We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position for reasonably priced accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scottish Inns on the Hudson
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our room was comfortable, clean & adequate but on the small side.
The front office staff were helpful in dealing with our requests & we found the situation of the motel to be quiet & peaceful.
Good value stay if you're in the area.

Room Tip: We were on groundfloor of this 2xstorey motel with nobody above us & so we slept well but I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gooner1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

The paper thin walls and very squeaky floors overhead made falling and staying asleep quite difficult. The room was small but clean. Motel is located away from town, but near the volunteer fire department. Sirens in the middle of the night.


Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The manager and his wife worked with us on such short notice. Just from the phone calls today and check in, they are friendly and the property is very attractive and peaceful. If you are looking for a place to stay in the Waterford area, I would highly recommend this amazing Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravi m, Owner at Scottish Inns on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We take pride in our family run establishment and will continue to strive for the highest level of service. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Ravi S Modasra; Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Do Not believe the pictures. This motel has beer bottle's in the bushes and cinder blocks on the patio. The rooms don't even have closets and are so cramped you can hardly move. And be ready to have to ask for the items promised on the site, including the microwave. Dishonest and rude people...I'd sleep in my car before I stayed here!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvanduzer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravi m, Owner at Scottish Inns on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. In response to your review, I have contacted our landscapers to fully cleanup and address entire grounds and property to remove any and all debris. They will perform a full Spring Cleanup on the property by this weekend (May 11th). Some of the areas on the property are not accessible during our winter months in New York State and I want to apologize that this debris affected your stay at our property. In an effort to provide our customers with the best experience we do have patio repair taking place until end of May and this was the reason for Cinder Blocks on the property. Again I am truly sorry that the construction may have inconvenienced you. We had just finished residing and new lighting installation was also taking place at the time of your stay. On Trip Advisor under the pictures section, Photo 2 of 19 labeled Premier Double Room is the actual room (#104) that you stayed in. The other picture is of our King Size Room (Actual Room#102&103). We want to provide our customers with a room based on their needs and you had asked for a double room. Please stay in our King Room on your next visit so you have more space in the room with the absence of the second bed. I would hope that we are able to earn back your business in the future and would like to extend my sincerest apologies. Thank you for your business and feedback. Sincerely, Ravi S Modasra; Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've stayed in this motel for just 1 night and cannot fault it - it is good for a basic 1-night stay, but nothing more. Its a bit out of town (about 1-1.5 miles), though walkable - and in town there are some places to eat. Its near the river, but you can't see it actually. The room was basic and decor a bit dates, but bathroom was spacious, even though it could do with some cleaning.
Beware though that if you're booking "smoking" room (which is cheaper), it will smell of tobacco. I didn't mind that, even though I don't smoke myself, but if thats an issue for you - book a non-smoking one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ddartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravi m, Owner at Scottish Inns on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for staying at Scottish Inns-on the Hudson. I appreciate the feedback and hope that we can accomodate you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our group of firefighters booked most of the motel for a weekend convention and we all agreed the units were clean and comfortable. The management made every effort to insure we as a group felt welcomed during our stay and although the motel had just undergone major renovation, problems were few if any. I look forward to our next firefighters event in the Waterford area as we would all enjoy another stay at this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravi m, Owner at Scottish Inns on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you, it was a pleasure to host your group at Scottish Inns on the Hudson. We look forward to hosting your group again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
4.9 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Latham/Albany North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
6.9 mi away
Latham Inn
Latham Inn
#11 of 16 in Latham
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inns on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inns on the Hudson

Address: 83 Hudson River Rd, Waterford, NY 12188-1907
Location: United States > New York > Waterford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range: $51 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inns on the Hudson 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scottish Inns on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing