We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
153
88
18
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
153
88
18
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub excellent meal selection of beers scampi varied menu cooked to perfection suffolk pubs adnams
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 281 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2019 via mobile

We went on a Monday evening and was pleased to sea a busy pub/ restaurant. We ate in the pub area as the restaurant was full

The service was attentive and the food was excellent with a varied menu

My wife is gluten free and they looked after her requirements very well

I’d recommend this restaurant.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank TimCotterall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

3 of us came on Friday night for a relaxing meal after booking a table. We stopped at the bar on the way to the restaurant and asked for a drink. My 25 year old daughter asked for a glass of wine. She was asked for ID which she didn't have so was told she couldn't have a drink. We said she was 25 and so the barmaid asked the manager. The manager was very brusque and aggressively said no. We then went to our table where we googled the age you could drink alcohol with a meal. We ordered our meal and asked a very helpful waitress if we could have a drink for my daughter. She said yes and was going to suggest it herself if we hadn't. Why didn't the aggressive manager check whether we were eating before refusing to serve us? It put a real damper on the evening. The food was great and the rest of the staff were lovely. The restaurant was expensive but we did enjoy it.

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

So the best burger I had in the last decade was made for me by a TV chef who has a lisp and an Essex accent. Today it was equalled by the new owners of The Angel Inn at Wangford. Tremendous couple. Incredible food. Better kept Adnams beer than vast majority of Southwold pubs 2 miles away. Hats off that’s made my week. Fantastic. Well done. New rooms sorted later in the summer. Can’t wait.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank adamnicoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

Had a really lovey meal here this evening,great food, great service ,very nice friendly staff it's local to us ,sowe will definitely be back.
The food was delicious,good portions and nicely presented
Such an improvement

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

What a lovely visit to The Angel today. The two staff members that were working were so very friendly, helpful and cheerful. The food was very nice and it was served quickly and with a smile. Well worth a visit.. Well done The Angel, We enjoyed our time here.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Pedders75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews