We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, but weird pet policy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Victor
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, but weird pet policy”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a really nice Best Western hotel. The rooms were much more spacious than a regular Best Western and the staff are super-friendly. They have carts for your luggage which was a nice benefit, and they also have an elevator, as well as a decent breakfast buffet. There are also a couple of restaurants within walking distance and it is really convenient off of the interstate. Now for the negative part. I called the hotel to ask if their pet policy would cover cats. They said that the pet policy covered pets up to 30 pounds, so my cat would be fine. When I arrived, the person at the front desk said that the pet policy really only covers small dogs, but not cats (?). I was worried that they would turn me away, but he said that they could put me in a room, but it would have to be a smoking room. I just can't at all figure out the logic to that. I hate the smell of smoke and I can't imagine that was great for my 20-year old cat to breathe that, but what could I do? So, I stayed and endured the smell. I would have given this hotel an excellent rating if it weren't for that. It doesn't make any sense to me. Other than that, it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jchap2403, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,


I want to first thank you for your time reviewing our hotel. Secondly, I would like to apologize about any miscommunication that occurred in regards to the pet policy. We only except dogs under 30 pounds. I know there has been cases where cats have sprayed/ marked the room and the smell is extremely hard to get out and quite potent. Normally, we will refuse service to any guests with cats. This is the reason we placed you into a smoking room, so that if your cat did spray/ mark the room we could prevent a non-smoking room from being damaged.

From all of us at the Best Western Plus - Victor, we wish you and your cat a very prosperous and happy new year. Thank you.



Justin A Chapman, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    187
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
296
212
40
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williston, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a great hotel for travellers along the New York thruway. It was convenient from the exit ramp. The rooms were ample sized, very clean and comfortable. The beds were especially comfortable. The wall thermostat controlled the heating/ac unit more comfortably than those that are controlled by dials on the unit. There was a nice flat screen TV with all the stations you could require. The wifi was easy to connect to. The breakfast was a hot breakfast with scrambled eggs and sausage today. It was better than average for a hotel free breakfast but not as good as a restaurant breakfast. The sausage was a bit spicey for my taste. The front desk staff were cheerful, efficient and helpful. There are a number good chain restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dave210Sandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jchap2403, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to review our hotel. We really appreciate all your kind words about the hotel and the staff. We strive to make sure each guest leaves with a smile and we are pleased we achieved this during your most recent stay.

We wish you the best of luck in 2013 and hope to see you again soon.

Until then...


Truly,


Justin A Chapman, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was a perfect location for my family holiday visits. The staff were wonderful; especially Patrick who made us feel so welcome! The Jacuzzi was a perfect end to the day!
And breakfast was a good start.
Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ROSEMARIE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Victor in December, 2012. We spent 7 days at Best Western Plus Victor and our stay was way above our expectations. The manager Michael Hernandez was extremely nice and helpful. He upgraded our room for free and gave us directions to places whenever we needed . Our suite was super clean, spacious, safe, cozy and comfortable.

Breakfast is great - you can make your own waffles every morning. You don't want to miss that! Nancy, a very friendly lady who made breakfast during our stay, makes sure everything is to your liking.

Cleaning staff won't enter your room unless you authorize it by placing a tag on your door knob. The only downside: sometimes we could smell cigarrette smoke in the hallway (although NEVER in our room) - that is the one thing they should work on, but other than that, our stay was perfect.

There are restaurants within walking distance: Wendy's, Denny's, Chilli's. In any case, Eastview Mall is a 3 min-drive away from the hotel. Totally worth the visit.

We highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose any of the suites. They are huge and comfortable. Preferably away from elevator to avoid nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gg_hanami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jchap2403, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Traveler,


We are so pleased that you choose our hotel for your stay in December. Nancy and Michael are highly trained to make sure all our guests are well taken care of. As far as, the smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway, we are quite aware this is an issue. We do have 6 smoking rooms and at times some of the smoke from those rooms will escape into the hallway. We try out best to prevent this from happening; however at times smoke can leak out. We are however evaluating the cost and feasibility of converting the smoking rooms to non-smoking. Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback.

Until next time...


Justin A Chapman, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend - was doing some Christmas shopping in the area. Michael at the front desk was so personable and caring. And, wasn't just going through the motions, either. Kind of refreshing. Everything in this place is simply spotless. Parking is free and there's tons of it. Great, soft towels. LOVED the water pressure in the shower. A well-maintained property for sure. Nice groundskeeping too. The breakfast was excellent - many, many choices. The lovely young woman working to keep all the food replenished and top quality was well-spoken and enthusiastic. If you're in the area, this is an excellent choice. FYI, I paid $89.99 plus tax for a room with two queen beds, refrigerator and microwave. Lots of space to move around - the room actually felt huge. We were on the first floor. Whoever did the hiring for this hotel did a fantastic job! Great experience. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie9264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jchap2403, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,


I want to thank you for your kind words. It is our goal at this hotel to make sure each and every stay is a memorable one. I always explain to the staff, sometimes travelers do not want to deal with customer service representatives, they want to deal with people. We focus on that motto, "People helping people". I will make sure to tell Michael and the staff that they accomplished this for your stay. We hope that you and your family have a prosperous new year.

Until next time...


Justin A Chapman, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was staying for 2 nights with a friend and my 9 year old son plus our 5 dogs for a flyball tournament in the area.

Check in was smooth and without any issues. The room was clean and had plenty of space for the people and the dogs.

The pool was pretty small and so was the hot tub but it was clean and perfect for us.

The breakfast was great and we especially enjoyed making and eating the waffles!

There were only a few issues during the weekend, the remote control didn't work so we had go get new batteries, house keeping did not come on Saturday so we had to go get fresh towels to be able to shower in the morning. Our room was right next to the stairs and there were some very noisy people on Saturday night running up and down the stairs which was really annoying.

Also the sleeper couch was extremely uncomfortable and you could feel the springs poking in the back all night.

Overall it was a nice hotel but with some minor annoyances.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jchap2403, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Traveler,


I am so happy you were able to enjoy the waffles at our breakfast. We get many inquiries as to where we get our batter and waffle maker. I am also glad you folks enjoyed the pool as well. I wanted to apologize for not meeting your expectations in housekeeping as well as the functionality of the remote control and pull out sofa. We hope that these issues will not prevent you from staying with us again, so that we may have the opportunity to deliver a quality experience.

We hope you have a prosperous new year!


Truly,


Justin A Chapman, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The only reason this was not excelent was the bathroom of the person next to us. Must not have lined up corrctly because in the morning felt like when they flushed the toilet it was in out room. No other sounds - so invest in quieter toilets and it would be excelent.
I will stay here again - try another number not 235

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JOHN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jchap2403, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Traveler,


I wanted to let you know we are looking at the toilet in room 235 to inspect the parts to make sure they are in working order. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you while staying at our hotel. We eagerly await your next arrival so can we deliver a quality guest experience.

Until then...


Justin A Chapman, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Victor/Rochester
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester/Victor
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Victor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Rochester - Victor
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Farmington
236 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/Pittsford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites
Address: 7449 State Route 96, Victor, NY 14564
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Victor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Victor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victor, NY hotel offers abundant amenities, welcoming staff, spacious rooms, and a location near Finger Lakes Gaming Casino, Casa Larga Vineyard, Johnson Controls and Qioptia. The luxurious, clean rooms at this Victor hotel offer high-speed Internet access, cable or satellite television with in room movies, a refrigerator, a microwave, a coffeemaker and much more. Fill up before you head out - this Victor, NY hotel provides a delicious complimentary full, hot breakfast. Relax in the indoor heated pool and hot tub at this Victor hotel. Many guests also delight in the 24-hour business center, massage services, children's activities, 24-hour exercise facility, a nightly evening reception and meeting facilities that accommodate up to 25 attendees. Call today about scheduling your next meeting at the Victor Inn. For an affordable and memorable visit to Victor, NY, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victor Inn & Suites today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victor Hotel Victor
Best Western Plus Victor Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing