We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wallkill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Wallkill B&B and Inns
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Our time at Bernettas's Place was lovely. She is like peeling away an onion piece by piece, the more you peel the more layers are exposed. At first it seems like simply a beautiful boutique inn. Everything is extremely clean and pets are allowed to boot (cats and dogs)! She has done all the wood work herself and the plans for expansion seem amazing... a potter's studio, a full gym, a art studio themed room, etc... We stayed in the Italian room. It was beautiful and we slept wonderfully, it was quiet and the room was very spacious. There was a beautiful fire roaring most of the time and baked delights available to snack on. The set up is great because you don't feel like you're on top of all the other guests and while it's a b & b all the rooms are very private. It's a short drive form New Paltz and all the main hikin areas.

Very recommneded. The breakfasts are memorable if not a little bit sweet!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adcolantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Algérie
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Bernetta's Place is very beautiful, the welcome is warm and Bernetta is a nice woman. I liked!!!
the only regret is that it's a bit expensive.

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank liliaAlg_rie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Bernetta has a true passion for her B&B. We stayed there two nights and each morning we woke up excited to see what treasure she had cooked for us that morning. The food was perfect! Pet friendly and there is even a jacuzzi. The interior wood work was done by her and was beautifully done. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philrosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stayed at Bernetta's with my dog Sasha for 3 nights last week and enjoyed every moment.
Highlights of our visit included interesting conversations, privacy, a concert of wind chimes during an evening rain shower on her screened porch (also where we enjoyed leisurely breakfasts), listening to the thudding of chestnuts falling in the woods, exploring, beautiful views and lake swimming, morning swims in her spacious salt water pool, delicious breakfasts and a true sense of the artistry of Bernetta's home and lifestyle. Our stay was peaceful, serene and comfortable - unhampered by hassles of any kind. Our stay was memorable with enduring images and a feeling of relaxation and welcome that Bernetta extended to us. Most fun was discovering "hidden" sites around the nearby lake community and visiting Minnewaska falls and lake. Bernetta was helpful, friendly and getting to know her and Lola (her pooch) enhanced our experience. I'm sure we will return!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bon1sash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll Gardens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

We just got back from staying at Bernetta’s Place and we couldn’t be more pleased. Bernetta is a warm and gracious host, and the inn is just lovely. The grounds are beautiful, complete with inviting hammocks and a salt water pool. The breakfasts were scrumptious; we are foodies from NYC and we were completely wowed by Bernetta’s delicious meals. The inn is conveniently located and is close to Minnewaska State Park, Mohonk Preserve, Tilden Lake, Huguenot Street and all the lovely shops and restaurants in New Paltz. We felt completely welcome and attended to, and our dog, Wags, had an absolute blast running around the grounds and taking dips in the nearby lake. We will definitely be back!!

Michele & Miguel

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele6819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

We have been wanting to climb the gunks for some time. Not being familiar with the area, I sought out a B&B via the internet, which can be tricky. We were not disappointed! Bernetta has a calm demeanor, is friendly and charming, and her home is welcoming and interesting. You will feel taken care of but not hovered over. We are foodies and know what is good and what isn't...Bernetta's cooking is great and her attention to detail is impeccable! The rooms were lovely (stay in the Italian Room for romance!) and the porch inviting. We enjoyed everything about the stay...I'm hoping Bernetta will adopt me!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleking224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

Bernetta is so accommodating and a great soul. My husband and I wanted to get away with our dog for the weekend. It was perfect. Since we were the only ones there that weekend, Bernetta allowed us to have our choice of rooms and greeted us with a glass of wine. We instantly relaxed. Her property is within walking distance of a beautiful lake where Rocky was allowed off leash. We drove to the gunks and took him on the trails with us. He was in heaven running around with Bernetta's dog, Lola, and enjoying the freedom of the great outdoors. The rooms and the house are just lovely. Her breakfasts are amazing, go for a walk beforehand! It was rather cold when we went and we look forward to coming back during warmer weather.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallkill
4.2 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
16.2 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
1.1 mi away
Inn At The Ridge
Inn At The Ridge
#3 of 4 in Wallkill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake

Property: Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake
Address: 12 Calderone Dr, Wallkill, NY 12589-3337
Location: United States > New York > Wallkill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wallkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bernetta's Place B&B is a pet friendly inn located close to all the major areas near Mohonk, Minnewaska and in New Paltz. It offers all the country that you would want. There's a 22 acre lake that you can walk to, enjoy the view of the Shawangunk mountains. Rent kayaks or have a picnic basket made up for your relaxing time at the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing