We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Inedible”

Hampton Coffee Company Espresso Bar & Cafe
Price range: $1 - $20
Restaurant details
Bridgehampton
Level Contributor
126 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Almost Inedible”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Hamptons Coffee Company has opened in the former MiniCooper Dealership space on Country Rd 39 in Southampton/WaterMill. Waiting for our cars to be inspected next door, we decided to try out this new coffee haven. The space is uninspired and very open, the coffee was only passable, and the egg, bacon, and cheddar panini was nearly inedible - on a hard dry roll, it was tasteless and unappealing. Two mediocre coffees and two HALF egg paninis for $16 - you must be joking. We won't do that again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDWBridgehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lean Mean & Clean for Espresso Lovers”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Needed a pick-me-up on the drive back to NYC from Eastern Long Island. In a coffee place I only order double espresso. That's my drink, and it also gives a platform for comparison, because it's so simple. Just pull me a double shot. This place belongs in the category of "you don't get much, but what's in there is worth it." The espresso is rich and super dark, really strong flavor, pure coffee essence as if it were a stock and it was reduced until it was thick. Absolutely one of the best espressos I've tasted.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMGregH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“RE: "ANYTHING GOES"”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

It is really a shame that a nice place with good food is marred by unsanitary, unprofessional servers. Saturday afternoon, June 2, 2013, we dined at this restaurant. Our waiter, a nice, young, good-looking, short, thin, dark-skinned Latino brunette male, shocked us by doing something we have never seen done in our lives, after 80 years of dining out everywhere, even in much cheaper diners, etc. The careless diner next to us had dropped his very dirty, used napkin on the floor in between our two tables. I mentioned it to him, and he replied, "Oh, the waiter will pick it up". He had no plan to do it himself; to much trouble. It was spread out like a big, dirty, white square on the floor for a while. Finally, when the waiter noticed it, he picked it up quickly and dropped it down in front of my husband, right on the table in front of him. WHO DOES THIS???? Firstly, it was not even his napkin. Secondly, why should anyone re-use such a dirty thing which had been on the floor? I told him about it in an emotional manner, but he did not seem to even get it. I was tempted to walk out right then and there, worrying about his other unsanitary, illiterate habits, but we had already received our drinks, so, we stayed for food that was good, but could have been improved in this way: the mango/pineapple bits were just dropped on top delicious French toast. The bread here is marvelous. There was no moisture or syrup or sauce to it this fruit topping, so it was just two things touching each other - fruit + bread, with no real moist interface. NO MOISTURE. Hey, I could have done that!! Secondly, the omelette: again, no moisture. Good, but simply too dry. Lastly, they allow dogs in a restaurant. A small, white,wealthy dog was permitted in, granted into the outdoor part of this eatery, in the rear of the site, but still, went through our inner restaurant and stayed in the other part of the restaurant. THE HEALTH DEPT. DOES NOT PERMIT THIS! Hey, they really want those tips --- let them all in. "WE WANT MONEY!!" Cole Porter's "Anything Goes" typifies this place. They ought to play that as their theme song.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Screaminglyfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My fave pitstop between South & Bridge”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

They have iced coffee all year round! Nuff said. Food's also good one of my girlfriends manages the sitdown part but I usually just stop in for a quick grab on the way to the office they always are playing amazing international groovy music and you can purchase any of the CDs to take in your car with you awesome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swint007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast stop”
Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place, great service and very good food. We had a great breakfast there.

Helpful?
Thank Ab282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton Coffee Company Espresso Bar & Cafe also viewed

 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to Hampton Coffee Company Espresso Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing