We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great beach!”

Jones Beach State Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Wantagh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park offers visitors seven miles of beach, two swimming pools, a boardwalk and games.
Rye Brook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always a great beach!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have been going to the beach since I was a child. Always a great beach! Clean, great waves! Good snack bar! Love it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cagendalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    110
    20
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copiague, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memories....”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Used to hang out here to sunbathe back in the day...now I just like to ride my bike down the Wantagh bike path to the beach. Love this beach for the most part, as long as you get used to the non-blue waters LOL.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwaters
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Awesome Beaches”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Jones Beach is a great place to spend time with your children and to walk the boardwalk with friends. Living on Long Island all my life I have Spent many years at the Beaches especially at Field 9 which unfortunately has not been around for many years due to hurricanes in the area. The first 10 years of my life that beach was where my family and I spent our Summer Vacations rather than traveling to other places because the beaches aren't better anywhere else and I've traveled to many other beaches. Jones Beach holds many fond memories of learning to swim, collecting shellsand beach glass, and digging for sand crabs.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donamarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens, ny
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great escape”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The beach is one of the best in New York. During the height of the summer, parking can get dicey so I advise to get there early in the day. Some parking lots are alot closer to the water than others. The boardwalk is a great place to stroll along.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, New York
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

There is nothing like the roar of the waves and a walk along the board walk. I have been visiting Jones Beach since I was born. There is nothing like a day at the beach. Weekends can be very crowded, but lay down a blanket, pack a picnic and enjoy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jones Beach State Park also viewed

 

Been to Jones Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing