We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Affordable luxury”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I only spent one day while on business but I wish I could have spent a whole week. The staff was very helpful from the start. The swimming pool and beach are amazing. I also recommend the Asian restaurant in the hotel. The only problem was that we booked a car the day before to take us to the airport and the car was not there at 2:15 in the morning and the front desk knew nothing about it. Apart from that, everything went perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyelrapido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us.

We are very happy to read that you had a great time in our hotel even though you spent only one day at our beautiful resort.

We are sorry to hear that the pickup for your limousine transfer to Hurghada airport was not on time.
Best regards from Soma Bay

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    155
    41
    22
    8
See reviews for
374
495
50
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beautiful luxurious hotel in Suma Bay 30 km away from Hurghada, a bit isolated but exactly what you need to relax. Beautiful pools and beach,hotel very clean and staff very friendly. Great variety of food in breakfast or dinner buffet. We enjoyed our stay very much in this hotel and would gladly come back. If you take a room /suite above the bar could be a bit loud till before midnight. Still great vacation in a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms or suites above the bar, gets loud till before midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dacronbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

To relax and enjoy one of the best kept secrets on the Red Sea- Soma Bay Is THE place to be. 7.000 sqm pool landscapes, the untouched underwater world combined with the extravagant culinary selection is making your stay to an exclusive one.

The daily Live Entertainment at our Sultan Bar is from 20.00 hrs to 23.00 hrs.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismailia, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

the hotel is very nice i have enjoyed every part in the place the beach , restaurant, rooms, lagun and for sure the team is very active. beach is very well clean and organized and the see is wow.
I'm highly recommend the place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yasmen_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Great to read your excellent comment and all the praise! Thank you so much.
We are happy to have made your stay to a wonderful one.

Hope to see you back at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay in the near future.

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Aldous can leave the Soma at home, because this hotel is a dream. If you like swimming pools, you will not be disappointed, they are massive. The grounds of this hotel are substantial. Being a very new hotel, the rooms, the gardens, all outdoor areas are absolutely pristine. The breakfast buffet is so extensive you will add kilos. Great little group of shops. Good beach. I could go on, but you will discover it all yourself. Quite an upmarket environment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klattu_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

What an amazing feedback!
Thank you!

All in all the pool landscape is about 7.000 sqm and surrounded by our unique lazy river, which is loved by adults and children.
We are awaiting you back to the Pearl of the Red Sea.

Kind regards

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

As I've been reading many of the good reviews on TA, my expectations were way high and I did not get dissapointed. Check inn was professional and quick. We were offerd a lovely hibiscus tea en a cold towel upon arrival and were transferred to the lagoona club reception were we drank a cocktail and we were quickly brought to our room where we had our first "wauw"moment. We had a very large room. We thought it was a junior-suite but they called it standard. Everything was spotless and the view was very nice. Chocolats and fruits were displayed. We could not have asked for more.
We spent a lovely week with absolutly not one stressmoment (exept for maybe the fly's but you can not hold that against the hotel). What struck us the most was the absolute genuine friendlyness from every single member of the staff and what surprised me the most was that they all spoke English. Everthing was a pleasure and nothing was a problem. I can unestly say that we have never been treeded with so much respect en kindness as at Kempinski Soma Bay. We wonder if it is typical Kempinski or typical Egypt.
Regarding the food we were pleased as well. Chefs use many different herbs so you find many flavors in well prepared dishes. I usely had my dishes prepared at the many show-cooking-stands. If I tried something from the bowls, that was usely not hot enough. That may be my only point of improvement for the hotel; mind your foodtemperatures. But again, you can eat around that problem. Salads were very yummie but prepared with the hard vegetables as paprika, sellery and artisjok. So I had to be carefull with that after a few days because my stomach is not used to that many fibres. Other than that we had not problems with the food or hygiene. I think(except for the temperature) they fit the same standard as european restaurants. We ate at the asian restaurant one evening just because Mohammed from the club lounge recommanded that. We did not regret. The shashimi came straight from the sea and the clams were nicely prepared.
Service at club lounge was, if possible, even better. Most members lunched there every day and the waiter would have prepared everybody's table by one o'clock with their favorite waters and wines. It made me feel so welcome every single day. Thank you for that, guys!!! They had us in a holidaymood so intens that my husband even forgot to put on long trousers one evening and he would often leave his cap or sweater on table or chair, wich then were brought to our room everytime, with a smile.
Check out was quick and correct and we were even offered a bottle of water for the road. Magnificant!!!
Will I come back? You bet. From here on; wherever we'll go, we'll go Kempinski ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Wow!
Even us had our wow-moment while reading your wonderful evaluation.
It is our utmost pleasure and desire to make our guests to “Happy travelers”.

Our employees are representing the Kempinski as well as Egypt…that’s why the mix of both makes it such a very special and unique experience.

See you soon in Kempinski Soma Bay!

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I am highly mpressed by the GM's efforts to rEspond to each review. Little wonder the hotel is rated a 5 star. As a Ghanaian, I am excited to know that there is a Kempinski Gold Coast opening soon in Accra. I am highly expectant and hope that the world class service will be replicated here. My company has an international conference scheduled for the end of July, and the temptation to schedule it at Kempinski is very high, just as the risk. What happens if the hotel doesn't open as scheduled? How prepared will the management be for an international event n the first day?! I'm in a dilemma

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

As it is very important to read each and every guest comment to improve the Hotel from Good to Best, we are taking every praise and critical feedback very serious.

As we praise ourselves as a selection of individuals with international standard, you can be sure that also Kempinski Gold Coast in Accra will provide best sequences of service.
Further information about the opening and for reservation please see

Reservations.Accra@kempinski.com

Best regards from Soma Bay

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is stunning. The attention to detail to its structure is superb. Lots of domes and arches with Middle Eastern Decor. It’s a very clean, spacious and not so cluttered, modernised version of Aladdin’s cave. It feels like a luxury authentic experience.

The Junior Suite is divine. The Middle Eastern décor in this Suite is breath taking. Wooden panelling with a cushioned seating area., Arabian style lamps. It really is difficult not to get excited. It feels magical!

With five restaurants and bars, you really are spoilt for choice. And all superb.
Those staying in a Suite have access to the Laguna Club. Which is an exclusive area that no one else can get entry too. It offers breakfast, light lunch and dinner. Throughout the day they present five ‘culinary delights’ and ‘luscious beverages.’

The attention to detail is great. They have gluten free menu-items! (Not that this affected me, but it’s great for anyone who has strict dietary requirements). And the chefs really do accommodate.
The beach is lovely. And the lazy river a lovely added touch too.

The shisha area is great and definitely worth a try. Lots of flavours and great to enjoy under a warm evening. I am not a smoker, but you can't not indulge in a bit of Shisha. It's the theatre around it that I love. The noise, the smell, the water bubbling.

The hotel is expensive, but as with anything, you get what you pay for. Definitely worth it if for a special occasion or if budget permits.

Hotel is very clean, and great for relaxing. It’s not noisy and the staff are great!

Would I return? YES.

Room Tip: Booking a Suite will change your overall holiday experience. If you are able to book one, then BOOK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlLondonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Carlie,

Thank you so much for evaluating Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay.
It is great to hear that you value the effort we make to provide European Luxury service.

All in all we do have 22 Junior Suites and 10 Deluxe Suites. Why don’t you stay during your next stay in one of our elegant one-bed-room Deluxe Suites?

For reservation: reservation.somabay@kempinski.com

We are happy to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soma Bay
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#1 of 11 in Soma Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
3.5 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
1.0 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Property: Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
Address: PO Box 15, Soma Bay 84711, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by this striking resort destination on the Egyptian shores of the Red Sea, an idyllic leisure retreat blessed with more 7000sqm of picturesque landscape of pools, lazy river, waterfalls and lagoons, flowing down to an immaculate 400m sandy beach. Inspired by the mystique and nobility of the ancient Moorish fortresses, the ultimately luxurious hotel features 325 elegantly-appointed rooms and suites, ranging mostly from 39sqm/42sqm to 185sqm, mixing contemporary decor and European flair, with warm Egyptian hospitality and attention to detail. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. The accommodation at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay captures the nostalgic elegance of an age where quality and care were a way of life. Indulge in an upgrade with any of our unique and generously spacious suites dotted by unmatched views of the Resort and the Red Sea. Explore an abundance of unparalleled choice enhanced by seamless amenities, direct access to the Laguna Club Lounge while enjoying flawless services and inspirational settings. 22 Junior Suites, 10 Deluxe Suites and 2 Presidential Suites are all confirming the luxe-appeal of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is the ideal location for family holiday, honeymooners, incentive program for companies and definitely a heaven for golf players. A charming KIMO kid's club is operating daily from 9am to 6pm with lots of exciting activities under the supervision of a professional attendant. A voyage of epicurean and entertainment pleasures beckons at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay restaurants and lounge. Assuage your palate with luscious and idyllic ethos from around Asia at Bamboo Shoot or authentic international treats at The View, the hotel's main restaurant with inspiring views. Dine at "The View" restaurant or on its inspiring terrace with stunning sceneries of the Red Sea while enjoying a tantalizing gastronomical treat as you savor the unique signature dish, artistically created by our creative chefs. It is juicy, tender and sensually intrigues your taste buds, guaranteeing a wonderful culinary experience. Indulge in a timeless tasty culinary at Al Mar from noon till sunset in a serene setting. Savor premium light meals at the enjoyable Beachcomber. Revel in the epitome of luxury at Sultan Bar with high-end cocktails and heart thumping entertainment. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is definitely a heaven for golf players. Being part of Soma Bay luxury destination, the Hotel guests have access to the spectacular "The Cascades Championship Golf Course". If you're feeling inspired to get fit and try a new sport this summer, head to the luxurious Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay on Egypt's Red Sea and try out a complimentary introductory session of various leisure and sports activities including diving, snorkeling with a guide, windsurfing, kite surfing, catamaran, golf, beach tennis and volley ball... These are some of the leisure excitements waiting for you to explore in your next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing