We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vestal
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We have stayed at this Hampton Inn on several occasions and would recommend it to others. As is typical with most of our trips to budget hotels like Hampton Inn, we don't spend much time in the hotel while we're there. We arrive in town for an event and just use the hotel as a bedroom and, sometimes, a quick and easy breakfast provider. This hotel is always clean, never crowded, and the breakfast area, while typical of the Hampton Inn chain, is clean and tidy and the fruit is fresh. Advantages of this location: right on 434, very near a Uhaul location, very close to many restaurants and shopping areas. One thing I will point out about the location: it's located at the top of a fairly steep hill that you have to drive up from 434. When you look at a map of the location where the hotel is it might seem like you could walk down the driveway to IHOP and other nearby businesses. This is definitely doable ... unless you are visiting during a typical NY winter, in which case you might be taking your life in your hands walking down the hill. Just passing that along!

I can highly recommend the Plaza Diner for both breakfast and dinner (about 1/4 mile away on 434 and across the street from the Hampton Inn). We have eaten there many times and the food is always very good and affordable, and the service is fast. If you arrive in the area on a Saturday night the other local restaurants (Unos, Texas Road House, Outback) all had a 90+ minute wait for a table. You can walk right into the Plaza Diner, maybe wait 5 minutes for a table. Your choice!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverCityMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    132
    44
    15
    6
See reviews for
235
78
22
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I've stayed here numerous times over the last few years. The rooms are always clean, the staff is pleasant, and the breakfast area is well attended.

The hotel hasn't been on top of maintaining the rooms. I came back to the room to find that the safety lock had been mostly pulled away from the door. It seemed that someone had tried to shove the door open. Likely in the previous stay. It was concerning because I wasn't sure how long ago someone tried to shove the door open and why no one had fixed it.

The front desk moved us to a room down the hall and upgraded us to a bigger room. It didn't really matter to me that we got the upgrade because we're not staying in a resort or a big city. I mentioned to the manager in the morning that they should replace the lock and what happened. All she said was "I heard and sorry." But she didn't seem to show real concern.

It's not an amazing stay and it's not the most terrible. I can see this hotel getting below average. With the new hotels coming in down the road on Vestal Parkway, they're going to have alot of competition.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieS212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparta, new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

When we arrived on Friday and went to check in there was a gentleman also waiting to check in. After approximately 6 to 8 minutes the desk clerk came out from the back and greeted neither one of us. He took the other persons information who was later learned to be checking out, and then took my information for check in. No personality no greeting no nothing, a computer would have had more personality. Typical Hampton Inn, room was fine, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was typical Hampton Inn. they just need better customer service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherbert32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton, ma
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is "our home away from home" in Binghamton when visiting family. The staff is consistently friendly, facilities neat and clean and all you could ask for from a Hampton. We arrived late and received the "last room" which was still very good. Only thing that would be better--2 Queen beds instead of doubles and better eggs in the am. Other than that, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Location is quiet, which I appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn when moving our daughter into Binghamton U. The room was very clean and the complimentary breakfast looked ok. Could have been a little better attended by the hotel staff. Only one employee working it, so everything depleted very quickly. Their bagged breakfast to go is a very nice touch.

The only negative I will say is that the block of smoking rooms on our floor was set in between the non smoking ones. When walking down the hallway it was noticeable. Once in our room, however, we did not smell smoke at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYlove4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I stayed here with my daughter in July for her Freshman orientation at University of Binghamton. We drove down the night before and found it easily off the express way. It is perched up high on a hill right on the main drag which includes every restaurant and store you could imagine. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet and that's a huge plus. The staff was helpful when we asked directions to various stores and suggestions for restaurants. I stayed alone the second night while my daughter was on campus and all was well. Two small observations. One the in room movie selection was terrible. Hardly any movies in the line up. Second a large wedding party took over all the outdoor seating everyday I was there and it stunk because I really wanted to relax on the patio with the sunshine. That isn't the hotels fault though. Good breakfast, large eating area and a pool. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to the area.

Room Tip: Excellent for visiting your student at University of Binghamton ..very close
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loridemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here the night before we moved our son into Binghamton University. We arrived late but people were sitting on the patio drinking wine and also on their laptops in the lobby. We were upgraded to a suite which was roomy and clean (though we wish the beds were bigger!) Breakfast was typical Hampton but neat and plentiful with lots of seating space. Best of all, it took us all of 3 minutes to drive onto campus. We're already booked for Family Weekend and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARKHROTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vestal
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Binghamton/Vestal
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Binghamton University
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal
Address: 3708 Vestal Pkwy E, Vestal, NY 13850-2312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Vestal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vestal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Binghamton/Vestal, you're staying with friends. Our hotel is close to many major events and attractions. We have hot breakfast included, an indoor heated pool, high speed wireless internet, and a fitness facility. So, come check into the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel. Our place is yours, whether you're here for business, a show or a game at BU. You'll love our stunning city in the Empire State. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal Hotel Vestal
Hampton Inn And Suites Binghamton / Vestal
Hampton Inn Vestal
Vestal Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing