We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food-Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of India House

India House
Ranked #44 of 89 Restaurants in Victor
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food-Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love the food at India House. Service is fast and friendly. Ambiance could be enhanced by breaking up the expansive dining room into smaller sections as it's rarely full. Overall, great place for a quick Indian bite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in Victor.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went for dinner and had a great meal. My husband usually comes here every time he's in Victor for business and always enjoys it. The interior is not fancy, but fine. Staff was friendly and attentive. Food was great and not expensive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank katdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Horrible unsafe food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I went in for the buffet a week ago. Food was cold, and overcooked or maybe old?

I went around 1 pm so maybe it's decent at 1130am. Still unacceptable. The only Indian restaurant I've visited that has cold nasn on the buffet and doesn't serve it fresh.

We picked at a few things then got nervous about the safety of the food and left paying over $10 per person.

I would not return to this place ever. But hey maybe dinner is fresh and the buffet is leftovers from yesterday's dinner service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
172 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Love the food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Consistently great Indian food- aroma greats you at the door. Love the chole, chicken vindaloo and chicken curry+garlic naan. Ambiance is vacuous- doesn't matter food is so great. Coupons easily found online or in local saver books. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teachersms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,901 reviews
1,916 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
“Very nice Indian food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We first started going to India House because we became disgruntled with our previous favorite Indian restaurant, which was in the city. India House has quickly become our new favorite, as it features wonderful food at attractive prices.

The building itself is not particularly attractive...it feels like you are inside a large office room, with windows all around. However, the owner has decorated the place to give it some degree of authenticity. But the food more than makes up for the lack of decor. They offer a wide variety of meat, chicken, rice, and seafood dishes that they alter base on your own personal preferences. The naan bread is always wonderful, and they turn out a GREAT biryani, (my favorite is the shrimp), which will fill you up, even you are a big eater.

I was impressed with their versatility, because on my last trip there I wanted shrimp saag, even though it wasn't on the menu. No problem...they produced a GREAT saag in no more than 10-15 minutes. Wonderful!

All told, this is a very nice place to go, with very little waiting time, for some outstanding Indian food.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India House also viewed

 
Victor, Finger Lakes
Victor, Finger Lakes
 

Been to India House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing