We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Neighborhood Tradition”
Review of Consol's

Consol's
Ranked #64 of 97 Restaurants in Vestal
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Endicott, New York
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Tradition”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great food, great service and affordable. One of our favorite places to go. Whenever family comes to town we must plan a night at Consol's. The bar is comfortable and the staff is like family. Always pleasant place to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank callenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Uncomfortably loud”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The food is ok--portions are large and prices are fair (though a pet peeve of mine is an additional charge for blue cheese dressing). I have never been a big fan of Consol's sauces though as I find them a bit bland. I had rigatoni with a vodka sauce and that too was bland and the sauce a bit thinner than I like. The chicken parmesan was fairly good and the portion was huge.
The noise level of the restaurant was too loud for a pleasant experience. I suspect the attractive ceiling tiles are the culprit as they were not sound absorbing. There were several screaming children in the restaurant as well as overly loud music, which meant that it was impossible to hold a conversation with the person seated across from me.
Although the restaurant was not overly crowded, it was several minutes before we were acknowledged by either of the harried waitresses and then several minutes before we were seated. Service is a bit on the rushed and indifferent side.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Iris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quick & Good!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I'm Italian and I still give this restaurant a good rating. You can't beat the prices (or the portions). The service is speedy yet you don't feel rushed. Wine and beer are available. The pizza is great as a leftover, as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaniC4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The new Consol's branch restaurant.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not as large as the Endicott original, and with more restricted menu and bar choices, but the food and service are just as good. Conveniently adjacent to the University (just across from the west entrance on Bunn Hill Rd). Reasonable prices. Emphasis is Italian.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food and value...atmosphere (NOT)”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Food is very reasonably priced and quite tastey ( we had grilled margarita pizza, lasagna, salad, and chocolate cake for dessert). Huge servings and complimented with bread. Limited wine, beer list. But was ok. Downfall in my book was the fact we were one of three tables (so not crowded) ... But waitresses were "screaming" at each other across the resaturant. ALL meal long (like when do we refill salt shakers, what are you doing after work, did you see...). Honestly..if they would have just gotten in proximity to each other (or just shut up) the meal would have been much nicer. One gal stood at bar and yelled at other "alto" chick at the other end of restaurant. So there was no escape..and no one had time to check on us (and we were trying to flag them down to get lasagna heated more). So service is a shortcoming. Maybe better option for take-a-way.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BTMNSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Consol's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing