We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Cafe and Cantina

Maya Cafe and Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
1 review
“Great Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was happy to find a Mexican restaurant in the area that had Yucatecan specialties as well as the more standard Mexican food. I love their mole and their enchiladas suizas, and their tortilla chips are always warm. Plus it's a cute ambience and the waitstaff are very nice, quick, and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DARRON M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
203 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Unexpected Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for dinner tonight on our way home from a day of traveling. The service was excellent. The food was also excellent. The food came out hot and delicious. Worth checking out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
185 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Authentic Tex-Mex, tip by New Mexican friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

After meeting on a plane to Albuquerque a young Navy officer returning to his home in New Mexico, I tried this restaurant he recommended "as good as I get from my family cooking in Mexico." Menu includes rarely-seen posole stew. I had two beef enchiladas (excellent enchilada wrapping, spiced correctly) and charro beans--the correct pinto bean still textured with lardons of bacon in a spicy tomato broth. My lunch companion chose taco salad served in a crisp pastry crust with pickled onions and other trim not usual in the refried-beans-and-glop taco salads of most American "Mexican" restaurants. Mexican beers and ales on tap. Total bill for two around $40 with tip -- great price, authentic food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutchess county, ny
Level Contributor
149 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The food was great and the place was packed. We really liked the food. Prices are decent. Staff is great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bethypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
398 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Vale!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The service and price were good, however, the ribs were just okay ("vale") although there was plenty to eat. The corn was tasty but with too much butter. I will try a different Mexican restaurant next time

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Cafe and Cantina also viewed

 
Wappingers Falls, NY
 

Been to Maya Cafe and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing