We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like this place, you've probably next set foot outside of Verplanck”

Paradise Bar & Grill
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Verplanck
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Croton on Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you like this place, you've probably next set foot outside of Verplanck”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I heard all the hype. The staff is amazingly warm and friendly. However, the food was awful! Got 5 frozen lobster ravioli in a tomato paste like sauce for $16.95. My son's chicken nuggets were the equivalent of the chicken your order when you ask for sweet & sour chicken at a Chinese restaurant. And the homey ambiance? Maybe...if you decorate your home by shopping at Family Dollar. Majorly disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan10520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Glad I returned”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My family has been coming here forever. My father for pizza in the 1950s till today's great grand kids ordering ziti. I had the chance to return during a hospital visit in the area and felt like family. Great food, wonderful people, and accommodating. I misread the board of specials, so they made me what I thought I read. The homemade cream puffs are a favorite, I ate mine on the two hour ride home, I couldnt wait!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor
Level Contributor
395 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Consistently Tasty Food and Good Value”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Returned to Paradise, and ordered off the menu.

Chose sausage with Broccoli Rabe over a bed of ziti, house salad, pitcher of Yuengling beer, including tax and tip, was $35 (pics uploaded)

Served complimentary cookies too at the end of the meal.

Consistently tasty food and good value in a neighborhood destination.

Tip: If you don't see something, just ask. They seem welcoming to accommodate.

No Wi-Fi though.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor
Level Contributor
395 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Best Darn Local Family Place”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Paradise is the kind of unpretentious, family-owned Italian restaurant, where people know each other, that no longer exists.

For lunch, enjoyed the pasta with spicy sausage served with abundant toasted Italian bread. Look forward to tasting the pizza most recently recognized in Westchester Magazine

Yuengling on tap. Pitcher is good value at $10

Have returned with family and friends.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Family Food & Friendly Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is a family owned restaurant and it is clear they follow time tested family recipes. Their food is consistently good and fresh. The owners sometimes make the rounds to talk to their patrons - many of whom are "regulars." But don't let that deter you - they welcome everyone.
I suggest the Baked ziti with meatballs. Classic recipe and always piping hot and the meatballs are nice and hearty. Plus, the cookies at the end of the meal (free!) are to die for.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Bar & Grill also viewed

Verplanck, Westchester County

Been to Paradise Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing