We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 1st trip in....”
Review of Joey's Pasta House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Joey's Pasta House
Ranked #41 of 89 Restaurants in Victor
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
266 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Excellent 1st trip in....”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Was a big fan of the old Giovanni's when it first opened and could never understand why it went so downhill shortly thereafter. Based on some of the reviews of the Joey's II I was a little nervous and came away very pleasantly surprised. Alyssa our server was great, good sense of humor and tolerated my questions nicely. Chicken Terra Mare was excellent, great sauce. My wife got the gnocchi and loved it. Had a nice fairly inexpensive $26 bottle of of Ravenswood Zen of Zin Zinfandel, outstanding. Based on previous reviews about being too crowded with too many tables scrunched in, not sure about that, I guess they could take a couple away, but I didn't find that all a big deal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarkvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Plus minus review”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This place is packed all the time....which is great for business but not always comfortable for diners. Despite having a reservation and the presence of several available dining tables that would accommodate our group, the host insisted on seating us at a high top at the bar. (As in we asked for one of the available tables instead and he said no. He told us that we should have indicated our table preference when we made the reservation. How silly of me to expect an actual table for a dinner reservation.) The bar was crowded so we were surrounded by bar patrons. The waitress knocked my purse off of the back of my chair several times and didn't even notice. The table was too small for dinner service and we were in danger of knocking each other's dishes off of the table. The food was good with one exception. The linguine in clam sauce comes with very little linguine....like about a quarter of a cup. Other entree portions were adequate. We were served within a reasonable period of time and the waitress was fine. Don't go without a reservation and, unless you like a cramped dining experience, don't let them seat you in the bar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

a group of 10 went here for a celebration. The service started as good and the food was very good. They have squeezed so many more tables in here that everywhere is TOO close and too tight for the service to work when busy. We were at the table for 2 hours before 8 of the meals came and then another half hour for the other two meals to appear. Manager never once came to the table when asked, so we went looking. Never apologized, took 2 late meals off the bill and then delivered two bills, each with all meals still on it and two different totals. Finally got the right bill and overall VERY UNHAPPY.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fire20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had early reservations for Saturday before Mother's Day, there were eight of us. Our server Alissa was fabulous and very attentive. We had apps for the table, calamari the antipasto platter, they were fantastic. I had the special which was Sea Bass Risotto - outstanding! We had the chocolate cake and a couple of cannoli's for dessert to share and they were delish. The only problem we had, was we had a 3 year old with us and asked for macaroni and cheese for her - it was terrible - really over spiced - she couldn't eat it and I tasted it as well, it was awful! They really need to learn how to make a meal for children.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Delaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

we enjoyed a very nice dinner. The chicken French was nice and tender. eggplant French was delish. very nice selection of salad dressings. Ben our server was very attentive and efficient. Our one complaint is that something needs to give when it comes to the parking. when you go there for dinner you should be able to find a reasonable parking spot [ even more so when you have reservations ].

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkin1196969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey's Pasta House also viewed

 
Victor, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Joey's Pasta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing