We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away with the animals”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wallkill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Wallkill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to get away with the animals”
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Bernetta is so accommodating and a great soul. My husband and I wanted to get away with our dog for the weekend. It was perfect. Since we were the only ones there that weekend, Bernetta allowed us to have our choice of rooms and greeted us with a glass of wine. We instantly relaxed. Her property is within walking distance of a beautiful lake where Rocky was allowed off leash. We drove to the gunks and took him on the trails with us. He was in heaven running around with Bernetta's dog, Lola, and enjoying the freedom of the great outdoors. The rooms and the house are just lovely. Her breakfasts are amazing, go for a walk beforehand! It was rather cold when we went and we look forward to coming back during warmer weather.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
63
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Absolutely Perfect, The rooms are spacious and full of character. Bernetta is the ultimate hostess full of helpful local tips and stories. Every breakfast was a meal to remember and we were spoiled with delicious baked treats. We seen deer on the grounds every morning and enjoyed the fireplace every night. Thank you Bernetta for a great weekend. -Richard & Christine

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms, Hospitality, Proximity to Trails, Lovely Property, Great Food
  • Disliked — The only regret we have is that we could not stay longer!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GXP-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bernetta's place during peak weekend and were pleasantly suprised by just how charming it was.

The house is welcoming and warm. With it's charming decor and cozy sitting room and fabulous hospitality, you may find yourself not wanting to leave :)

Bernetta was just wonderful, the location was ideal, the room was great and the breakfast was delectable.

I will stay here again and I would definitely reccomend it to my friends and family.

  • Liked — The Location and the charming atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drag0nflyL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2008

i'd like to move in and stay here forever! the house and grounds are so beautiful and welcoming and so is bernetta! I have stayed here many times with my dog, who loves the place as much as i do. we wake up to an unbelievable 5 course gourmet breakfast, her buttermilk pancakes topped with blueberries and fresh whipped cream are beyond delicious. There's even a little bacon and sausage for my pup! Then we walk to the lake, picnic basket in tow, for a beautiful day of swimming, kayaking and sunning. my NYC dog is now an expert swimmer! I have trouble
pulling myself away from the house and pool, but if you want to go hiking at Minnewaska State Park or biking the rail trail from Gardiner to New Paltz, or rock climbing at the "Gunks", you're only minutes away! i can't wait to sit around the fire and watch the leaves change color..........

  • Liked — the peaceful ambiance of the b & b
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

I have stayed at Bernetta's Place many times over the past year and a half and have never been disappointed. Anytime my husband and I want to get out of Manhattan we book a weekend with Bernetta, bring our dog and have a great time. The B&B is about a 2-hour drive from the city and sits at the base of the Shawangunk Mountains. There is a lot to do if you're looking for outdoor activities - hiking, rock climbing, cycling, swimming, running - or if you just want to hang out in a hammock and read it's perfect for that, too. Bernetta is the ultimate hostess, making you feel comfortable in every way from the way she decorates her beautiful home to her delicious gourmet breakfasts (go to breakfast HUNGRY.) Everything is warm and welcoming in an un-fussy way. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the wraparound porch is SO relaxing and the yard is big and fun for the dogs to run around in. There's a great little lake just a few minute's walk from the house which is nice to visit. There are also some great restaurants in nearby New Paltz, some of which are dog-friendly. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Liked — The hostess, the relaxed atmosphere and the food.
  • Disliked — There's actually nothing I didn't like.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYPhotogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2008

This would be an incedible B&B without its pet-friendly policy, but bringing our dog along made this a perfect week-end getaway from New York City. After the delicious, huge breakfast, be sure to walk to the nearby lake for a swim or kayak ride in the cool, clear lake waters. The ability to barbeque there or dine out in a range of nearby restaurants offers choices for every diner and budget. Our family split between reading on one of the front porch swings or walking in the mountains.

Bernetta is an interesting woman and the ultimate hostess. Her attention to every detail of your stay means our family--including the dog--will return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadyNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2008

if your looking for a GREAT place to spend a day or two and your in the area,stop and check out this wounderful B&B. Bernetta makes you feel right at home with elagant conversation ,top notch acommadations to a breakfast that you will not soon forget. I can t say enough good things about this place,other than can t wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank redneckNorthernNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallkill
4.2 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
149 reviews
14.8 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn At The Ridge
Inn At The Ridge
#3 of 4 in Wallkill
92 reviews
10.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
9.1 mi away
Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake

Property: Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake
Address: 12 Calderone Dr, Wallkill, NY 12589-3337
Location: United States > New York > Wallkill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wallkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bernetta's Place B&B is a pet friendly inn located close to all the major areas near Mohonk, Minnewaska and in New Paltz. It offers all the country that you would want. There's a 22 acre lake that you can walk to, enjoy the view of the Shawangunk mountains. Rent kayaks or have a picnic basket made up for your relaxing time at the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing