We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“abandoned”
Review of Sol Y Mar Pioneers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Y Mar Pioneers
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kharga
Reviewed February 26, 2012

probably was nice once-now it is a ghost-spooky

not much in the area so do not know what will happen here-sad

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacethroughtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 33 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2011

amazing view from room 328 very quiet location smiley staff good service and food.
sad for there were no buddy else except us.

Room Tip: the view from the third floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bert_elisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This is the only starred hotel in Kharga. Reception sent me to a room as far away as possible. To be kind, I would say that this was on the shady side and near the pool, but more practically it was to slow down any complaints being returned to them.
The hot water tank in room 224 was not working, and the electrics for it were only held on by duck tape. One power socket in the room did not work, and I found out late at night that the balcony light was not working. I should have asked to be moved to another room, but it was a very long trek back to reception.
Half Board was the only option. There was no choice - dinner was "meat and rice". I've no complaints about what wa served but would have liked the option of a la carte. Breakfast was plated rather than buffer, presumably because occupancy was around the 5% level. The bar had a reasonable choice of fairly priced alcoholic drinks, but was very dark. I like to read a book if I can not use my computer.
Internet access was wired only, at £E20 per hour, so I didn't.
A hotel that is nearly empty should at least be able to provide rooms where everything works. This one fails.
To compound the insult, the Kharga Museum and the Temple of Hibis were both closed. The only local site open was the Coptic Cemetery of el-Bagawit, which is very well worth a visit.
Kharga in Arabic means something like 'exit', and I was happy to leave this oasis. Perhaps in a year or two things will have improved.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

After our trip trough the different oases in the western desert, we stayed in this hotel. It is a good hotel to relax and have a swim in the pool. Rooms were very clean, although the towels were dirty.

Besides us (= 4 people) there were another 3 persons staying in this big hotel (with some 100 rooms). So it was very quiet. The only problem was that there was no buffet like there normally should be. So they tried to make some strange Europeanised meal, wich was very bad.
If you are a vegetarian, you are very unlucky in this hotel. One of us asked for a vegetarian meal and she got: spaghetti without any sauce or vegetables.

The hotel is next to some palm groves. Be sure to have walk there!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bepieters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

i got surprised when i enter the hotel it was the best in the area i saw someone to offer me a wet towel and someone else offering red drink really coolll

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank memaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Having read the two reviews in English, was a little apprehensive but found the "pink palace" (as our guides called it with a certain irony) a very pleasant place to stay for 2 nights. The room was spacious, the aircon perhaps over-efficient (the fan was fierce even on low), the bathroom worked well, clean shower curtain(!) and you can't blame the hotel for the colour of the water - thats the way it is in the desert and if you want crystal-clear water, stay at home. The huge place was virtually empty so I couldn't fathom why we were put in rooms far from reception - maybe they are the refurbished ones - but the view as you trudged along the open corridors on the second floor was stunning, over fields and palms and the temple of Nadura on the brow of the hill. The food was substantial and good, excellent breakfast and all the staff were very charming and willing. A problem with my door lock was overcome in less than five minutes. No selection in the bar, but my private bottle of vodka cheered up the can of Sprite no end. Tried the swimming pool, which was fine but very slippery, probably from all the chemicals to bring it up to scratch for fussy foreigners. Found a towel "crocodile" eating the TV remote control in my room when we returned for the second night, and as I didn't use all the towels I made a fleur-de-lys design which the boys found very amusing when they came to collect my bags. Young Egyptians really enjoy a joke and a bit of joshing, your trying out a few words of Arabic, almost more appreciated than the odd bit of baksheesh.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ross39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

The Pioneer is the top of the line at Kharga Oasis. Unfortunately that doesn't get you much.

The hotel setting is quite lovely but the rooms are less than clean with basics only. The shower curtain in my room had mold on it!

The restaurant had great service and a wonderful breakfast and dinner buffet. Lunch was al carte and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Y Mar Pioneers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Pioneers

Address: Gamal Abdel Nasser St. | Al Kharga Oasis, New Valley, Kharga 11211, Egypt
Location: Egypt > New Valley Governorate > Kharga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kharga
Price Range: $58 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Y Mar Pioneers 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pioneers, a deluxe desert hotel in Kharga (Oasis Magna), offers a taste of consolation and serenity. In a magical locale, Pioneers caters to travelers who share a love of nature, a longing for adventure, and appreciation of aboriginal culture, offering the comfort of an oasis and the unforgettable Sahara experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sol Y Mar Pioneers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Pioneers Hotel Kharga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing