We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for true beginner, otherwise don't bother.”
Review of Mount Peter

Mount Peter
Ranked #8 of 19 things to do in Warwick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic recreation area, nicknamed “The Friendly One,” is one of the oldest ski areas in New York State.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for true beginner, otherwise don't bother.”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great place to learn if you are a true beginner. Anything above that, don't waste your time. Definitely not worth the $45 they charge for a full day. Runs are just way too short to be enjoyable. By the time you get into a rhythm you are at the entrance to the lift.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    6
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC suburbs
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place for the non-expert and non-prima donna”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

About the Mountain:
The mountain has 14 trails. There is really small (50-100yrds) trail (Snowbasin) for the absolute beginner with a carpet "lift". Problem is, it's practically flat so you really don't move that much. From there you can progress to the tow-rope trail (Deer Run) that is twice as long but a little more steep so you can actually ski, albeit it'll only take 10 seconds until you reach the bottom. After that, it's on to the chair lifts that bring you to the top of the mountain. Not to worry though, there are still beginner trails at the top. For those more experienced, you can also hit the black diamond bumps. In other words, there is something for everyone.

About my trip:
Brought my 10 year old here for his first time on skis. We spent the AM getting him comfortable on skis (mostly on Deer Run). After lunch, we headed up to the top for the beginner Upper Rim Run. I actually think it was easier for him to learn at the top of the mountain because you could ski for longer than 10 seconds, so he had plenty of time to learn to turn and stop. After a few runs, he wanted to try the intermediate hill (Cedar Lane) which he was fine on. Maybe for his second time on skis he'll want to hit the black diamond???

Nutshell:
As many others say, it's a great family-orineted place. Definitely small, and the runs are over quickly, but still a great time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank glenwood96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really nice, small and family-oriented.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We've been meaning to get to this mountain for a while, finally got there today. Snow conditions were great, which impacts the experience, of course.

This is a compact ski resort - no long runs, no big grounds, modest selection of different runs and lifts. Feels very family-run. Really liked the relaxed vibe. Also, as has been mentioned, this is a beginner-intermediate slope. if you are looking for something different you won't be happy at this place.

There's a pretty long line for gear rentals w/ lift tickets, so plan accordingly. if you have your own gear the line is very short. Parking lots aren't huge and are right there, so there's no bus ride or concern about a major hike to get to the start. Makes it easy to put on your boots at the car and hike the short way to the lodge.

The hills were nicely groomed, folks were generally polite and showed good ski etiquette, and the lift chairs were adequate for the crowds. Only frustration was that the runs are so short, you definitely spend more time waiting to ski than actually skiing.

One other thing I'd point out is that each run is relatively short, so if you get into something over your skill level, it's not the end of the world - you can get yourself out after not too much panic!

Great for families just learning to ski.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The truth about Mount peter.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I may be a bit biased as this is our fourth year as season pass holders to this ski area, but here goes. MP was recommended to us as a nice mountain for my wife and daughter to learn, and for me to return to skiing after a 23yr hiatus. Parking is close to the lodge! Because it is considered one of the best downhill racing schools the runs are always groomed to the best conditions possible. Free group lessons are just that, free, and with a group. Just enough to give you the very basics. It is geared towards families, and the staff is knows this, and are very personable. Bus trippers full of drunken yahoos never go there!!!! Food, and snacks are always expensive at any mountain so be prepared, or bring your own. My 15yr old has made it clear that she has kind of outgrown the mountain, but this was after her 24hrs of ski school which helped her to reach expert level. Her mother is now taking the same class. We usually bring friends, or family with never a complaint. If you don't enjoy a great family day in the fresh air you are probably better off going to a mall!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for a quick day trip skiing”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went to Mt. Peters for a day of skiing. The mountain is good for new to intermediate skiers. More advanced skiers will be bored. The overall facility was average. This is a definately not a 5 star facility, but it was perfect for our family, which consisted of 3 younger children who are just learning to ski.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank I F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Peter also viewed

 

Been to Mount Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing