We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but smokey... a good thing.”
Review of Piggy Pat's B-B-Q

Piggy Pat's B-B-Q
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Central NY
Level Contributor
136 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Pricey, but smokey... a good thing.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

It's not cigarette smoke you're smelling... it's the hickory smoke from "the pits" you're getting a wiff of when you enter the door. The prices have gone up over the years (especially since relocating from Middleville), but then again, most restaurant prices have gone up the last few years. If you want a nice smokey BBQ treat ... this is it! Monstrous Memphis Style Big Ribs .... meat falling off the bone... full of flavor and add a touch of "Carolina Sauce" to make the flavors "Pop"!!! Wife loves the Texas Beef Brisquite ... can't say I blame her, the crust is full of the same smokey flavor and with a little BBQ sauce, it too "Pops"!!! Pulled pork ... again, nice smokey flavor and always tender... amazing. Not the most comfortable seating, but this supposed to be a "BBQ Joint"

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thepiratemorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very tasty and fun”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I can't get real bbq often enough so really enjoyed lunch here. Service was sincere and friendly, and the food was delicious. Good to hear how involved they are in the local community, supporting local producers.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WayOuterBorough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Can't understand it's popularity.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I found the food just O.K., the portions very small, and the menu not great. The surroundings are fine but if you really want great bar-b-que, head somewhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank bnbmcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some of the tastier BBQ in NY”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stumbled upon Piggy Pat's BBQ last Friday evening while driving around on our way back to Utica. Since we had already eaten, we did not stop but were intrigued enough to come back for dinner on Saturday. We were in for a dining experience, as the food was tasty and filling. I had the combo platter of BBQ ribs and beef brisket with corn bread and roasted sweet potatoes. Divine. The meat came off the ribs easily, and the beef brisket was so moist and tasty. I loved the roasted sweet potatoes - carmelized and melting in your mouth good. My fiance had the Mema's Southern Fried Frickin' Chicken, which had 4 huge pieces of fried chicken, with sides of macaroni and cheese, and fries. Let's just say that we were stuffed by the time we left! It was all too good to not eat, and we would come back again the next time we are in the area. If you're in the area, it's well worth the drive to Piggy Pat's - you're in for some excellent BBQ!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caramel_Tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Restaurant is very clean. Portions are on the small end but food is very tasty. Prices, I think, are high.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRprincess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piggy Pat's B-B-Q also viewed

 
Washington Mills, NY
Washington Mills, NY
 

Been to Piggy Pat's B-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing