We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ceilings paper thin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Binghamton
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vestal
Reviewed November 26, 2012

When I entered the suite, I was very impressed by the size. However the guests above my unit dictated my sleep. This location has units above one another and you could hear every foot step, particularly the children. Since the units are suites, there is plenty of room to run and stomp ! This herd of people decided to call it a night around midnight, allowing me to retire for the night but at 5:15am the next morning it was time for everyone around to get up and check out. Ridiculous. I asked the front desk why they would put children on the 2nd floors with such lousy construction. No response

Room Tip: DO NOT take a room on the first floor, especially in building 8. Find another hotel to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRhodesNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinghamtonRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

I’m so sorry you ran into this issue while you were staying with us. I really wished you had phoned the front desk to let us know about the noise so we could have asked the guest to quiet down, as we really do want everyone to feel at home. Unfortunately, we try to accommodate all requests and it is possible that this guest with children requested the second floor. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again so we can show you how comfortable and home-like our hotel can be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 266 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wonderfully convenient to Binghamton University. Very comfortable beds and sitting area. Super clean. Breakfast was okay and there was lots of it. we'll definitely stay again. Delicious hot cookies when we arrived, next door to a strip mall with Starbucks, Chipotle and other stores and a mini-market. Parking a bit tight.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinghamtonRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much for the review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we really hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were greeted upon our arrival (October 8, 2012) with a very hospitable staff. It turns out that all the women we encountered were very friendly & accommodating, but not the gentleman at the front check-in on the morning of our departure. Every person's experience is different, but we found our room to be spacious & beautiful. We had every convenience which included a modern furnished kitchen. In addition to the morning buffet breakfast, we were informed about an early evening light meal on the day of our arrival. We enjoyed delicious home-made chili with other extras. Thank you Deb for your effort in preparing this family recipe for total strangers. I will always remember out stay at this hotel & this special gesture offered to Marriott's guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinghamtonRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I really appreciate the feedback. Deb is a fantastic cook... her chili is to die for! I'm so glad you enjoyed it and so glad that we made your stay so memorable. We hope if you are ever in the area again you will stay with us. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here only one night recently because it's close to SUNY Binghamton and price was reasonable. Breakfast was ok and room was spacious with renovated kitchen and sitting area. FYI, bathrooms are tiny with an attached vanity area. The mattress we had needed a replacement and I think the location of your particular room relates to how "quiet" you stay is and whether it is a weekday or not.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinghamtonRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your response. We really appreciate the feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. On weekends we do tend to have more families inhouse, but we encourage anyone who has any noise complaints to PLEASE let management know as we do have a "Noise Comfort Policy" in effect at ALL times to make sure everyone is comfortable during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I had never stayed at a Residence Inn before, but I was able to stay on points and the big room was an appealing option.

First the good:
Great location! There's tons of stores and restaurants right close by. There's even a Starbucks (with a drive-thru!) in the parking lot next door. It's easy to park right outside your room. I always love that.

The room was huge and immaculate! I was thinking that if I was a single girl I could have happily lived there! There was a very clean full kitchen, a sitting area, a bedroom and a big bathroom. There was even a dishwasher with all the dishes, pots, pans, etc. that you would need.

The free breakfast was DELICIOUS! One of the better free hotel breakfasts that I have been to. Both mornings my husband and I really enjoyed it.

Now the bad:
The bed. Oh the bed. It was one of the worst hotel beds ever. I did not sleep either night. It was an old spring mattress that had a massive divot in the middle. It was like a grizzly bear had hibernated in the bed and left a hole. My husband and I had to sleep on the extreme ends of the bed and steady ourselves so we wouldn't fall into the crevice! I'm making light of it now, but it was just awful.

I know that a lot of people use this sort of hotel for longer term stays, but the public areas felt like we were staying in public housing. Several families treated the property like their own playground. Both days the kids were running all over the property until late at night. They left the property outside their door a MESS. Toys, bikes, sneakers, strollers everywhere. We were constantly climbing over things. One night we came back to the room to a loud party (and I mean a LOUD LOUD party) blaring music and cooking out on a Weber outside their room. The management should have some sort of rules about the common areas. Both nights the people (with children I assume) were loud and running around keeping us up even further. There is zero sound proofing from room to room.

Really it felt like we were staying in a low-income dorm. If the room itself wasn't so nice we would have looked for somewhere else to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maebyfunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinghamtonRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Binghamton, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay was! We appreciate the feedback as it helps us grow as a company.

I did have Maintenance check the mattress after you left and it will be taken care of appropriately. I wish you had stayed a few more nights so we could have gotten you into a more comfortable fit to your liking.

I know you did mention the toys and noise due to some of our guests. Sometimes, we do too good of a job at making people feel right at home! We did address the issue the following day and feel that everyone can feel at ease while staying here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

First time staying a residence inn overall a good experience. Only draw back was room was not cleaned while we out for 8 hours as promised.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleIsland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife, five month old son, and two italian greyhounds stayed at the Residence Inn Marriot in Vestal, N.Y. from 7/2 to 7/4 2012 for my mother funeral. We also had 5 other families come into town for the services, which also stayed at the Residence Inn. Bottom Line Upfront (BLUF): All who stayed said, the stay was "Excellent" and "First Class". My wife and I had a two bedroom sutie that was perfect for our family. There was enough room to spreadout and be comfortable. The staff even had a PACK&PLAY for us to use. We had some much stuff in our car we couldn't bring ours from home. (THANK GOD for the hotels PACK &PLAY). The room was immaculate: Marble counter tops, two queen size beds, and a pull out couch. The internet was wireless and fast, the cable was great...several HBO's and sports channels. The hotel even had great dog run right across the parking lot from our room. The staff was awesome, (Tracy-Front Office Manager, Roselinda-Housekeeping, and Tracy-GM) were all kind,considerate, and gracious during our stay. This was definately like a home away from home. My wife and couldn't not be happier with the staff and amenities. We highly recommend Resdience Inn Vestal/Binghamton. We will stay here every time we go Upstate. Marcus P.

Room Tip: Two Bedrom Suite is like home away from home. Granite counter top, two queen beds, pull out couch, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

We are so sorry for your loss. I'm glad we could help make this tough time a little easier for you. It was great meeting you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again under better circumstances! Thanks so much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vestal
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Binghamton/Vestal
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Binghamton University
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Binghamton
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Binghamton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Binghamton

Address: 4610 Vestal Pkwy E, Vestal, NY 13850-3674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Vestal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vestal
Price Range: $120 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Binghamton 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Binghamton Hotel is an all-suite upscale hotel that provides overnight hotel reservations in the Greater Binghamton New York area. Located just 1 mile from Binghamton University in scenic, lively Broome County, the hotel is situated perfectly for a visit to the area. Conveniently located between Syracuse and Scranton and only 15 miles from the Greater Binghamton Airport, the hotel is easily accessible for all travelers.Our Residence Inn by Marriott® Binghamton hotel is the perfect place to stay while visiting attractions like the Roberson Museum & Science Center, Discovery Center and Broome County Forum. Shuttle service is provided to some nearby businesses and attractions.We are difficult to find! Please see the directions below! A GPS will not always guide you to us. The Residence Inn by Marriott® Binghamton Hotel is an all-suite upscale hotel providing overnight hotel reservations in the Greater Binghamton New York area. Located just 1 mile from Binghamton University in scenic, lively Broome County, the hotel is situated perfectly for a visit to the area. Conveniently located between Syracuse and Scranton and only 13 miles from the Greater Binghamton Airport, the hotel is easily accessible for all travelers. Directions from the Greater Binghamton Airport (BGM):13 miles. Exit the airport on Airport Rd toward Dawes Dr. Make a slight right to merge onto RT-17 W and then take Exit 70S to merge onto RT-201S toward Johnson City. Take the ramp onto RT-434 E/Vestal Pkwy E. The hotel will be on the right.Directions from Syracuse, NY to the North:75 miles. From Syracuse, take I-81S and exit onto RT-17 W toward Owego/Elmira. Take exit 70S to merge onto RT-201 S toward Johnson City. Take the ramp onto RT-434 E/Vestal Pkwy E. The hotel will be on the right.Directions from Scranton, PA to the South:65 miles. From Scranton, travel I-81N to RT-17 W toward Owego/Elmira. Take exit 70S to merge onto RT-201 S toward Johnson City. Take the ramp onto RT-434 E/Vestal Pkwy E. The hotel will be on the right. We look forward to seeing you in the Binghamton area of New York! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Binghamton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Binghamton Hotel Vestal
Residence Inn Vestal
Vestal Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing