We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is great except for the italian restaurant which has no varieties of food.
Room was great. Staff are very friendly and always smiling and willing to help by all means.
The Tennis court is free during daytime. I went one time to the gym at 7:00 pm and it was closed, I asked a guy working in the spa next door about the working hours. He opened it for me and left it open till about 8:30 pm when i left. He didn't even come to bother me once

Room Tip: My room was great, close to the beach, the pool and the main restaurant 1110
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharmtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 811 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

فندق حديث بس روعة : الخدمة ممتازة , العاملين في غاية الاحترام , الغرف نظيفة و علي احدث طراز, حمام السباحة رائع , البحر حيد جداً .
ال Animation مش كويس محتاج تطوير بس الAquagym حلو أوي.
excellent staff, good house keeping, excellent hospitality, very good pool, excellent food, amazing room excellent beach
But bad animation there is nothing to do at night they need more practice
excellent spa
,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regina_boutayeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

An amazing vacation really perfect hotel just opened everything is new very clean, friendly and professional staff, tasty food ,sea and pool are fantastic i recommend this hotel to everyone who wanna spend a special and relaxing time

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ma7boba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our room, with boat and kayak in the backyard, was awesome. Light, silence, near to the pool and the beach, comfortable bed and good service. The restaurants were enough different to allow choosing between many kinds of food.

The best, the location and the activities. Hurghada, in the red sea, is an incredible place to practice kitesurfing and snorkeling as the coral banks allow incredible views under the sea.

Room Tip: Separate rooms are farer than others but have boat and kayak!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikii14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We enjoyed a lot our stay at this Hotel. Brand new hotel with nice furniture in the big rooms and a nice lobby as well. Swiss touch is there!
The food was very good with a lot of choice and a good quality of the products. Our stomach had a good time.
Swimming pool and beach are beautiful and big.
What they could improve:
We were out for diving all day but never saw the animation team (morning or at night). The staff is ok but can not be at a five stars hotel standard, even if they are smiling and nice.
Management is not competent; they were not able to give us a flyer neither information on their loyalty programme. Moreover we never received the fax from the agency for the pick-up time to the airport, had to call directly. They really need to work on their customer relationship.
Nevertheless in comparison to other hotels in Egypt, we were pleased of our stay and enjoyed our holiday, we would definitively recommand that hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gouazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very good Hotel, new clean rooms with sea view. . Service is good. Breakfast is testy, large swimming pool. Green territory, good beach and sea entrance. Variety of food is enough, always meet, seafood and vegetables. Nice territory, big parking place. Also they have VIP lounge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shady A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The fact that the hotel is new (4 months old) is a plus since furniture is modern and "in good health". The down-side is that, in every interaction with the staff, you feel like you're dealing with a child who's stepping on your toes every 2 minutes.

The House-keeping worker knocked the door once and in literally less than 2 seconds, before I could get up off the couch, he opened the door and walked in on my wife and me! He smiled at me and said "I'm sorry... I didn't know you were in here!"
The doors and walls are paper-thin. You can hear EVERYTHING that is going on in the hall or in the next room as if the door is wide-open/non-existent! Of course, quality of sleep is terrible and privacy is non-existent!
Breakfast is from 7:00 to 10:30... if you come in after 9:15, forget about finding any food because the restaurant Literally runs out of food and fails to re-fill the buffet. They resort to putting out left-overs from previous days which look and taste stale.
During check-out, our bill was overly inflated due to wrong items being billed to our room. We were delayed for more than half an hour while the front-desk worker tried to "prove me wrong" until he finally found the wrongly charged bills and which point he rudely informed me in front of everyone that he removed them for me in a "charitable" manner as if he was doing me a favor with no apology for the delay or accusative manner.
Overall, though the hotel belongs to a reputable chain, the staff are far from competent and the service is severely lacking because of it. I go to Hurghada many times every year but I've never stayed in such a lacking hotel.
Word to the wise: go else-where!

Room Tip: Don't trust the online room descriptions... they're in-correct!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amirgendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick R, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Yousry Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soma Bay hotels
3.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
0.4 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
3.6 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#2 of 11 in Soma Bay
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
4.1 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Soma Bay

Address: Km 49, Hurghada - Safaga Highway, Soma Bay, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Price Range: $57 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the crystal clear blues of the Red Sea, the soft amber gold of the desert and the mountains, Soma Bay enjoys an idyllic peninsula setting, overlooking a panoramic bay view. Mövenpick Resort Soma Bay, just 45 km south of Hurghada International Airport, is positioned on a magnificent stretch of golden sandy beach featuring a coastline famed for diversified watersports. Mövenpick Resort Soma Bay features 418 rooms and suites designed in a contemporary style. The resort blends the best of traditional and genuine beauty with stylish panache that is equally appealing to singles, couples, families and groups of friends. The hotel is the perfect venue for conferences, banquets, meetings & events where the gourmets will enjoy the Mövenpick Dining Experience. Indulge in a refreshing interpretation of luxury and relish the authentic Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Resort Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing