We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in the Area”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Angel Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed in a cottage in Reydon for a week, just down the road from Wangford, and tried a few different places for dinner during the week. Avoid some of the stuffy pubs (with added trouble of locating a parking space!) in Southwold and head straight to The Angel. The food is lovely with great choice and Christine & Peter are great hosts. Made to feel so welcome and relaxed by the fire (in May!) with suggestions for days out due to inclement weather! Ended up spending four very enjoyable evenings at The Angel - just wished we'd still been there for Christine's Birthday Cocktail Party!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollydaisy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 259 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

This old Inn not far from Southwold is a perfect location for a foray into Suffolk - we visited the Inn for 1 week in April 2013 to be close to relatives in Lowestoft & Oulton Broad - a perfect location.
We were greeted by Peter and shown our room - each of the 7 rooms has a name synonymous with the area - we were in the Brampton room - we had asked for a quiet room but ended up above the bar but since we were present in the bar most evenings this wasn't an issue and we were offered a room change once another room had become available - next time though we'll plump for the Southwold room having seen this choice while we were staying - but all the rooms were spacious, very clean with beautiful features.
What we loved about this Hotel/Inn was all the little 'extras' - the pillows were of two sizes & firmness to suit all needs; the towels were large enough and soft enough, the breakfast choices were good - but ask for what you want - don't expect it - if you want 2 of everything just ask! Even the brown sauce and the marmalade/jams were a bit special.
The food was superb - we ate in the bar most evenings - a couple of times we didn't want a full meal so we were offered a choice of snacks to suit our needs - this was much appreciated.
Now for the beers, wines and spirits (and mixers) - what a choice! Again things are a little special - a superb gin - The Botanist - we've had to go and buy a bottle for home it was soooo good, 4 ales with a guest beer in summer, a very good list of wines to suit all tastes - again we found a favourite and stuck with this most evenings.
Every member of staff was very friendly and this made our stay very enjoyable - we'll be looking to stay there the next time we are visiting the area - what more can you advise than that.

Room Tip: If you have a room at the front of the Inn you may hear the people outside but we had no problem wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just had one night at this Inn, in the Southwold room. From the moment we arrived the owners could not be more welcoming, as were all the staff and locals. Spent a very pleasant few hours chatting and drinking in the bar. Close to Southwold and its beautiful walks, sites :)
Would not hesitate recommending this to friends, lots of up and coming attractions at the Inn
Thanks Peter and Christine

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We can't understand about the unwelcoming staff reviews, we thought the owners and all the bar staff were very friendly. We had a great deal with Groupon, £58 for 2 nights B & B with a bottle of wine!!! As said before the beers are very well kept, good choice of wine plus a choice of unusual Scotch and Gin. Food was very good, but I have to say it was a bit a wait for it. Breakfast good and not to much of a wait. A car is a must as the last bus into Southwold is around 6pm. The pub is dog friendly and relies on a mixture of locals and visitors to the area. We would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hockleyshetlandpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had heard some good review about this pub but were bitterly disappointed with our visit.
We were made to feel uncomfortable when we visited, almost to Royston Vasey levels.
The food was average and service fair, the only saving grace was the beer which elevated this review to a poor
Would avoid this like the plague, there are better places in the area

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scribimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here on the night of our wedding...in the Contemporary room because it had a beautiful bath which it does but the room itself was stuffy and felt small and overstuffed.

We had to call down for tooth brushes and paste, none of the staff offered any good wishes knowing it was a wedding night, would I go back, not really, I felt it was overpriced & overrated.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

It was just lovely. We had the four-poster room with en suite as a birthday get-away and it was lovely.
Plus points -beautiful rooms, beautiful location, a bus ride away from Southwold, delicious, high quality food, this range of good beers, friendly staff, good facilities.

Downsides- tricky to get to on public transport, everything (including the pub itself until 1pm) is closed on a Sunday and there are no buses, there was a band playing on Saturday night that you could still hear in the rooms but they were a good band.

I would recommend this place to anyone as a base for a weekend away though it is probably more convenient for drivers.

Room Tip: The four-poster Southwold Suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TagineDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wangford
2.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
352 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
409 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
745 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
803 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: 39 High Street, Wangford NR34 8RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Wangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wangford
Price Range: $103 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing