We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“85 Years young. Must be doing something right.”

Jones Beach State Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Wantagh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park offers visitors seven miles of beach, two swimming pools, a boardwalk and games.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“85 Years young. Must be doing something right.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We've been coming here with our family for years. We go to Lot 2 and head over to the left where the fishermen are. No swimming is allowed in this are and hence less crowded. It is also very entertaining to see everyone's catch of the day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MGoose58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    108
    20
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surf City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tailgaing to remember!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We were at Jones Beach for a JImmy Buffett concert and this was the coolest place to tailgate ever. I would come back to Jones Beach just for the day even if there wasn't a concert. The facilities are a little dated but that cool because I like history. Everything was clean and that's more important than new. We were very aware of the effort employees made to keep the place clean. We did not make it to the beach but we did walk on the boardwalk and use the comfort stations.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LBIBeachBum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sun, Sand, and Lots of Space!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Jones Beach, especially parking field 4 has a lot to offer. There is plenty of parking here ....considerably more than the very popular field 6. Four is great though because in addition to ample parking, there is a nice concession area, souvenir stand, umbrella rental, medical office, bathroom, and best of all, a swimming pool! This field is also close a nice playground. The walk to the water is made easier across the hit sand by a mesh pathway. The beach is well kept and litter free....it's very much worth the $10 entrance fee!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank SMRini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Big, Nice and Clean”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Went to Jones Beach today with my husband and a friend. We were in lot 4 which was nice- and for a beautiful Sunday afternoon, the beach was not overly crowded. The ocean water was cold, clean-ish and full of waves. There was a pool in this section of the beach that was clean and also not too crowded. There were plenty of showers, bathrooms and sitting areas and several food options available (though we brought our own food based on reviews here that mentioned expensive prices for food at the beach). If you are looking for a fun day and this is not too far out of your way, I say run don't walk and have a great time!!! :)

Fees:
Parking: $10 per car
Pool $3 per person

Overall: I will definitely go back!!! It was a great day

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank willres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach and beautiful views”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I have been living in Long Island for about two weeks, and I wanted to explore the local hot spots and jones beach is an incredible beach to go to. The roads in have gorgeous views on either side. It's 10 dollars to park you must go to the beach houses first to buy the ticket if the line is long at the kiosk and you have cash go around the line and go to the booth.(little tip) once parked there's a beach shop, food, kind of on the pricey side, 3.75 for water kinda pricey. Also there's showers bathrooms and a life guard station and believe it or not free wifi with remarkably good service. The beach is really wide and long, it's not up kept like say ocmd beaches but it's a really great place to go for the day or a few hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jones Beach State Park also viewed

 

Been to Jones Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing