We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel...in the middle of nowhere but worth a visit!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We went to Sharm in 2011 and thought we would try Hurghada this time. I booked the flights and hotel through onthebeach.com. We did find that during our 10 night stay there was only one other English family ( and it is a big hotel! ) The majority of the guests were Russian with a few from France, Belgium
and Germany. The pool area is large and very good with two smaller pools for younger children and the grounds are well maintained, attractive and full of beautiful flowers. One piece of good advice...choose to eat at the Italian open air restaurant by the beach. You can eat breakfast, lunch and dinner there, although dinner has to be booked. It is a far better dining experience than the main restaurant in the hotel . Both serve nice food, but the main restaurant has more of a canteen atmosphere! The staff are all fantastic from the cleaners, porters, waiters and managers. So, so friendly and they cannot do enough for you. Our interconnecting rooms were large and clean and there is plenty to do on the resorts private beach including seeing the coral and fish on the wonderful jetty! I would definitely recommend this hotel...just bear in mind it is in the middle of nowhere...45 km from Hurghada but if staying in the hotel does not worry you this is a real gem!!!! Another tip...the entry visa is $18 not $15..ignore the web sites and airline advice! You do not get in without paying....the Egyptians are adamant!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachelanne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

very good relation price/quality , i even would say excellent !!! food versatile, arabic, italian, european, sometimes "deluxe" lobster and ...24 hours ( if option all inclusive)... big rooms are well decarated ,very clean and well equiped. we stayed there in march 2013 (2+1 ch.5 y.o.), no minor stomachic problem, wonderful weather (except 3 windy days, but no problem to go to and stay on the beach), nice "aquarium" just at the end of pier. We've spent wonderful time , relaxing , book reading , swimming several pools and sea, and no harm , no worries... location of the hotel is on the desert , on sea side...perfect ! if someone interested can take part at daily animation program all day long.
I have it already recommended to my friends.
Piotr and Family - Wroclaw

Room Tip: to have sea panorama view definitely take the 3. upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

stayed for another month,we have returned many times to this hotel and never had a bad holiday.again the staff and management could not do enough for us.a new fish restaurant had opened since our last visit would highly recommend it .The food and service was excellent thanks to mohamed malbody and his staff.beach staff are great,and the animation team much improved from last visits.main restaurant busy but all the staff are fantastic.no issues with anything.our room was sooo perfect,thanks to youssef,hes so customer friendly.thanks to everyone.visited feb1st-march1st.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.Suites are fantastic with large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have stayed in Amwaj before in 2011 so knew what to expect and were not let down again. The service was excellent and the food was really good with none of us suffering any illness, as can happen in other hotels.
The rooms were immaculate and everybody is friendly, although some of the beach sellers of trips etc can get a bit annoying on a daily basis. But if you say no they are OK and happy just to chat sometimes as English people are rare, as there are many Russian tourists, but it did not bother us as everyone got on.
The dive centre, 3lementz, in the hotel is run by Clements and his wonderful wife Elis, they are really friendly and supportive especially if you are not so confident as with me, but were also really chatty with my over confident 15 year old son.
We had such a good time that my wife decided to have a trial dive and was made so welcome and encouraged that she signed up for the 4 day open water course and is now not just qualified but totally addicted.
I would recomend the hotel and especially the dive centre to everybody and will definitely return again

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephenf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 14 days back in December and were treated like royalty. Found that the staff here are really attentive. Room was cleaned to a high standard, making different designs with the fresh towels and flower petals was pretty impressive. Mohammed working at the beach bar was super friendly and always went out of his way, the same with two of our favourite waiters.. Mohammed that worked in the terrace of the main restaurant and Amr. Good selection of food, nice soups and a variety of breads. Some of the food was really nice and some at times could be a little disappointing. Was a lack of bottled water for the all inclusive deal so we had to buy it for our stay at the hotel.
We were offered the Deluxe room on arrival but did find the standard was much lighter and brighter with nicer views of the sea. Amy (Iman) at the Spa does great massages and I would def recommend that. We did pay for the cleopatra package which was supposed to include a jacuzzi.. I was not happy when I was sent out to the kids pool and they tried to convince me that it was the jacuzzi by turning on a tap! I was pretty angry by this as I had just had nice body raps and really did not want to go into a pee filled pool afterwards. After I pointed out the jacuzzi that was inside, it was later admitted that it was broken, but this was only told to me by the masseuse and the spa reception refused to admit all week that the kids pool was not a jacuzzi. I would have preferred the honesty in the first place so we didnt pay for something we did not get.
If you like diving there is a school on the resort, I did my first diving here and the house reef is a great beginning. You can go out on the dive boat daily and its a lovely way to meet people and see some beautiful fish and coral.
There really is not much to do outside of the hotel. Be wary of the transport taxi service in the hotel. They charged us 20 euros to safaga which we could have walked in 5 minutes and is just dust and tumbleweed, when we asked what time the taxi would pick us up they said they would wait then just left us there for an hour and a half and we had no idea what was going on. I suggest doing your shopping at the airport on the return or go to hurgurda. The airport is so cheap in comparison to the local shops . Apart from these little hitches I would def stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the standard its bigger and brighter with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My sister and i have just come back from here after 14 days, we did a couple of trips during our stay but we mainly stayed around the hotel, we had the most relaxing time ever, there was plenty to do there if we wanted too but our idea of a good time was to laze around the pool for most of the day ! The food was good and plenty of it ,everywhere was clean and tidy, and the staff were very helpful and friendly, Ahmed on reception what would we have done without him ! Mahamed our housekeeper who kept our room spotless (wish i could have brought him home) ! what a wonderful hardworking team and most of them could speak english so comunication was very good we will certainly be going back to this hotel . Anne , Anglesey

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelsannjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Parents stayed here in September 2011 and had a really enjoyable time. Perfect breeze along the beach front at this hot time of year - boardwalk was a good feature. Hotel staff attentive (but expect to tip in return - they are helpful so worth the pennies). Only issue was lack of bottled water available for an all inclusive package. Food was lovely, a lot of fishy dishes if you like seafood! Apparently 'upgraded' but nevertheless was a large room with large tv and nice interior!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GLH-MJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soma Bay
1.4 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
3.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
19.7 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 11 in Soma Bay
775 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
4.2 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Km 50 , Hurghada | Safaga Road,, Soma Bay, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soma Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range: $38 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa is located directly on the beautiful sandy beach of Abu Soma, 45 KM from Hurghada international air port, Abu Soma enjoys its reputation for being one of the best location for underwater diving, home to a vast array of magical and mesmerising under water species, Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa offers luxury accommodation with Red Sea views and private beach, enjoy the water colures merging with sun and moon light ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Blue Beach Hotel Soma Bay
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing