We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great resort hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was my first time at the Red Sea. This hotel is perfect for snorkelling: you can even approach very interesting areas within walking distance. Prices for 1-2 hours boat trips for snorkelling are also very reasonable.

The hotel itself is just perfect: large clean rooms with a view, very polite staff, excellent selection for breakfast. Buffet dinner is also vey imressive: there are theme nights, but food for any taste is allways available, an ouside grill allways has something on as well: fish, chicken, kofta-kebab etc.
The fruit and dessert displays are also amazing.

May be a drawback for some: it is a large hotel but with just 2 floors, so you may have to take a "long" walk to your room.

Room Tip: Don't forget youru snorkeling gear. Arrange for a half board package - there is nothing around
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PavlosGRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Acting PR at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the beautiful review of your recent stay at Sheraton Soma Bay on Tripadvisor page, have shared it with the entire team. We are glad that you enjoyed every bit of your stay and thank you for a special mention of our associates that encourage them to perform even better.

Glad to read that you found the hotel is perfect with spacious rooms, cleanness, and food with excellent selection for breakfast and impressive theme nights dinner. Also glad to read your first time stay at Red Sea, Sheraton Soma Bay very impressive and it is always say, the first impression is best impression.

Look forward to welcoming you again at Sheraton Soma Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    241
    51
    25
    14
See reviews for
398
384
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I recently spent three wonderful days staying at this hotel having disembarked a cruise ship in Safaga and having to wait for three days for the next one. It was one of the nicest short breaks I have had in a long time. The hotel is set in such a wonderful position and the grounds and the beach are so well kept, it looks like the hotel has just opened its so clean. I found the staff very professional and seemed to just want to make sure that I was happy and that everything was to my satisfaction. Nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant especially the Italian was superb. The buffet has plenty of choice but if I went back I would prefer to eat in the Italian. The beach cafe was a lovely place to have lunch and the menus varied daily with. Good choice. I decided to pay extra on arrival for the all inclusive and it was worth every penny, the Egyptian wine being surprisingly drinkable and not anywhere near as bad as I was expecting. The bar staff were very friendly and knew my name by my second visit. Sadly the hotel was very quiet when I was there and I wonder if the recent publicity and news about Egypt's troubles had put people off.all I can say is that I felt extremely safe at Soma Bay as there are security guards all around the resort. I would go back there again and hope to later this year for a week this time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ukjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Sales Support at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Soma Bay, have passed on your feedback to the entire team who appreciate our guests taking the time to write. The entire team is very happy to know that you have enjoyed the stay to maximum level. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and such positive like yours is a motivation for us.
Glad to know you have enjoyed the hotel location, the food especially in the Italian Restaurant, the beach bar (café) menus and the all-inclusive concept. Regarding the quietness of the hotel, it is generally quiet during this time (January & February) of the year and the country's political situation has affected more, but it is very safe place to visit.
Thank you again for such a wonderful review and look forward to your next visit in near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was surprised that such a luxury property had so few staff member who understood English. I never expect people to know my language and I go out of my way to learn some local basics. Something locals seem to appreciated every place I have ever traveled, (except Paris) but I traveled a lot of Egypt, and no matter how small or remote the area, most everyone spoke English. (Some pointed out that American English throws them off a bit as they are used to British English), So I was caught off guard by the staff that spoke some English but was quickly revealed that they did not understand me. Apparently most guest are German or Italian and in town a lot of Russians visit and buy apartments.

The buffets have themes, like "Iberian", "Sea Food", "Asian" etc. and the cooks are world class! Really good food. And even on themes that are heavy with meat, there was always good sea food too.

Great spot for Red Sea adventure. I scuba dived from the pier and from a boat. The Red Sea deserves it's reputation as a world class dive destination.

Room rate includes 1 hour daily of Water Activities (not diving). - IF it is not too windy or booked up. If it is... you lose your hour, it does not carry over to the next day.

Sailing a Catamaran is easy and fun.

Wind Surfing was harder than it looked and the staff gave me the equipment but could not spare 1 minute of instruction. They did offer a pricey 1 hour course, but a little customer service would have been plenty. So that was disappointing. The sign that reads something like "Sailing course includes ability to test for sail certification" should more accurately read something like "counts towards..." because the sign is a lie. The class and sailing is hours short of any minimum needed to take the test.

The price to take the hotel taxi to town ("Hurghada") was more than we paid to get all the way from Luxor! - 20 minutes to Hurghada cost more than 5 hours to Luxor! So I advise taking the less expensive shuttle to town. From there you can get the number and/or arrange a local taxi to pick you up for later trips. The Hotel will not call a local taxi.

Beware of the hotel shop. The hotel claims they are not affiliated but it is inside the hotel between the lobby and the rooms. My friend was charged $30 for a shaver that I got in the States for $4 and was available at the Marina Shops, (a 5 minute walk) for under $10. Just know the exchange rate and use common sense and all should be fine.

Staff was very friendly, as was the staff everywhere I stayed in Egypt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bentheredunthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Acting PR at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Soma Bay. We would like to apologize for the negative issues that you experienced during your stay such as our staff's inability to understand your English accent and thus caused mutual communication difficulties, very pricey hotel shop and high taxi fare for downtown trip. We are also sorry to learn that the windsurfing was difficult for you, because the staff could not spare 1 minute of instruction. We take all comments seriously and share them with our staff. Your feedback will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.
On a more positive note, we are glad that you enjoyed our buffet theme and the scuba diving and experienced a friendly service from the staff. We are very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing this with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent a week at Soma Bay, Must say i was very pleasently surprised, The Staff were excellent and very freindly. They had a host of activities for the children.

The manger in charge of Food is worthy of mention - He went the extra mile to welcome us and make sure we felt comfertable and were well taken care of.

He even sent our daughter a birthday cake when he found it was our daughters birthday.

Would highly recommend it,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pyramid11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Acting PR at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Sheraton Soma Bay on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I have shared this beautiful review with entire staff, all of them happy to know that you had a very pleasant stay with us. Thank you for appreciating our F&B Manager for the birthday cake that he has sent to her on her birthday. These such reviews are always a high motivation to improve our service. Thank again for highly recommending Sheraton Soma Bay among TripAdvisor members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz,Austria
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned after a lovely holiday with our 3 children. I can highly recommend this hotel for young families. The staff all work so hard and still remain friendly and polite. The food is good and our room was a beach villa - expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank batzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Acting PR at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sheraton Soma Bay Trip Advisor Page. We are very happy about your encouraging observations on our Teams enthusiasm and helpfulness during your stay with us. Thank you also for your positive comments on the quality of service and happy to know that time that you have spent with us was worth of value.
Thank you again for recommending the hotel among trip advisor members.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The main problem is the flies. In neighboring hotels special traps on each tree. I don't know they work or not, but here I only saw two. And they definitely do not work. But coral reef is excellent. One day swim with turtles.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAVORItt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Acting PR at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Sheraton Soma Bay on TripAdvisor Page. We are happy to know that you found our Coral reef excellent and enjoyed swimming with turtles. Please accept our apologies for the unpleasantness due to the flies, thank you for mentioning this point, as it is very important for us to work hard in order to improve such unpleasant aspects.

Thank you & regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great hotel for divers, water sports and sun enthusiasts, lots of sun and sands for all vacationers. The main beach is clean, water is warm and plenty of facilities to read or drink your favorites beer or wine under the hotel provided family umbrellas and sunbathing beds just pick the location you want order your drinks and soak in the sun as long as you please.
The other side of the facility is mainly for divers and snorkeling, a pier is situated on this side to provide a jump off point for diving and snorkeling, the water is clear and clean and numerous clusters of growing corals as well as some colorful fishes and other marine can be seen offering more for those divers going farther to the dive sites.
The hotel likewise offers good restaurants for breakfast lunch and dinner, the main dining area offers breakfast lunch and dinner buffet while the Ita;lian restaurant offer dinner buffet or a la carte as well, a bar is also located on the min lobby floor and room service is likewise available for those preferring to eat inside their room.

Room Tip: Some of the bigger suites are located very near the main pool area suited for large family, for a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gatch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Acting PR at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing us in Trip Advisor page about your recent stay at Sheraton Soma Bay. It is always a great pleasure to read such beautiful comments from the guests and I have shared it with all our staffs, are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the holiday with us. Thank you for appreciating the hotel and its facilities like the diving, other water sports, the beach facilities, the restaurants, the meals, and other amenities.

Thank you again for a positive review and look forward to welcome you again at Sheraton Soma Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soma Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#1 of 10 in Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
1.1 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 10 in Soma Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Soma Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Property: Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Address: P.O. Box 71 | Hurghada, Soma Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Soma Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Somabay is a unique gem of a resort on the Somabay peninsula: with stunning architecture inspired by Luxor's magnificent Karnak Temple, the hotel is situated directly on 800 meters of beautiful beachfront. Its spacious 326 guest rooms and suites are all beautifully designed with chic décor featuring wooden and pastel-colored furnishings. If you are on the lookout for an active holiday, The Sheraton supplies no end of options. Spend your days experimenting with scuba diving, snorkeling, water skiing, windsurfing, sailing, tennis, squash and a well equipped gymnasium. For golfers, the 18-hole Cascades Golf Course lies within five minutes walking distance of the resort with the spectacular greens directly on the coast line. Guests of Sheraton Somabay have the chance to find renewed harmony of mind, body, and spirit with the restorative powers of thalassic treatments at the nearby The Cascades Spa & Thalasso, the region's largest and most comprehensive facility for thalasso therapy. The No Mummies Kids Club gives parents a much-needed break to enjoy their stay in the resort. The club provides daily sports and activities programs for children 4 to 12 years old. Food is a unique experience at Sheraton Somabay, where a variety of cuisines are provided all day long through different restaurants and bars such as L'Abydos Brasserie, L'Emporio Ristorante, Copper Crescent Grill and the Beach Hut. The Sheraton Somabay Convention Center has five meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 800 guests. With the Sheraton's exquisite culinary staff, incomparable service, and stylish décor, the hotel caters to all kinds of events and makes special occasions unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Soma Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Soma Bay Hotel Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing