We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My worst experience ever in a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Vestal
Certificate of Excellence
Woodmere, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My worst experience ever in a hotel”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I reserved a room here on line costing over 200.00. When I arrived I was given a room adjacent to the lounge, pool, and elevator, which was also right by the front entrance. It was unbearably loud. When I asked for a change of room, I was told that I was unable to do that. Not only that, I was responsible to pay for the room even if I left because it was past the deadline to cancel. It was loud until after 4 AM. A deaf person would have been unable to sleep. This was the worst experience I have ever had with a hotel in 55 years.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else in Vestal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnVestal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is our #1 concern. The staff member who you spoke with believed that you were satisfied with the additional points which he applied to your Priority Club account; otherwise, he would have checked to see what else he could have done to rectify the situation. What you had booked on line was a package deal, which included a Jacuzzi Suite and Gas Card. Unfortunately, we only have two Jacuzzi Suites on property and the other room was in use already, which is why you could not be moved at 4 AM. That weekend we did have a large wedding party in house, and the staff tried to contain them in the Great Room upon their return from the wedding. I'm very sorry that your room was the only one of its type available. I hope that the additional discount, which our Front Desk Manager sent to you, will tempt you to come back, give us another try, and allow us to win back your faith in the Holiday Inn Express Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    56
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
98
43
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Had a recent business trip in Binghamton, stayed for 3 nights. Fairly new hotel, staff very helpful, rooms clean. Free breakfast was ok but it was free so not really complaining. Only thing was an odd odor in the main foyer and elevator, almost like plastics that were curing as I said a newer hotel so it may be construction material just curing. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjhh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Hotel is attractive and quiet, even though it's off a busy street. Room was nice and comfortable, and conveniently located near the pool, fitness center, and breakfast buffet room.

Staff was nice and accommodating. Free breakfast buffet was very nice, as was the fitness center.

My biggest complaint is the pool. It was cloudy and had small bugs in it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annakmem089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieScurry, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
I would like to Thank you for your kind words as well as the constructive criticism for our property. I would like to specifically respond to your pool area complaints if I may. I thank you for letting us know that the pool was cloudy. I have addressed that issue and the pool has been cleared up. Apparently the Bromine levels had gone lower than normal. The bug issue is unfortunately due to the fact that the windows are being opened. We have also addressed that and I do not believe that if will be an issue in the future. Again Thank you for your words and I do hope that you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed in Vestal for two nights -- and moved over to a suite in the Holiday Inn Express for the second night after discovering the suites were less-than-desirable at the Courtyard by Marriott.

In short, you get much more for your money here. The suites are roomier and have two queen beds as well as a pullout couch. And, not only was the room less expensive, it included breakfast. Amen to saving another $40 plus tip.

My only complaint: the pool area needs much, much, much more insulation. The decibel levels were exceedingly, ear bleedingly loud. I brought my kids down for a swim (in the cold water) and had to leave <5 minutes later due to shrieking kids -- a sound I normally tolerate well. It was so painful that my children were glad to leave, as well.

Oh, and the front desk staff is unbelievably nice, warm, engaging, friendly, funny, etc. They took great care of us and it was much appreciated.

Would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PranayamaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Spent one night while looking at SUNY Binghamton with my sons. The road (494) is not pretty, but this property is set back enough to block the noise. The hotel was full but there was no noise in our third floor room. We were put in a first floor room, but were easily switched when I asked to move from the ground floor. The room was nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nicer than most chains.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieScurry, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
The management and staff always appreciate hearing a nice word about a guests stay here at the hotel. If your sons decide to attend Binghamton Univeristy I hope we will be seeing a lot more of you! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

My husband was in Binghamton for work and I went with him. This Holiday Inn Express was great. The room was immaculate. The bathroom was practically sparking, it was so clean. The bed was also really comfortable. It felt really luxurious, far past our expectations. The front desk staff was very friendly and the entire hotel just had a really nice feel and ambiance to it. If you find yourself in Binghamton/Vestal, definitely stay here!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieScurry, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words. It's always wonderful to hear how much a guest enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2010

we're doing a long term stay to make our transition from nyc to binghamton and holiday inn express hotel and suites in binghamton university-vestal has become our home away from home. The staff is friendly and accommedating.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupcake077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vestal
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Binghamton/Vestal
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Binghamton University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 9 in Vestal
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal
Address: 3615 Vestal Pkwy E, Vestal, NY 13850-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Vestal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Vestal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal Located between Binghamton, Endicott and Johnson City, our Vestal, NY hotel is ideally situated in the southern tier of New York with easy access to Rte. 17, I-81 and I-88. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Vestal, NY hotel is near SUNY Binghamton University. Leisure travelers will love using our Vestal accommodations as a home base for sightseeing within the region. Whether visiting one of the local horse farms or taking advantage of the wealth of outdoor adventures nearby, there is plenty to do in Vestal. This hotel is within easy driving distance of Binghamton Senators Hockey, the Binghamton Zoo, Roberson Museum of Science Center & Link Planetarium and the Conklin Players Club. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient lodging in Vestal, New York near BAE Systems, IBM, Frito-Lay and Link Flight Simulations. There are three medical centers and hospitals within three miles of the hotel. Being in Vestal means being close to the Greater Binghamton Regional Airport. Our choice Vestal, New York accommodations also boasts an on-site conference room and free, high-speed Internet access. Our hotel in Vestal, NY offers all the comforts of home. We hope that you take advantage of the complimentary Express Start breakfast or enjoy a dip in the indoor pool. Call our Vestal, New York hotel today, and enjoy our great hotel's deals and rates for the Tri-Cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Binghamton University-Vestal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Binghamton University-Vestal
Vestal Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Vestal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing