We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Kitchen/diner with french doors leading to private garden and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/diner with french doors leading to private garden and patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Kitchen/diner with french doors leading to private garden and patio
Living room
Living room
View from living room
Double bedroom with ensuite and wonderful, uninterrupted views of the countryside.
View from bedroom
Twin bedded room over looking the private garden
Family bathroom
Family bathroom
Private pathway to front door of cottage
Patio area to rear of cottage
Garden Cottage
Private pathway to Garden Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wangford, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janette W
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just stayed at garden cottage whilst visiting suffolk for fireworks at Hveringham Hall. Perfect location just off A12. Fantastic cottage, with everything we needed. Very helpful and friendly owners. Perfect location for Southwold, Minsmere and popping into Norfolk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No measuring jug to measure milk for porridge. ..we improvised not a problem!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2016
Hello again Janette and Alan. Thank you very much for your lovely review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a mud free fireworks evening - I wish I'd come with you now. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nattyb90
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Peaceful cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved our stay at Garden Cottage! The property was beautifully decorated with attention to detail in the perfect setting near to Southwold. Sharon & Richard who hosted us were more than accommodating and very welcoming so we will definitely be staying again. I can't recommend this place enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2016
Well what a wonderful review - thank you very much. It was a pleasure having you stay here and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIGGLES78
BIGGLESWADE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended excellent away from it all retreat”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just spent 3 nights at Garden Cottage,hosts Sharon & Richard very welcoming, must say the cottage is tastefully decorated throughout, clean, bright, very well equipped with everything you could possibly need, located down a very quiet lane, no traffic noise, overlooking fields to the front, private garden to rear, ideally located for visiting several local landmarks Southwold, Aldeburgh, Lowestoft,
EXCELLENT A********

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of property, peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
What a wonderful review you've given us and we thank you very much for that. We're so glad you had such a good time and enjoyed the cottage - it was lovely to have you stay here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Companion...
1 review
“Lovely lovely lovely”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Excellent, clean, sylish and friendly host's a great place to stay, would recommend for a long or short break

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write us a review and I'm really chuffed with the word 'stylish' - always a welcome word - thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgl1001
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay (again) highly recommended”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We never go to the same place twice but this is the exception. Accommodation is great, owners are really nice and best of all its peaceful - we have two young children and they love it. Rooms are large, with loads of equipment in the kitchen.

Wangford is great with the Angel Pub good. Southwold is a few minutes down the road, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Hello to your lovely family. It's a pleasure to have you stay in the cottage and thank you so much for taking the trouble to write the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew87...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family (3 adults, 2 children) stayed at the Garden Cottage for a week in July.
We had a wonderful holiday and a major part of that was the Garden Cottage. We found this accomodation to be exceptional; clean, modern and with excellent access to Southwold and surrounding areas. The owners were extremely welcoming and helped us get the most out of our stay without being intrusive. We would definately like to return to Garden Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is hard to beat - but the Cottage itself is also hard to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Hello again Matthew and family.
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write us a lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and look forward to seeing you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace C
1 review
“Comfortable well appointed property”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Well located for North Suffolk attractions. Owner clearly takes pride in its presentation and in ensuring guests needs are met.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
Thank you Wallace and Glenise. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in with us and got to enjoy some of the best weather in the country that week - we'll forget about the rain!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing