We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff, such a lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, such a lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have just returned from 10 nights at the Amwaj blue beach resort and spa and I will most certainly be returning. The staff were excellent and they really made our trip special. The animation team were friendly and helpful as were all the restaurant and bar staff. Their English was excellent and they constantly made us feel welcome by remembering our drink orders and taking the time to chat with us. The facilities at the hotel were excellent, the rooms cleaned every day and to a high standard and we were even upgraded upon arrival which was very much appreciated.

I am very sad to be home and already looking to when I can return as I met some fantastic people!

Thank you Amwaj for such a great holiday!

Lauren

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    338
    233
    141
    102
See reviews for
347
515
52
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurghada, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

excellent hospitality, thanks for all reception staff
the room cleanness and view are wonderful
amazing , variety and fantastic taste. many thanks for master chef Bahaa and chef ibrahim and all kitchen staff
every day there was new show you don't need to go any where
Really it was the most amazing vacation and most wonderful hotel i have ever seen

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eng_Haitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasia J, Guest Service Manager at Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Eng Haitham,
Thank you for the positive review, we are happy to hear that you had an amazing vacation.
Our staff will be happy to know that you are pleased with the quality of service and all facilities provided, its great motivation and make us all proud to hear.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Worm regards
Kasia-Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas County, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Wonderful hotel. Clean and nice rooms. All rooms with great views. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good food and drinks. Everywhere you can see that the hotel manager knows his job! In Egypt were not the first time, but the hotel left the best impression.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasia J, Guest Service Manager at Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Kristina Meg
Thank you for your commends. We are happy to read, that you had a nice stay in our hotel and that the service received was up to your expectations, especially that you had been in Egypt before and you have some data to compare, and we made on your best impression.
We wish to see you again at our lovely resort whenever you will think to come back.
Best Regards
Kasia - Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have been back now for just over 2 weeks from staying at this hotel.We stayed for 10 days at the Amwaj.We found this holiday really relaxing,as we would normally hire a car and take ourselves away from the hotel to look around at other sites of interest nearby.There wasnt any thing to look at nearby unless you took a taxi to Hurghada.A taxi would have cost about 50 euros there and back and about 40 mins each way.This hotels feels as tho its miles from no where.There is nothing to do also in Safaga,so dont waste your money in going.The shops in the hotel complex are also very expensive and have limited goods.
There are many positives about this hotel mainly staff and good fresh food and plenty of it.There is something for every one,to eat or drink! The rooms,eating areas and the gardens were all kept to a great standard.The members of staff that stood out the most were Mahmoud at the towel centre,who looked after us every day at the beach and Rady at beach bar and Omar who cleaned our room.There are a few more who worked in the main restaurant who looked after us too ! The animation team were fun and had a gsoh and encouraged you to join in as much as poss.The pools were very clean and maintained well.
The hotel is 90% Russian and the other 10% european The hotel offered a kids club for the younger children for a couple hours daily but there is nothing for children to do from the age of 10 yrs upwards! My son is 12 yrs and managed to keep himself occupied by swimming ect but there is not a great deal for them to do ,although there was a table tennis table and he played volleyball with the men a few times.He was also invited to play football with the staff at 5.30 pm every night which he loved and they welcomed him to play 5 a side,so that made my Ollie's holiday as he is passionate about football !
The music around the pool or beach was poor,as the same old selection and not good.
The hotel beach is great and there is a beach either side where you can walk when you get a bit bored. I beached combed both beaches on my walk as they have a real litter problem,with plastic bags and cups just dumped into the sea from boat trips I would say as there were slices of lemon ect washed up,such a shame and a awful site on such gorgeous beaches,come on Egypt sort this out ! We didnt do any trips as we have been to Egypt before but a great place if your into kite surfing as it is fairly windy there often!
There is no free WI FI at this hotel,which can be difficult if you are trying to entertain a 12 yr old!You can however purchase some for a fee.
We had a great view and a balcony closer to the beach end on the 3rd floor,so it was quiet and peaceful,hardly any noise.
The fish restaurant was very over rated,very little food and empty.The best meal of the day was fresh pizza from the outside restaurant ! One of the other things this hotel could provide is fresh fruit as there is hardly any or choice of different fruits! Overall we had a fab time and it suited our purpose .This hotel has a gym but too small and needs more equipment but the spa was good but haggle for a good price would be my advice ! We would only go back to say hi to the staff as they made our stay worth while,so we want to thank them for that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmsworthDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We just came back from holidays in Amwaj hotel,we stayed for 10 days and enjoyed every single moment.All staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful,they would do anything for you.We tried out all of the restaurants and the food was delicious.the beach bar,swimming pool and lobby bars had best barmen ,animation team very entertaining and friendly,we loved Fady. We booked scuba diving trip,Quattro bikes,and trip to Hurghada from hotel,all of them were very well organized and well trusted .Just one thing,90% of guest were Russians.But we loved it,good experience.We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: If you can choose the room close to the beach and far from the lobby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vaidasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We are just back from a 1 week all inclusive stay at this hotel and although I am not usually taking the time to write reviews, I thought worth doing it this time.
Positive points: recently built and reasonably well maintained. We were staying at a family room (two rooms connected) at first floor. Rooms are spacious and clean. Furniture OK but already showing signs of wear and tear.
Very friendly staff, very nice with kids. "Amazingly" all staff speaks Russian...the hotel has a big pool, which water was too cold unfortunately. I has also a well sized heated pool and a small one heated as well for kids with a toboggan.
The beach is nice with plenty of sun beds. Good access to shallow water, although shoes are needed, as there are many stones . A nice jetty gives access to a snorkeling spot. Very active entertainment team, proposing many activities for adults and kids. Mini disco for kids every night and kids club during the day.
The spa has good amenities and competent staff, although expensive. The gym is small but with good equipment. Soma Bay is the kite surfers' paradise and there is possibility to learn it just next door. Ask for Ali. Definitely worth trying.
Special mention to the guest relationship manager: Xenia (sorry not 100% sure of her name) very helpful and lovely.
Weather was nice most of the time during our stay but sometimes very windy.
Disappointing points: don't expect late wake up as life in the hotel starts at 6:30 am and you can hear it very well from your room. Food at the main restaurant (very noisy and crowded) is average, repetitive and not really tasty. Very little selection of fruits but vegetables OK. Hygiene is more or less OK, although don't look too closely at the plates and below the tables.There are 3 other restaurants that serve either "Italian", Arabic and fish. The Italian and Arabic are very far from the real stuff. The fish one is OK, but not part of the all inclusive package.
To conclude, this hotel is definitely not a 5 stars but offers decent value for money. If to recommend, I would recommend it for families, not really expecting gastronomy and quietness and not afraid of being in a Russian environment in Egypt.

Room Tip: For families, try to get 2 connected rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I have mixed reviews for this hotel though plenty on the positive side. All guests seem to be in agreement regarding the staff and I can only endorse this. Everyone was extremely pleasant, eager to please and more than happy to go out of their way on our behalf. The hotel is very clean and the gardens are maintained to a high standard. I would grade the food as average though when solicited for our opinion, standards improved considerably with the addition of personal service! The main restaurant is devoid of atmosphere or any kind of ambiance and populated by guests who don't know when to stop; many of them would have found a wheelbarrow helpful on returning from the buffet. A much better option is the fish restaurant or the Italian where there is waiter service and a more pleasant environment. I am a wine drinker and wine was not an option at any of the bars, only the restaurants. The hotel is very isolated (as are most in this area) so a walk after dinner is impossible - we did manage a couple of daytime walks along the shoreline but the volume of rubbish on the beaches is revolting. A point worth noting is that if you're British/ Western European you will be in a minority of roughly 1%!

Room Tip: Request a room on the sunny side of the hotel on the third floor overlooking the gardens. Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soma Bay
1.4 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
24.4 mi away
Coral Beach Resort
Coral Beach Resort
#68 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
20.2 mi away
Titanic Palace
Titanic Palace
#100 of 221 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
19.7 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
#51 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
20.8 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#29 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Km 50 , Hurghada | Safaga Road,, Soma Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soma Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa is located directly on the beautiful sandy beach of Abu Soma, 45 KM from Hurghada international air port, Abu Soma enjoys its reputation for being one of the best location for underwater diving, home to a vast array of magical and mesmerising under water species, Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa offers luxury accommodation with Red Sea views and private beach, enjoy the water colures merging with sun and moon light ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Blue Beach Hotel Soma Bay
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing