We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing after so many years...”
Review of Sea Shell Inn - CLOSED

Sea Shell Inn
Price range: $9 - $16
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing after so many years...”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The only thing preventing me from selecting "Terrible" in this review is the atmosphere / sunset. The Sea Shell has been a favorite summer time dining location of ours for years. It is hands down the best place to watch the sun set on the east shore of Oneida lake. Historically the food has matched the atmosphere, unfortunately something has changed this year and it is NOT for the better.

Earlier this summer we were looking forward to kicking off the summer with a great dinner and sunset at the Sea Shell. We enjoyed a great sunset but had a terrible dinner, but thought... OK it was bad but anyone can have a bad day. Last night we gave them another go... it was equally as bad as before. From dried out over cooked pork chops (which historically had been amazing) to fish that was equally as bad, the meal was a total miss.

It is truly unfortunate that one of our favorite summertime dinning spots is experiencing such a downturn in quality. Sorry but even an amazing sunset won't be able to get us back anytime soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LIVERPOOL, NEW YORK
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“terrible”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

11 of us went to celebrate my 60th birthday. Our reservation was at 7:30-not seated until 8:30, so we had a couple of cocktails at the bar. My husband had 2 beers at the bar, and then 1 beer at the table and asked for another while eating. The waitress said "I am sorry sir the bartender is cutting you off, she feels you had too much to drink, and we are worried about you people driving" I told her we have designated drivers and there should be no problem, plus he only had 3 beers. The waitress also denied beverage to two other people. Now if we didn't have to wait there for an hour and were seated at the time our reservation was designated for we wouldn't of drank at the bar. Also, we had to wait for our food which was cold, and terrible. If we would of been seated at a reasonable wait, and feed at another reasonable time-maybe we would of only had 1-2 drinks vs 3? Mind you there was only 2 other couples in the place, so food preparation could of been better and served better. We all paid our bills and left with disgrace. My husband even told the owner that he would never come back to their establishment and she said "than don't. Nice place huh?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank virginia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great find.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just visited the Seashell for the first time. Apparently they have been there for over 40 years and we had never been in the area during their regular business hours. The food was great, the prices were very reasonable and the facility was extremely clean, even the rest rooms.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timmy13Syracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and view”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We go there often when we are up north. The food is consistently good and the view of the beach and lake are unbeatable. Drinks and desserts are good, too. Service is helpful without being intrusive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank epyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, great view!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is the second time I have visited this restaurant. Friends we were with are regulars, but it's the first time they have been there this season.

Four of us went for dinner on a Saturday night. We arrived just as the sun was going down, and were seated within 5 minutes. The place was quite busy, but the serves did a great job of tag-teaming to make sure that we were greeted and our drink order was taken. They have a full bar and a small, but very good.

The food was exceptionally well prepared and the selection was very tasty. Nothing too adventurous - fairly typical restaurant food around here. The tables are beach-themed display cases - glass-topped with shells and other attractive beach flotsam underneath.

The main feature of this restaurant is the view - most tables look out over an attractive lawn, to a dock and Oneida Lake. The sunset on the night we were there was absolutely spectacular.

Apparently this season they have a new chef, and changes have been made to the menu to get rid of the sandwich-style dishes. The whole group felt that this was an improvement over the old menu. One of the guests had a steak and said it was very good, another had a chicken francaise special, yet another the clams with linguini, and I had the chicken riggies.

Definitely one of the better restaurants on the east Oneida Lake shore.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBritNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Shell Inn also viewed

 
Verona Beach, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing