We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Overall Lovely Experience”
Review of Wainscott Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wainscott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wainscott Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Wainscott B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed 10 days from Aug 2-11 at Wainscott Inn and we are already booked to return soon! Our accommodation this trip was a cottage which was suitable for my family (my husband and I have a 9-month old baby). The little kitchenette worked perfectly with a nice size fridge - we didn't use the microwave though know that there is one there for convenience if you are bringing meals back to your room. Plenty of places to eat nearby - Poxabogue (golf course) has an excellent greasy spoon breakfast and to the other direction is "Twice Upon a Bagel" plus a few restaurants and a seafood shop for lunches and dinners.

The pool was perfect and never too crowded, in fact we seemed to have it to ourselves at times. As far as walking anywhere, you'll need a car or bicycle -- or you can walk to nearby places however there are no sidewalks and remember this is right along Montauk hwy which is one lane in each direction.

WiFi seemed decent as did cable. The owners were friendly and hospitable and made us feel at home and especially gave the baby some attention!

Oh, the weekend breakfasts in the main building were excellent - great spread with fresh fruit as well as pastries and toast, coffee and juices. Thanks again Jim and Steve and see you soon!

Room Tip: Rooms further back from road or rooms in main house quieter than cottages which are at front closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roxipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 58 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wainscott Inn is a wonderful place to stay at. The owners are so friendly and hospitable you feel like you are at home!!!
Clean and cosy, the grounds are impeccable and it's a home away from home!!! Strongly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Affordable, convenient and nice spread for breakfast, as promised make this place a little better than average. Road noise, thin mattress and HUGE ants, TV up to the ceiling, and thin walls make this place below average. Owners are not helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My sisters and I stay at this Inn every summer, we were there early this month and just had a great time. We love the location, accommodations, its clean, quiet and cozy. The owners are so hospitable, just really down to earth people. Look forward to next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Wainscott Inn and had a terrific time. Steve and his Bro share the desk and maint duties and both are very personable and capable. The room was large, updated, and clean. Continental breakfast was very adequate and very good coffee. Just far enough out of East Hampton (2 mi) to avoid the traffic jam. The guys were certainly knowledgeable about the area and provided some good tips. Great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Was there for 3 nights. Room was fine, clean. Like staying at a friend's house. Mattress was too hard for my taste but my husband liked it. Nice continental breakfast in the weekend. Pool area was good except they should get normal size pool towels (ones they provided were tiny & you needed 2 or 3 per chaise). Also would suggest they keep it open at night, and light it up so there is a place to hang out at the hotel with friends when you get back from dinner. We were there with 2 other couples, and there was nowhere at the hotel for us all to sit when we got back at night. Would def stay there again though (we were in main building, not cottages, don't know about those).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girlnextstore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My friend and I rented a studio at the Wainscott for a girls' trip/vacation. Pulling up to the property, my first impression was how pretty the grounds were. The owners were very friendly and accommodating when we checked in. We opted for a studio, which is separate from the main building. My first impression on walking in was how bright and clean the room was. We went to the various beaches during our stay, but on one of the days we chose to use the pool. It was fantastic! Comfy lounge chairs, and as an added bonus, the pool was heated. LOVED it. The location is excellent, service was great, and the continental breakfast that was available on the weekend was yummy! All sorts of fresh fruit and pastries, cereal, bagels, etc. We're already planning a return trip! To be fair to this Inn, some of the negative comments all seem to be coming from the same family that rented a block of rooms in July. Rather than trust those comments, I suggest you give the place a chance!!!! Excellent for the price!!!!

Room Tip: If traffic noise is bothersome to you, choose a room off the main road. Not a problem for us, thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wainscott Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainscott Inn

Address: 3720 Montauk Highway, Wainscott, NY 11975
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Wainscott
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wainscott
Price Range: $95 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, The Wainscott Inn is more than a summer resort, allowing guests to enjoy the ambiance that each season brings to the Hamptons. Our central location to Southampton, Water Mill, Bridgehampton, East Hampton, Amagansett and Sag Harbor provides guests the opportunity to enjoy the pleasures of these nearby villages. Visit wineries, ocean beaches, farms, art galleries, antique shops, boutiques, historical landmarks, theaters, museums, restaurants, or take the ferry to Shelter or Block Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wainscott Hotel Wainscott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing