We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I think that I do not see such professional and helpful staff like I saw their , simply I enjoyed every second in my accommodation , wonderful location and great wether , I recommend this hotel to every one need to enjoy his vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaelRagheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear WaelRagheb,

Thank you for your comments and reviews

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you back soon at our lovely Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Best regards

Mahmoud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    258
    57
    25
    16
See reviews for
432
413
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Sheraton Soma Bay is a great spot for a vacation to relax. Why? Check out these reasons:
-on a beach which is great for young children and babies too
-there is nothing around except a couple other large hotels
-great snorkeling off the peer and the hotel lets you use the snorkel equipement for free if you have 1/2 board
-also a good place to learn to wind surf...winds were not strong at the beginning of May, catamarands and other water equipment available
-food was decent however, if planning on eating at the a la carte italian restaurant, be sure to dress appropriately...men must wear long pants and no sandals allowed
-pool is huge and has options of sallower waters for younger children
-no need to carry money around, even if going to other hotels for drinks..they'll charge it to your room

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3ofustravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear 3ofustravelling

Thank you that you have chosen Sheraton Soma Bay for your last holiday

We are happy with your review which is very helpful to any visitor thinking to get more details bout the hotel before coming.

Thank you once again for counting our points of attraction to whoever thinking to stay at our hotel

Looking forward welcoming you back at Sheraton Soma Bay soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Came back after a year for a week's escape from chilly Europe with my 6 years old son - this time we were kindly upgraded to beach front suite and we felt like kings. Everybody there is so kind and helpful, always ready to serve you and make your holiday perfect. The food is delicious -the main restaurant offers thematic dinner every night - do not miss the Egyptian buffet ! As my son is very picky regarding the food, they even fulfilled his demands with dishes which were not on the menu. Orca dive center is just around the corner so this is also a perfect place for scuba divers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Directo of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Skofy,

Thank you for being a repeater guest at Sheraton Soma Bay

We are happy to read your review about our hotel and we wish to welcome you and your family back to our lovely Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

7 days in April changed our views on red sea holidays. The reef was fantastic and early morning snorkel trips gave us some amazing sightings including majestic rays. The windsurfing was great and the pool although chilly was beautful. All inclusive seemed to be great value.

We upgraded to a seaview which was the best decision and we will be back next year. This is a resort and hotel that has not gone down the overcrowded, quantity not quality of other red sea resorts. Will book direct next year.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amandajvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Amandajvp,

Thank you for staying at Sheraton Soma Bay during your last holiday

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we will do our best to keep the same level of service for you and all our guests who are very valued to our hotel

Looking forward welcoming you at Sheraton Soma Bay again

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Soma bay is a hidden gem on the red sea. The sea is a piece of heaven and the weather lovely compared to gouna or hurghada with a light breeze in the morning and evenings. The sheraton is such a delightful stay that we've been here twice in two months. The staff is amazingly nice and efficient, the quality of food is great, the pool is gorgeous though i usually don't like pools i love this one. The ambience is so friendly and light it makes you want to stay forever. Perfect for couples with young children, we have a four month old and managing with him is almost as easy as being home. Very family friendly and also perfect for people who love the outdoors and a quiet vacation in the sun. Well done sheraton and thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadineokasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear nadineokasha,

Thank you for your rating and the nice review about our hotel

We will share your comments with our colleagues

We are proud with all what you mentioned and we be at your service whenever you will decide to come back to our hotel

Please feel free to contact me should you need any further help regarding your future stay on my e-mail mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

1.The bellboy asked me if I know the hotel, when I said "yes", he putted my baggage in the floor and said: "So you can find your room yourself"
2.Water - drinkable water in the room was absent and I got it only the next day.
3. Always asked for big drinkable water bottle (to make tea - as you have tea in the room) - never got this - always the boy come with small bottle
4.they say they have internet - it is not true - I never had wifi signal in my room - I insisted in frontdesdk, but it does not work
5. I asked the concierge for some Safaga taxi service telephone - nobody says - it is obligatory to use hotel "limousine" service.
6. The cook is very good and the reef is very good - the rest is bad

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sergey D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

We are sorry for not being able to meet your satisfaction regarding the points you mentioned about bell boy service, in room water bottles, internet connection and limousine service.

Please stay assured that we will take your notes and share them with our colleagues in the different hotel departments to avoid repeating such situations.

Please feel free to give me more feedback about your last stay on my e-mail mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

It was my husband's birthday and we went to The Sheraton Soma Bay for a long weekend break. The rooms, restaurants, beach facilities were all wonderful. We will definitely be back during our time living in Cairo.
The hotel even noted that it was his birthday and delivered a nice cake and bottle of wine to our room. It was a nice added touch to there already attentive service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMK281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear SMK281,

Thank you for your comments and high rating to our lovely Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

We are happy that you and your husband had a nice birthday celebration at our resort and we hope to see you celebrating his birthday in the next your at our hotel again

Best regards from sunny Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Mahmoud Fathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soma Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#4 of 11 in Soma Bay
278 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
1.0 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 11 in Soma Bay
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Soma Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Property: Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Address: P.O. Box 71 | Hurghada, Soma Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Soma Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Somabay is a unique gem of a resort on the Somabay peninsula: with stunning architecture inspired by Luxor's magnificent Karnak Temple, the hotel is situated directly on 800 meters of beautiful beachfront. Its spacious 326 guest rooms and suites are all beautifully designed with chic décor featuring wooden and pastel-colored furnishings. If you are on the lookout for an active holiday, The Sheraton supplies no end of options. Spend your days experimenting with scuba diving, snorkeling, water skiing, windsurfing, sailing, tennis, squash and a well equipped gymnasium. For golfers, the 18-hole Cascades Golf Course lies within five minutes walking distance of the resort with the spectacular greens directly on the coast line. Guests of Sheraton Somabay have the chance to find renewed harmony of mind, body, and spirit with the restorative powers of thalassic treatments at the nearby The Cascades Spa & Thalasso, the region's largest and most comprehensive facility for thalasso therapy. The No Mummies Kids Club gives parents a much-needed break to enjoy their stay in the resort. The club provides daily sports and activities programs for children 4 to 12 years old. Food is a unique experience at Sheraton Somabay, where a variety of cuisines are provided all day long through different restaurants and bars such as L'Abydos Brasserie, L'Emporio Ristorante, Copper Crescent Grill and the Beach Hut. The Sheraton Somabay Convention Center has five meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 800 guests. With the Sheraton's exquisite culinary staff, incomparable service, and stylish décor, the hotel caters to all kinds of events and makes special occasions unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sheraton Soma Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Soma Bay Hotel Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing