We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bestforgetrest”
Review of Snaps

Snaps
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Wantagh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“bestforgetrest”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Casual,classy place, coat check and amazing service bring it a notch above other Merrick area restaurants.Every appetizer (we tried 6 and 2 soups) was excellent.Best lobster mac cheese ever! Salads are plate scrape-able.Top shelf cocktail… really was top shelf perfect . Lamb chops could be cut w/a butter knife,excellent flavor,perfectly cooked,but hacked in half makes dish seem sort of cheap,cut them thicker :). The side dishes on plate were equally perfect. Chicken milanese,perfecto, burgers and fries, awesome! Don't order Italian rock shrimp dishes and mexican food in a bistro, go to Texicana up the road for that, the tortilla bowl guacamole generous side tasted like avocado attacked by a lime,terrible,rock shrimp in one dish should be huge and not fried for an Italian sauce, they appeared like canned cut up fried shrimp and tasted like it as well. Po boy was tasty , but bread stale. I still give it a 5,bc you can really only fault the guests for not ordering "bistro food" in a bistro and the rest of us were THAT happy! 86 the Italian and Mexican food from the menu, its inedible.SERVICE IMPECCABLE :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bird5117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    32
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, NY
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great little gem in Wantagh”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

First time to this establishment and won't be the last. We had a fantastic meal with fantastic service. We had a kale salad app along with a gnocchi app to start. I have never had anything like this kale salad, but it was unbelievable! They bake the kale leaves! Delicious ! Main courses were pumpkin seed crusted tilapia and a short rib Wellington. Both were absolutely wonderful. We capped the night off with pumpkin bread pudding! Great meal, great service.

Helpful?
Thank Dan9x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Local place”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you are looking for a weekend dinner at Snaps, make reservations. It gets crowded. Once inside it sounds crowded. There appear to be sound absorbing panels on the wall and ceiling, but other than make the place look like a recording studio with food, it doesn't seem like they do much. They should at least hire a local artist to paint some sort of scenery on them. But you don't go to Snaps for the decor which is casual at best. Our particular waitress was thrilled to serve us, which was pleasant. We ordered wings and tuna tartare for appys and then went on to the beef wellington entree and the antipasto salad, plus the "flatliner" burger which is not for the calorie conscious. The sticking point is the pricing. The servings are modest but the prices are not. For a neighborhood place they should take that into consideration. I guess it is popular enough to warrant having to settle for a 9 pm reservation. It's good, not outstanding. Let's get more realistic about the food and drink prices though. Not proportionate to the food. Try it and decide.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amyt114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food if they have it..,”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Our food was good, presentation was thoughtful, but we were presented with a drink and entree menu and were not told that certain items from the menu were no longer available, until we ordered. The atmosphere was LOUD like a cafeteria.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Creative, Delicious Food!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I went here for a family party and was very happy with everything! We ordered appetizers, entrees, and coffee. The tuna tartare, salads, and dips were top-notch. The lobster mac & cheese was so good that everyone was the table was stealing it. the baja chicken bowl was also great---well seasoned, with lots of fresh, tasty ingredients.

American restaurants with innovative, quality food are few and far between. I sampled bits and pieces of many dishes and enjoyed everything I tried! It's exceedingly rare that I go anywhere and experience this level of satisfaction with the food. Most restaurants you have favorites, and then lots of dishes that are just so-so, but here it seems that you can't go wrong (at least we didn't, and our party was 20 people, all with varying tastes and preferences.!).

Great meal for any special occasion...or if you're just looking for a straight-up quality place with no unnecessary pretensions or irritating glitz!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edrick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snaps also viewed

Merrick, Long Island
Massapequa, Long Island
 
Seaford, Long Island
Seaford, Long Island
 
Wantagh, Long Island
Seaford, Long Island
 

Been to Snaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing