full so I guess it's a bit different throughout peak season.

The reef in front of the different beached offered great snorkeling and diving experiences.

Only downside was the badly managed and unorganized sports center at the beach. A total rip off when comparing with other options outside the hotel.

Otherwise great options for fitness/leisure including gym, spa, horse riding on site etc.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gjacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this review, August 15, 2015
Dear giacobi,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    232
    85
    46
    52
See reviews for
283
228
49
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

First it is not inside soma bay that Egyptians know it is 5 more kilos after it :)
It is new hotel with good and clean rooms
I lost my mobile and the housekeeping found it :) I am really very thankful for them. And they refused to take any rewards
I was making my reservation from booking.com and the hotel gave me room with very bad view and I had to pay more to make upgrade but it is was only 100 pounds
As usual comment on movenpick the staff is helpful and polite but again never smile for Egyptians and I don't know why !!!!!
The food quality is good but with little varieties

Room Tip: Sea view or pool view !! Garden view verybad
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this review, August 15, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Loved this hotel, beautiful, well layed out, amazing pool and water features, great loving and smiling staff! We came as a group of 4 to learn kite surfing and the kite school which is part of the hotel was great place to learn. The rooms are great size and the beds were so comfortable fell asleep instantly, I would recommend this place to anyone it is great value, make sure you visit Mustafa in the bedouin tent at the end of the hotel by the beach he is a great guy who will make you amazing tea and shisha and just make you smile!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank fawad b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this review, August 15, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

5 nights on half board basis
Parking with sun shed, due to security obligation you have to stop and drop you luggage 15 meters away from main entrance, Check-in was fast, receptionist where helpful and co-operative, reception clean with marble wall and sun lighting, restaurant was cosy, clean and organized but lighting wasn't enough, breakfast and dinner where good along with service team, long beach but water wasn't good, they have 3 pools, rooms was clean and medium size with no view, pool side bathroom wasn't clean and with bad smell, animation team was friendly.

Room Tip: Go for pool room and avoid desert and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MITawfik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this review, August 15, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Beautiful resort with a very nice beach front with great rooms , good food in the open buffet area, average in other restaurant outlet , service is average, rooms are amazing and ver confy where u get a great quality of sleep.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliAwadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this review, August 15, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I was traveling with my wife & 11 months baby along with some friends. I'll try to put as much details as possible:
If you're driving & coming from Hurghada,the hotel is not in Soma bay itself, so don't follow the signs of Soma bay, instead continue on the way to Safaga & you'll find signs for the hotel to guide.
Hotel is 15 minutes away from a big shopping mall in Hurghada that has a super market & a pharmacy, hotel itself has a pharmacy but I never saw it operating.
We arrived at 2 PM, my check in was pretty fast, my friends' check in was a little slow though, the reception staff were friendly & we were offered welcoming drinks.
Our room was a"classic" room with pool view & side sea view from the balcony, its view was really nice as the blue color of the pools is really stunning, room space is OK. We had a daily refill of a big bottle of water "Hayat" & the usual tea & Nescafe.
The staff over all are very friendly although I faced a very rude situation on our arrival day from the beach towel guy who advised he's out of clean towels although this was not true, I escalated this to the on-duty manager right away who apologized & promised that this will not happen again.
The beach is nice, you have to walk 20 or 30 meters to be able to swim, bring your snorkeling equipments as there are some corals that you can see.
Spending time by the pool is also enjoyable, with DJ music & the activities of the animation team. One of the best things in this hotel is their animation team, very active & at each time of the day you'll find them doing some activity.
There's a small stable at the left side of the beach that has some horses & a camel if you're interested to take a ride.
Breakfast & lunch buffets were good, not lots of variety but food quality was good.
The spa is awesome, spacious & smells very good, Sauna & steam are for free.
Hotel lobby is very well designed with lots of couches spread everywhere.
At the night usually after 20:30 there's usually a show like belly dancing, tanoura or a singer.
Overall & except for that rude incident on arrival day, we enjoyed our vacation & enjoye dthe premises.

Room Tip: Classic rooms have pool view & side sea view from the small balcony, standard rooms overlook at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Moustafa_Hanafy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Mr. Moustafa_Hanafy,

On behalf of the entire Team, let us seize the opportunity to thank you for the review submitted.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it enables us to evaluate the facilities and services provided to our esteemed Clientele – certainly leading to improvements.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mövenpick Resort Soma Bay again in the future.

With Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The beach .. Shallow water till 20 mtrs where you meet lots of weeds on the ground .always . Food is always fresh .. No variety Isolated so you have to spend the whole night in the hotel .. The hotel facilities are enough to entertain you at night The "Orca" dive center is terrible!!!! May every one should try it.
more

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heba A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Ms. Heba,

With regards to the kind review submitted to TripAdvisor (and to our attention), we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the positive notes shared with the traveler community concerning your sojourn with us.

We, at Mövenpick Resort Soma Bay, save no effort in order to satisfy our Guests at all time.
Let us convey our deepest appreciation for the compliments you have exerted, and please rest assured that it will be passed to our Diving Center accordingly in recognition of their performance.

We - all - look forward to welcoming you at Mövenpick Resort Soma Bay in the nearest future.

Kind Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soma Bay
3.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
24.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#40 of 222 in Hurghada
2,260 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
1.1 mi away
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Soma Bay

Property: Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Address: Km 49, Hurghada - Safaga Highway, Soma Bay, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the crystal clear blues of the Red Sea, the soft amber gold of the desert and the mountains, Soma Bay enjoys an idyllic peninsula setting, overlooking a panoramic bay view. Mövenpick Resort Soma Bay, just 45 km south of Hurghada International Airport, is positioned on a magnificent stretch of golden sandy beach featuring a coastline famed for diversified watersports. Mövenpick Resort Soma Bay features 418 rooms and suites designed in a contemporary style. The resort blends the best of traditional and genuine beauty with stylish panache that is equally appealing to singles, couples, families and groups of friends. The hotel is the perfect venue for conferences, banquets, meetings & events where the gourmets will enjoy the Mövenpick Dining Experience. Indulge in a refreshing interpretation of luxury and relish the authentic Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Movenpick Resort Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing