We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Egyptian oasis, excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have just returned from a week's holiday here and would definitely return. The place is vast, yet currently under-occupied (presumably because their tourism trade is affected by the troubles 500 miles away in Cairo). Its a very impressive layout on a large scale, with a smaller upgrade facility called the Laguna Club which is well worth the extra money for the feeling of privacy (complimentary lunch & drinks, plus relaxing restaurant and terrace area). We are both well-travelled and fussy foodies, but can safely say we enjoyed the best food on holiday that we have ever had. The restaurant buffet choices are just immense, anything you could possibly want at breakfast (with the obvious exception of bacon), at least 20 different types of bread, pastries, fruit, cold meats & smoked salmon, fabulous fresh juices (guava, carrot, strawberry), huge selection of breads & pastries, an 'egg station' where you could have them any which way you wanted. The evening buffet selection was equally extensive, with the option every day of fresh fish, cooked in front of you, European dishes, Arabic traditional food plus a huge array of cooked vegetables and salads. The rooms were great, clean, airy, massive 10' wide beds, the staff were excellent in every way, very professional, warm and helpful. The beach is situated in front of the hotel with comfortable sun loungers, umbrellas and staff service for drinks or food. There is an amazing spa 5 minutes shuttle bus away that we made use of for massages, facials etc. Also this hotel does not appear to be invaded by the bucket-holiday English, it was mostly German, everyone well-turned out, refined and no tattoos in sight. Note - if you are going at the beginning of the year, it is a bit windy and the temperature drops at night so definitely pack a couple of long-sleeved tops and keep the colours subdued as no-one was wearing brightly-coloured holiday clothes in the evening. So any negatives? Not as far as we were concerned, apart from the main hotel bar was lacking in atmosphere. There are no bars, restaurants or shops outside the hotel, which we felt (for the 1st time ever!) was a bonus as you had no temptations and had to relax in the environment of the hotel. It is the perfect place to go for a some sun, tranquillity, rest and re-charge the batteries from post-Xmas and the appalling English weather.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to the Laguna club to have a larger room overlooking the sea
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank florencebride2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Florencebride,

Reading your feedback about a perfect place to go to and knowing that this is our hotel makes us feel overwhelmed.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in all belongings and looking forward to welcome you again for your next “re-charge”.

Kind regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just returned from a 2 week stay from Kempinski. Like last year we stayed in the Laguna Club. The hotel is especially excellent for people who want to relax and want to be pampered.

Staff continues to make the difference. A special note for the staff at the laguna lounge, always accomomodating. (I am bad in names, I am sure management can find the relevant staff), Seperate positive notes for the cook at the egg station and the waiter by whom (amongst others) we were served by at Bamboo, Laguna and helping out at the oriental night at the view.

Our usual staff at the View restaurant were doing their job properly for waiting at dinner were fine, however, they seemed to be stretched from time to time and a bit too "artificial" and in a rush (the right words, but not the welcome feeling as you wil experience in the Laguna club).
(We did not dine in the Laguna (we should have tried one time).
If asked at the Bamboo restaurant, food can be spiced up, fact remains that the Indian menu remains limited. (Lamb Jalfrazi or Lamb/Beef vindaloo would (for me) be an excellent incentive to go more than once per week).

A few other remarks for management, small things can make a big difference, failing on these could/will create a perception conflicting with the overall perception this hotel should get; some of the doors could use a paint (notably the door used by cooks/waiters), the hotel premises in general are very clean, sometimes however the walking paths are not cleaned timely.

We appreciate that Bamboo (perhaps due to the season) can not be opened every night , but being obliged to make a reservation a day in advance is not too good I think,
The performance offered once per week (amongst others belly dancer and band) seems to be very artificial and not performed with too much enthusiasm.

Do not get us wrong, the stay was excellent, remarks made are only for management to maintain reputation built and continue to keep the hotel attractive for guests targeted.

Best regards
Christiaan and Inna Jansen

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdw064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Mrs. and Mr. Jansen,

We are happy to read that your stay with us was great like last year, and that you liked the special features of our Laguna Club.
Your compliments to our staff were forwarded in order to show them our guests’ appreciation and motivate them to keep up the high-level service.

We do appreciate your remarks and recommendation about our food selection and evening entertainment, the management will take them into consideration in order to constantly develop our services.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I had 4 nights in kempinski and it was definitely the best 4 days in my life ! Very nice hotel with helpful friendly staff,food was just amazing,rooms were perfect and everything was perfect and I will definitely come back !

Highly recommended hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Diaa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Diaa A,

Thanks a lot for your outstanding review and the recommendation!
We are delighted to know that you spent the best 4 days of your life with us and wish to see you again soon to have more of these memorable days.

Warm regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Having visited Maldives just 3 months prior to our visit to Kempinski Soma Bay, my husband and I had high expectations. From the moment we landed at Hurghada airport till we departed, we were treated with so much care and kindness. We stayed for 7 nights. The sea here was crystal clear and had beautiful house reef for those who love to snorkel and dive. They have 5 swimming pool and a lazy river! The Hotel exceeded our expectations, the staff made our experience a million times better. The hotel has magnificent grounds and architecture, which makes you feel like you are in a palace. The Sea View rooms, are worth paying the extra for - from the beautiful sunset colours to the mountains against the Red Sea....the experience was all too beautiful and romantic to put into words. Definitely plan to visit again, and if we can we will try to come every year because it truly is an amazing resort. Soma Bay has it's own security so at all times you feel extremely safe within the hotel grounds but saying that nearly all tourist destinations and resorts are safe in Egypt and unharmed - the media is as usual overhyping the reality. It's the perfect beach holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1509 in the main building which had direct sea view and beautiful sunset colours.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NNTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear NNTAR,

Experiencing pure luxury and exceeding your expectations, these are the compliments that make us feel proud and motivated to continuously keep up our high-level standards.

Thank you for mentioning that you felt safe during your visit and encouraging others to come and have a perfect holiday in Egypt.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Warm regards from Soma Bay,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Kempinski is a big name in the hotel industry and expectations are normally very high, but with no doubt this hotel far exceeded my expectations in every way!
I arrived here for the first time following recommendations from friends with my husband and two daughters and I was impressed, from the staff at front desk to the management and chefs. They were offering excellent customer service and making sure that our stay was to our satisfaction. Its rare within the hotel industry at a global level to have rooms with all the luxuries that would make your stay extra special. The choice of food was superb and exquisitely presented. A special mention goes to Chef Mohamed and Chef Tareq for making our breakfast and dinner so tasty and enjoyable.
If you want to spend New years Eve there, then I highly recommend it to experience the magnificent display and art work of desserts and the made to order pick of the day fish station, that was available every night during our stay at the hotel.
The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintined. Kids enjoyed the lazy river and the heated pool. The beach was clean and spacious. The view of the sunset at the beach is picturesque. So we would go down the beach every day just to watch the sun setting behind the mountains.

For making our stay really special I would like to thank Mr Sameh and Mr Maged for their hospitality and for making our first experience at the hotel brilliant. I would also like to thank Mr Mohamed Adel at front desk for ensuring that our stay was enjoyable and was paying attention to small details!

I am planning to go back again with friends and family to stay at the hotel in April and I am really looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee_fayz_BBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear ay-BBC,

Knowing that your stay with us was simply Brilliant in every way is a great compliment to us.

Your appreciation to our chefs and front office colleagues was communicated to them. In fact it is our staff that makes the difference in our hotel, making each stay a personalized and special one for our esteemed guests.

We are looking forward to welcome all of you again in April.

Kind regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent three nights here at the end of our recent stay in Egypt. We wish we had stayed longer, the hotel was first class in every way. Excellent food, excellent service, excellent facilities etc. I personally could not fault this hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Mr. George K,

we are very excited to read your great comment! First Class award from you including your recommendation is a honor to us!

We wish to see you back again, hopefully longer than three nights!

Warm regards

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Arrived here for the first time, I was impressed. A very nice resort and staff indeed. A magnificant pool and lazy river design, and a superb breakfast buffet such a like I never have seen before. Also the gardens and room are very well maintained. Will be back in a warmer climate for sure.

However, there where also some things which should be improved or changed.. especially because all other (not mentioned things) are fantastic. The Spa looked if it was out of service. It was very clean, but you saw a reception, which isn't used, and the water in the pool or jakuzi are way to cold. The fitness room was good, and the trainer was fantastic (a professional kick boxer from Ismalia) But for my self I think, because you got a large Spa outside the hotel, the one in the hotel self is not an point of interest anymore. Also before you arrive in Soma Bay, you have to pass some security points, which is okay, but the last one at the hotel is really annoying. For myself who was going up and down to Hurghada every night by the same taxi, they really want to know all about you and the taxi, like phone number, name, roomnumber, what you come do etcetera. And for 3 days they where quite rude about this. So when I refused to give them more details, they started to give a lot of hassle to the poor taxi driver, which was not to blame for anything. Security is always important ofcource... but it can be in a polite and guest friendly way.

Room Tip: I liked room 4101, close to all amenities
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex-EG-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Luxor,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.
It is great to hear that you had a magnificent stay with us!

We regret that you were annoyed by our daily security checks.
We would like to assure you, that we will enhance the training program of our security guards,
because safety and security, provided by high service standards for our guests, are high priority for the management.

Best regards

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soma Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#2 of 11 in Soma Bay
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
1.0 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 11 in Soma Bay
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Address: PO Box 15, Soma Bay 84711, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range: $105 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by this striking resort destination on the Egyptian shores of the Red Sea, an idyllic leisure retreat blessed with more 7000sqm of picturesque landscape of pools, lazy river, waterfalls and lagoons, flowing down to an immaculate 400m sandy beach. Inspired by the mystique and nobility of the ancient Moorish fortresses, the ultimately luxurious hotel features 325 elegantly-appointed rooms and suites, ranging mostly from 39sqm/42sqm to 185sqm, mixing contemporary decor and European flair, with warm Egyptian hospitality and attention to detail. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. The accommodation at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay captures the nostalgic elegance of an age where quality and care were a way of life. Indulge in an upgrade with any of our unique and generously spacious suites dotted by unmatched views of the Resort and the Red Sea. Explore an abundance of unparalleled choice enhanced by seamless amenities, direct access to the Laguna Club Lounge while enjoying flawless services and inspirational settings. 22 Junior Suites, 10 Deluxe Suites and 2 Presidential Suites are all confirming the luxe-appeal of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is the ideal location for family holiday, honeymooners, incentive program for companies and definitely a heaven for golf players. A charming KIMO kid's club is operating daily from 9am to 6pm with lots of exciting activities under the supervision of a professional attendant. A voyage of epicurean and entertainment pleasures beckons at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay restaurants and lounge. Assuage your palate with luscious and idyllic ethos from around Asia at Bamboo Shoot or authentic international treats at The View, the hotel's main restaurant with inspiring views. Dine at "The View" restaurant or on its inspiring terrace with stunning sceneries of the Red Sea while enjoying a tantalizing gastronomical treat as you savor the unique signature dish, artistically created by our creative chefs. It is juicy, tender and sensually intrigues your taste buds, guaranteeing a wonderful culinary experience. Indulge in a timeless tasty culinary at Al Mar from noon till sunset in a serene setting. Savor premium light meals at the enjoyable Beachcomber. Revel in the epitome of luxury at Sultan Bar with high-end cocktails and heart thumping entertainment. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is definitely a heaven for golf players. Being part of Soma Bay luxury destination, the Hotel guests have access to the spectacular "The Cascades Championship Golf Course". If you're feeling inspired to get fit and try a new sport this summer, head to the luxurious Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay on Egypt's Red Sea and try out a complimentary introductory session of various leisure and sports activities including diving, snorkeling with a guide, windsurfing, kite surfing, catamaran, golf, beach tennis and volley ball... These are some of the leisure excitements waiting for you to explore in your next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing