We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun version of Christmas story!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffet Star

Buffet Star
Ranked #16 of 98 Restaurants in Vestal
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rensselaer, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fun version of Christmas story!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had Christmas dinner here (along with hundreds of others -- the place was packed). Tons of different food items to choose from -- beef, chicken, pork, squid, sushi, vegetarian, and traditional dinner offerings like turkey and stuffing. Variety of soups and a humungous salad bar. They even had a chocolate fountain for you to dip fresh fruit in! If you can't find something to like on their buffet, then it doesn't exist!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terrbear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    37
    13
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
151 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Food glorious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were looking hard for nice Asian food and the front desk staff at our hotel told us about Buffet Star. He said it was about 15min drive. The drive was totally worth it. The food variety is huge! Food is good and fresh. There were just so many dishes/soups and most were authentic. If you want to have a nice and hearty meal (instead of the normal fast food) where you can sit and chat, this is the place to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carplaneshiptrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deposit, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quantity but not great quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have been to Buffet Star twice now for lunch. The quantity and variety is good. I was disappointed with the overall quality, however. The Hot and Sour Soup, usually of my favorites, was not to my liking. I enjoyed the sushi and the dumplings, but I have enjoyed the food at other Asian restaurants in the area more than I did this one. The Buffet Star does a good business and the price for lunch is very reasonable - be prepared for large crowds in the evening. I will keep trying other Asian restaurants in the Binghamton/Vestal/Johnson City area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
1 review
“good buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

this buffet was one of my favorite chinese buffets in the area. the selection is great. the ribs on the weekends are amazing, and they offer a lot of seafood for dinner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Everyone should try this buffet. They have all sorts of food to choose from. You can't go
wrong.Anyone who leaves hungry is there own fault. Good service and the waitresses were
Pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MRP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffet Star also viewed

 

Been to Buffet Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing