We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis on the Red Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We made the very long drive from Cairo to Soma Bay to stay at the Kempinski over the recent Eid holiday. The property is beautiful and sprawling - endless pools circled by a lazy river, with several restaurants, and a pristine cabana-filled beach. The rooms are clean and spacious, if bland design-wise. Like ours, most have a sea view from their small balcony. Bathrooms were nice - the one in our double room had two sinks, and separate WC, shower and bath. The bed wasn't the most comfortable. The kids loved the "free"sodas in the mini fridge. Nightly turn-down service with extra water and a copy of the next day's activities was nice. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful across the board - better, more professional service than you typically find in Egypt. The hotel manager checked in with us several times to see how our stay was going and solicit feedback. We did the half board option (there is nothing else in Soma Bay except for other hotels, so dining options are pretty much limited to your hotel.) Breakfast was nice - lots of options and served in the pretty View Restaurant overlooking the sea. Dinners were typical buffet fare. Being the Eid, there was various entertainment offered at dinners and after at the Sultan Lounge - a whirling dervish, belly dancer, fire dancers, acrobats for the kids. The beach - the main attraction for us - was quiet (most guests seemed to flock to the pools) and clean. Cabanas and chairs are plentiful. The water was clear and warm - great for seashell hunting and fish spotting at the coral reef. Snorkles and fins are available for hire or for sale. Mojitos at the beach bar were surprisingly good; the food there unsurprisingly expensive. We were very pleased with the quality and prices at the on-site spa as well as the nearby thalasso spa at Les Thermes Marins des Cascades. Skip the shops - very aggressive shopkeepers and ridiculously inflated prices for foreigners.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelliemurfski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned , with our familyfrom a most fantastic holiday in Soma Bay. The weather was wonderful but more importantly so were the staff . Everyone made you feel special. They joked with you and were lovely with the children.the food was excellent and where ever you sat you had good views of the landscape which is breath taking. We will go back next year . This year we have been on about ten holidays all over the world and this hotel features among the best

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Hotel and it's facilities are out of this world,,the Staff are also very polite and helpful. This Hotel is located at Soma Bay just 30 Kms south of Hurghada and facing a very nice calm Bay. The food is excellent and we have the option to have our meals at other 3 near by hotels at same area. Will plan to go there again soon.
Diving and lots of sea sports are also available there for both adults and kids.
Room # 1505 is an excellent location .
Mohamed Shoukry
25-30 Oct'12

Room Tip: Room # 1505
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoShoukry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had never heard about the Kempinski - but now we will never forget. It is really hard to find anything that would be worth mentioning as areas of improvements. From the moment we arrived to the departure, we have experienced fantastic service from all members of the staff.
When you arrive at the hotel, you enter a different world of calmness and superior service. The rooms, the service, the pools, the beach and the weather combines into a perfect stay.

The only minor details to bring forward would be that the dining prices sometimes did not match the quality of some of the dishes. In general you should expect prices as such of a luxury hotel. But in general we have been given a significant attention and service at all time, which corresponds to the price level.

Do be aware that once you retreat here, you are 45 km away from the city of Hurghada, which means that you are stuck in the area - and this is quite positive. Next to the hotel there are certain shops where souvenirs etc can be bought. BE AWARE that the prices here are extreme and do negotiate these. We were offered some candle holders for 240 Egyptian Pounds a piece and found similar in the airport for 20,- a piece!

Room Tip: For beach view make sure you get rooms that are facing directly to the sea. Not on the sides of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mugxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Sir,

Welcome to Kempinski Hotels! It is great to hear that you discovered our very own passion for European luxury-in Egypt!

You are 100 % right! It is very important to be properly prepared and informed about the chosen holiday destination to avoid wrong expectations and imaginations.

Your comment in regards to the cost-benefit ration will be discussed with the respective department.

See you soon, inshallah!

Kind regards

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in this hotel the last week of September and first week of October.
It was our honeymoon we got married the week before. The honeymoon welcome at 1:00 am in the morning was charming, rose petals on the floor in the room, a heart shaped honeymoon cake, cheese, sausages and other specialities for tired travellers, and last but not least a bottle of Champagne !! even the bathtub was filled with water and rose petals sprinkled in. we were more than overwhelmed ! What a warm welcome.We had never seen anything like this before.
The food was excellent, barely a repetition of the menu in the 2 weeks we stayed there.
The Staff were more than friendly and very attentive they could read your wishes off your lips really very impressive!!.
We have travelled to many 4 and 5 star hotels in the world but this is unbeatable.
It did not really matter if it was the kitchen staff, fitness center trainers, service staff or managers, they were all polite and did their utmost to help. The cleanliness of the room and the hotel complex is top. The quality of the pool water is checked daily as we noticed, we give a 5 star rating for the standard of cleanliness.
The temperature was very nice not too hot to lie on the beach, the sea temperature was about 26 degrees just what we love.
The beach is very clean and the sea is clear, it is shallow in the first 400 meters , ideal for kids and non swimmers
the Sultan bar is the best place in the bay to dance, hear chill out music or just relax with a shisha. Special thanks to the Sultan bar manager and his team.
We walked to the other 4 hotels along the bay but for us there is no need to do a comparison, we were at the best place.
All in all, a fantastic relaxing holiday, at a fantastic hotel, with brilliant staff. It is truly a 5 star luxury.
We cannot thank everyone enough, a big thank you to the staff. Their personal efforts differentiate this hotel to the other 5 star places we have been.
Keep it up Kempinski we will be back soon.
Regards
K & I

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancer451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Sir,

WOW! What a great feedback! Thank you so much for your warm words.

These are the best compliments we can receive.

You can be sure we maintain the great service, the excellent food and the luxuriousness of the hotel.

Looking forward to your next holiday at Kempinski Soma Bay

Sunny regards!

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Verry good spot,exclusive service as usual for a kempinsky hotel.Verry friendly housekeeping,nice pool,clean rooms and confortable bed. Verry good and exclusive food with alot of choices.they did everything what we asked for,and they even gave us medicine and tablets for my wife who had a fluence

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Sir,

We hope your wife is in the meantime totally recovered. We are sending her the best wishes on behalf of the whole Kempinski Soma Bay Team!

We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Well to be honest the hotel it's self is not so bad , however going to one of the most expensive 5* hotels , you really expect to see some value for the money in terms of luxury , quality , services ..etc

I was surprised to find this hotel so normal , soooo quiet nd deserted .. Which I can understand why .. Since it's far away from Hurghada , the service and welcoming was up to the standard , however the rooms was not that wow , just normal . The view of the rooms was not good unless u book a sea view room .. The beach was totally empty , maybe this could be an advantage for others ...

The food was normal nothing special , can't say it was excellent . However dinning place was nice and romantic , the open air and candle light style.

At night they have sometimes a show or event depending on the day , else nothing special.


Finally yes it is a nice hotel if you seek quite time and relaxation ... Ex.Honeymooners who just want to relax ,

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0OkieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Sir,

We regret that you did not like the quiet atmosphere in the hotel and that you were not booked in one of our great Sea View rooms.

As we are located 45 km far away from Hurghada, we are mostly chosen by guests who are looking for water sport activities and relaxation.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best regards

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soma Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#2 of 11 in Soma Bay
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
3.5 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
1 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 11 in Soma Bay
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Address: PO Box 15, Soma Bay 84711, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range: $86 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by this striking resort destination on the Egyptian shores of the Red Sea, an idyllic leisure retreat blessed with more 7000sqm of picturesque landscape of pools, lazy river, waterfalls and lagoons, flowing down to an immaculate 400m sandy beach. Inspired by the mystique and nobility of the ancient Moorish fortresses, the ultimately luxurious hotel features 325 elegantly-appointed rooms and suites, ranging mostly from 39sqm/42sqm to 185sqm, mixing contemporary decor and European flair, with warm Egyptian hospitality and attention to detail. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. The accommodation at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay captures the nostalgic elegance of an age where quality and care were a way of life. Indulge in an upgrade with any of our unique and generously spacious suites dotted by unmatched views of the Resort and the Red Sea. Explore an abundance of unparalleled choice enhanced by seamless amenities, direct access to the Laguna Club Lounge while enjoying flawless services and inspirational settings. 22 Junior Suites, 10 Deluxe Suites and 2 Presidential Suites are all confirming the luxe-appeal of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is the ideal location for family holiday, honeymooners, incentive program for companies and definitely a heaven for golf players. A charming KIMO kid's club is operating daily from 9am to 6pm with lots of exciting activities under the supervision of a professional attendant. A voyage of epicurean and entertainment pleasures beckons at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay restaurants and lounge. Assuage your palate with luscious and idyllic ethos from around Asia at Bamboo Shoot or authentic international treats at The View, the hotel's main restaurant with inspiring views. Dine at "The View" restaurant or on its inspiring terrace with stunning sceneries of the Red Sea while enjoying a tantalizing gastronomical treat as you savor the unique signature dish, artistically created by our creative chefs. It is juicy, tender and sensually intrigues your taste buds, guaranteeing a wonderful culinary experience. Indulge in a timeless tasty culinary at Al Mar from noon till sunset in a serene setting. Savor premium light meals at the enjoyable Beachcomber. Revel in the epitome of luxury at Sultan Bar with high-end cocktails and heart thumping entertainment. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is definitely a heaven for golf players. Being part of Soma Bay luxury destination, the Hotel guests have access to the spectacular "The Cascades Championship Golf Course". If you're feeling inspired to get fit and try a new sport this summer, head to the luxurious Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay on Egypt's Red Sea and try out a complimentary introductory session of various leisure and sports activities including diving, snorkeling with a guide, windsurfing, kite surfing, catamaran, golf, beach tennis and volley ball... These are some of the leisure excitements waiting for you to explore in your next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing