We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic venue”

Review of Elms Farmhouse

Elms Farmhouse - Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elms Farmhouse - Front
Elms Farmhouse - Rear Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Elms Farmhouse - Front
Elms Farmhouse - Rear
Swimming Pool
Elms Farmhouse - Kitchen west view
Elms Farmhouse - Lounge
Breakfast room / Children's room
Master double bedroom 1
Master bathroom
Family ensuite bedroom
Family ensuite bathroom
Triple bedroom
Green rear double bedroom
Mid rear double bedroom
Downstairs double bedroom 1
Downstairs double bedroom 2
Attic double bedroom
Front twin bedroom
Stairs and Hallway
Elizabethan passage
Games room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Wangford, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Went to court to get back deposit and compensation”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The owner/manager of this property would only return my deposit and pay compensation if I signed a non disclosure agreement - i.e. I didn't tell anyone about what happened and the service I received. Perhaps that's why there aren't any bad reviews here?
For us, it was a broken down boiler - in January! Sometimes things go wrong and that's understandable but I believe it is how they are dealt with that sets apart good and bad service.
We argued for a while about the level of compensation but to resolve the issue I agreed to their lower offer. They then said they would only pay it if I signed the non disclosure agreement. From this point I found they were trying to intimidate me with phrases and actions like 'legally trained' and a time bound offer for compensation. They have not been at all nice to deal with after the event.
I will not deal with this owner/manager again following their behaviour but if you're going, I found the fire in the lounge returned a lot of smoke to the room and even after the boiler repair, the house never really got warm so if you're going over winter, take plenty of warm clothes.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2017
This client did suffer a major malfunction to the heating system during their stay which was rectified as quickly as possible (3 callouts in the first 18 hours of occupation, resulting in 1 night without heat - and free logs and back up heaters installed).
We offered a very reasonable sum of money for compensation but the client refused to accept the offer and demanded over twice the sum, stating that, unless we accepted his figure, he would leave negative feedback on various websites. We refused to be intimidated by his demands and the matter ended up in Court. The Judge agreed that the figure we offered was the correct one and this figure (our original offer) was duly paid to the client immediately.
I feel our experience with this client, highlights a major issue with 'feedback' forums. They can be used by unscrupulous people to apply extreme pressure onto decent folk in order to get large refunds. We stood our ground and were vindicated by the Court.
On a further note regarding the smoking chimney. The client failed to light the fire correctly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeansam20...
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you require a large property to hold a special celebration or just for a large/friends holiday, then you could not do better then Elms Farmhouse. The location is rural but not far from Southwold and other interesting places. The added amenity of a pool and games room are a treat, my children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren loved the pool, the older guests enjoyed the games room. The kitchen was more than capable of handling all requirements. The bedrooms were excellent and there were no problems with bathrooms. All in all a wonderful property for large parties. Will certainly visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So much space, quiet places, mingling places, dining room exceptional.
Liked least: The feeling of so much space.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaGoAnn...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Christmas weekend gathering with friends”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

As our group of friends has grown with new partners and children, we needed somewhere spectacular to get together for a Christmas party.

This property suited us perfectly. Room for everyone and all ages (18months upward) and one family labrador dog. The dining room was festive with the large christmas tree and perfect for our big Saturday night meal. Throughout the weekend there was baking being created and decorated in the kitchen and small dining room. Walks in the countryside, visits to Southwold, swimming in the heated pool and pool matches in the games room… as well as substantial chilling out with the fire lit and bottles of wine!

Excellently appointed house with plenty of space to be together or find some quiet time. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need, the pantry a great place to keep dry food and two of everything else (fridge, freezer, kettle, toaster etc etc). Comfiest mattresses and duck down duvets with great linen sheets.

There is a big bedroom downstairs and downstairs loo, so depending on disabilities this property would work.

We will definitely be doing this again next year...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The variety of usable space for our big party
Liked least: The weekend was over :-(
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie A
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a great time away here celebrating my husbands 40 th birthday. We had a wide range of ages and the layout of rooms was perfect for us. The kitchen was great and had everything we could need and the swimming pool was a real hit with the children.
Thanks for a great stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend in this beautiful house!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We celebrated a 70th birthday with 14 family members. The house was fantastic! A great size for all of us. We were blessed with lovely weather so made great use of the garden and the pool. Would definitely recommend this property.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing House, Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We returned from Elms Farmhouse yesterday and had to write this glowing review this morning. We were a party of 5 families with children 1yr-6yrs. The house is amazing, large rooms, huge garden and of course the swimming pool. The photos really don't do it justice, the house is large enough to forget that you are in a large group and you can always catch a moment of peace somewhere. The children weren't bored once, with swimming, hide and seek and just generally being together in such a safe and exciting setting was a blast for them and i'm sure they'll remember it for a long time. We are already planning a return trip.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliaDiam...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot and sorry to leave”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Have just returned from a lovely weekend stay at the Elms Farmhouse. Loved it! So many nooks and crannies to explore...spacious yet warm and cosy with an inviting atmosphere. I managed to completely relax, even though we were in a large group. Our hosts made us feel welcome with extra touches, like the spectacular Christmas tree in the dining room, and the games that we had great fun playing each evening. I want to return in the summer and make the most of the gorgeous grounds and swimming pool.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing