We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real amazing”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked 2 double rooms and 1 triple one and the hotel grant us a very beautiful suite instead of the triple room, the hotel is luxury and its sandy beach ,large swimming pool and walking area are amazing , food quality and variation were perfect, you can enjoy snorkeling , surfing and diving.
Staff are very helpful and friendly with excellent hospitality, over all it is perfect resort with nice location.... sure will be back

Room Tip: ask for west wing rooms , amazing sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adel1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Adel1956,

Thank you for your review

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our lovely Sheraton Soma Bay and we hope to welcome you and your party back soon

Should you need any further assistance for your future visit, please let me know

Best regards from sunny Soma Bay

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    262
    57
    27
    17
See reviews for
451
416
42
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel, amazing beach and pool area, great food as usual as all Sheraton hotels, perfect Service and great staff, our room location was perfect location, near hotel beach and main pool and soma bay jetty, don't miss to try snorkeling in soma bay blue lagoons, the main reason for me to choose Sheraton it's location near soma bay jetty + it's own perfect sandy beach, will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egyptian_Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of |Guest Servce at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear egyptian_Eng,

Thank you for sharing your review about your last stay at Sheraton Soma Bay on tripadvisor.com

I have been reading your review (not only this one, but also your other 7 reviews about the different hotels you experienced their service).

I’m proud to know that you liked our beach, pool area, the food and the staff who is the main asset of our hotel.

We are at the Sheraton Soma Bay looking for the highest level of our guests’ satisfaction and we promise to do our best to provide you with an experience even better than the last time.

Please do contact me on my below e-mail address shall you wish to arrange for your next holiday at our hotel.

Looking forward welcoming you back

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We was spending just 1 night in this hotel but what a day. The hotel surroundings are beautiful, clean and its very peacfull. The beach and swimming pool area have enough sunbeds for everybody. The house reef is great for snorkling.
The rooms are very spacious and spotless clean with coffee and tea facilities in the room and a good filled minibar.
Due to the lack of guests the diner and breakfast was served in the italian restaurant but the quality and varitity is very good.
Overall it is a fantastic hotel for some nice relaxing time. We will be back !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Wendy K,

Thank you very much for your nice review about Sheraton Soma Bay

We are happy to know that you liked the hotel beach, swimming pool and the room

I have had the honor of meeting with you upon your departure and I was so happy to know from you that you will come back.

Please let me know shall you need any help regarding your next booking at our hotel

Looking forward welcoming you soon

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Although this trip is dated (March 2012), I would like to share my experience at the Hotel. I had organized a surprise trip for me and my wife to Egypt in March'12 and had planned a few days at Soma Bay. I am used to travelling at staying at Starwood properties as I am used to the excellent hospitality and services from Starwood and esp Sheraton. We fell in love with the place at our first look at the property. The property is adequately secluded to give you enough time to spend with your loved one. The sun, sand, sea and the beer was heavenly. The food was absolutely fresh and to die for!! The staff was helpful and attended to all our needs and requests.
All in all we had an amazing time which was made even better by the location, the hotel and refreshing green-blue sea!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors and sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kartik_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Kartik_29,

Thank you very much for sharing us your review about your last stay at Sheraton Soma Bay

It’s indeed our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your wife at our hotel and we hope to see you back again at our hotel soon.

Please note that we will be happy to know your requests for any next stay you might plan at our lovely resort, please send me your requests on my e-mail mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com

Wish you and your wife a life full of happiness

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I really loved it there, rooms are great and there is a wonderful, sandy beach. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff are very friendly, I couldn't say how much I loved the food over there, up until now I have never tastes better food in an hotel's buffet! Great hotel, truly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lailaaelfeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Lailaaelfeky,

Thank you for taking the time to post your nice review about our hotel

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay in the room, the sandy beach, the friendly treatment of our associates and the food quality.

We are grateful to all your comments about Sheraton Soma Bay Resort and we wish to welcome you back soon at our resort

Should you need any further assistance to make your next stay even better than the previous one, please contact me on my e-mail mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Never again and we would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.
Our stay at this so called 5* Sheraton hotel at Soma Bay in Egypt was NOT at all what we expected. I have never felt so discriminated as a non-Egyptian / European guest as in this hotel. First of all this hotel has too many rules. When these rules were not obeyed by the European guests, some manager (and there are a lot of “managers” in that hotel) comes up to you and in a very arrogant way you have been told to obey the hotel rules. First of all, this hotel has a slightly confusing dress-code in their restaurants. We have not been informed of this dress-code by Kuoni Switzerland – the travel agent that booked our trip. Before we arrived in Egypt we had experienced many “communication problems” with Kuoni Switzerland anyway, so never again Kuoni nor Sheraton. On the daily internal flyer on our breakfast table it says “dresscode: the 2 restaurants are only accessible wearing long trousers”.
On the info-board outside of the restaurant it says: “From October till May only long trousers are allowed in both restaurants, no flip-flops. From May till October classical shorts / bermuda are allowed in the buffet (main) restaurant only, not in the Italian a la carte restaurant”. Summer in Egypt is 40 degrees celsius hot! We reserved for the Italian a la carte restaurant as we did not like the food in the restaurant. We had to wait a while till someone came to us – we did not have the impression anyone cared. Then a waiter pretending to be a “manager” did not even say good evening but instead turned to my husband (who was wearing bermuda shorts and a polos-shirt )and said “I have problem with your pants”. The manager of the hotel was not flexible enough to have us seated outside on the terrace of the Italian restaurant but instead proposed that my husband could wear the long trousers that their waiters wear. Or we could eat from the Italian a la carte menu on the terrace of the main restaurant. So that is what we did and the food was as awful as in the main restaurant. Bad decision by hotel management given the fact that the hotel was 50% full and in times like these in Egypt (another revolution / civil war coming up in summer 2013) they should be happy to have guests at all. Unfortunately “the“show” didn’t end here…..
The next evening we saw ladies in hot-pants sitting on the terrace of the Italian a la carte restaurant and the young rich Egyptian upper-class teenagers sitting in shorts in that same restaurant. On one of the last evenings of our vacation we had put the “do not disturb” sign on our room door as we didn’t want anyone to enter our room. When we came back from dinner in an outside restaurant (try dinner at The Breakers hotel, much better food there) we found 2 waiter trousers on our bed. Someone came into our room although we had the “do not disturb” sign on and had the rudeness to put 2 pair of dirty waiter trousers on our bed. You can imagine our reaction to such rude behavior.
One of the many pool rules were: not to wear any long suits in the pool and no swimming in clothing such as cut-off jeans allowed in the pool, no floatable devices such as airbeds allowed in the pool….etc…etc. But off course when the upper-class Egyptian ladies came in their “burkini” which looks just like a suit, no one said anything. Nor to the Egyptian upper-class children who were playing with big floatable plastic animals and airbeds in the pool. This hotel is ruled by the rich family & friends of the Egyptian upper-class owners. 3-4 Waiters stood around a table with Egyptian families providing them with water, sparkling water, and anything else they needed. We had to wait a long time in order to get our bottle of water.
We always had the feeling that most of the staff of this hotel was just fooling us. They were rude and unfriendly and we have never ever had such a bad experience in a hotel in Egypt as in this lousy hotel. And we have spent quite a few diving vacations in Egypt. We do not mind any hotel rules they have, but we do blame Kuoni Switzerland for not having informed us and we do blame the hotel management for the way we were informed about their rules. It is just a lack of politeness and a very old-fashion manner of hotel management. The pool of the hotel was great, the beach is not fantastic but ok. Rooms and hotel building are very old, nice lobby. Food at both restaurants was very bad. Huge buffet at main restaurant during breakfast and dinner but very hard to find something that tasted well. My whole family came home with diarrhea. No signs in the bathroom that the tap water is not drinkable – but as we are experienced Egypt travelers we fortunately knew we could not drink water from the tap. Nevertheless we still got diarrhea. I will never go to a Sheraton hotel anywhere in the world again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adriana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Adriana V,

Thank you for posting your comments about your last stay at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

We are sorry that some of our services were not as you expected and we would like to withdraw your attention that your comments will be forwarded to the attention of the concerned departments for the sake of improvement.

Please feel free if you want to tell more about your experience at our hotel by contacting me on my e-mail mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com

Once again thank you for your feedback

Best regards
Mahmoud Fathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned with family and wife's girlfriend of the hotel Sheraton Soma Bay. Egypt I visit for 14 years and several times a year, but this hotel is not the first time. Rested from July 20 to August 1.First tell you about the pros. The hotel area is great, the beach is always available seats that don't need to take in advance. Fungi are positioned so that the sea is visible from each series. Reef hotel excellent, but it should take around 10 minutes. Cleaning 2 times a day, all very good. Mini bar in room replenished daily. No complaints. Staff in the main restaurant are friendly and helpful. On this pros ended. Now about the shortcomings. Going to go again in this hotel've read reviews that mentioned about diarrhea, prepared and took a first aid kit. Not for nothing useful. The wife's friend 3 days diarrhea was, the daughter of 2 days . Animators in the hotel is clearly not busy, and there are no programs for the amusement of children. They are left to themselves. Now on service of accommodation - they used to during the day went on the site, conversed with the guests were interested in their opinion. Now they sit still and wait when vacationers come to them. All issues are easier to solve through the cleaners in the room! Earlier in the room brought fruit trifle , but nice. Now apparently difficult times at the hotel. We drove to the hotel to mention it is the day of the birth of daughter who was on 30 July, this information was specified in the voucher. But the hotel did not even deign to look at in the voucher that her birthday. Congratulations, we never received. Although postcard could bring in the room. Probably the managers do not need regular customers and fail to consider their opinion. Or maybe we should raise the issue of professional competence of managers. My opinion about this hotel, thanks to the managers of this hotel, has changed dramatically for the worse. I NEVER AGAIN TO COME BACK IN THIS HOTEL AND I WILL NOT ADVISE FRIENDS. A HOTEL WHICH VALUES ITS CLIENTS CAN NOT BE IN RATING OF THE BEST.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oleg r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear oleg r,

Thank you for posting your review to tripadvisor

We are sorry to hear that some of our services were not up to your expectations during your last stay at Sheraton Soma Bay

We will study your comments for the purpose of improvement and if you need to provide us with more details about your comments of the last stay, we will be glad to receive them on the following e-mail mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com.

Best regards
Mahmoud Fathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soma Bay
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#4 of 11 in Soma Bay
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 11 in Soma Bay
686 reviews
14.5 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Soma Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Property: Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Address: P.O. Box 71 | Hurghada, Soma Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Soma Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Somabay is a unique gem of a resort on the Somabay peninsula: with stunning architecture inspired by Luxor's magnificent Karnak Temple, the hotel is situated directly on 800 meters of beautiful beachfront. Its spacious 326 guest rooms and suites are all beautifully designed with chic décor featuring wooden and pastel-colored furnishings. If you are on the lookout for an active holiday, The Sheraton supplies no end of options. Spend your days experimenting with scuba diving, snorkeling, water skiing, windsurfing, sailing, tennis, squash and a well equipped gymnasium. For golfers, the 18-hole Cascades Golf Course lies within five minutes walking distance of the resort with the spectacular greens directly on the coast line. Guests of Sheraton Somabay have the chance to find renewed harmony of mind, body, and spirit with the restorative powers of thalassic treatments at the nearby The Cascades Spa & Thalasso, the region's largest and most comprehensive facility for thalasso therapy. The No Mummies Kids Club gives parents a much-needed break to enjoy their stay in the resort. The club provides daily sports and activities programs for children 4 to 12 years old. Food is a unique experience at Sheraton Somabay, where a variety of cuisines are provided all day long through different restaurants and bars such as L'Abydos Brasserie, L'Emporio Ristorante, Copper Crescent Grill and the Beach Hut. The Sheraton Somabay Convention Center has five meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 800 guests. With the Sheraton's exquisite culinary staff, incomparable service, and stylish décor, the hotel caters to all kinds of events and makes special occasions unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sheraton Soma Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Soma Bay Hotel Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing