We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opulence in a Mundane Region”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Turning Stone
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Opulence in a Mundane Region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My spouse and I decided to go to the lodge for a quick one-night get-a-way. We both had never stayed at the lodge before but heard generally good reviews about it. Service was impeccable, the valet staff were gracious and a great first/last point of contact between us and the staff. The lobby is spectacular. The native furnishings paired with a modern lodge ambiance strikes an elegant yet unpretentious balance. Our room was spotless, which is always something I take note of. The king sized bed was comfortable, however the standout of the room for me was the bathroom. From the soaking tub to large shower to the double french-door entries, everything about it was great. A very minor mention is that there was only one sink in the bathroom, two would have been ideal. During our short stay we managed to use the pool and hot tub a couple times, which I recommend patrons take advantage of. Overall, service was on point during all our encounters with various staff and the facility evokes a true spa/pampering type feel.

Room Tip: Rooms that face away from the front circle are not recommended, since you can hear the thru-way nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ast66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    50
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
73
190
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place is over the top. The staff are very attentive. The Lodge is very well clean, quiet and a nice place for a quick get away. The Wild Flower Resturant is superb and is definetly a 4/5 Star dining experience. We have also eaten at the Steak and Italian resturants in the Casino and they are very good also. My only complaint is that I don't feel the buffet resturant is up to the standard that are shown in the rest of the resort. If you are a golfer you will not find 3 nicer or well groomed courses. All 3 are worth playing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yurgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for a girls's get-away road trip. Although it was a long ride for a short stay, it was worth it! The rooms are set up beautifully with a nice sized balcony to relax on. Our dinner at Wildflowers was fine dining -both food and service were excellent. They fixed a glitch in our check to our satisfaction in minutes. Spa and treatments as well as the pool were most enjoyable. Look forward to a return trip and maybe take advantage of the golf. Would say the casino is so-so but then I'm not really a big player.

Room Tip: upper floor with balcony would seem to be best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Those that follow me know I am a tough critic and I very rarely give an establishment 5 stars, but the Lodge at Turning Stone deserves such an honor. Surprisingly, they get it. The facade, decor and rooms are impressive with stone, wood and high ceilings all providing an ultimate Adirondack lodge feel. The service was also on par with what you'd expect from a 5 diamond award winning hotel. Each time I walked through the lobby or passed a valet, they knew my name and asked how I was doing. Room service was competent, on time and the food was above average. We stayed in a VIP suite, which had a fireplace, and that certainly added to the experience, but even apart from the room, the hotel was a drastic step in the right direction from what the old tower hotel is. The only drawbacks were that the gym was a little small and the carpet in our room should probably be changed within the next 12 months or so. Otherwise, it was a nice experience and this is where we'll be staying when visiting family in the Utica area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rufus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at The Lodge the weekend of a friend's wedding and were extremely pleased with our choice. Each time we re-entered our room, it had been cleaned. When we would return at night, there was calming music already playing in our spotless room. The staff was one of our favorite aspects. Thompson and Harry were personable and made us feel more like friends and not just customers. Our car was always ready extremely quickly, which made my life less hectic when I was running late. There is also a beautiful back lawn and garden that was very relaxing to read in during my free time. It is also very convenient to access the casino, as the walkway to the casino is located on the second floor of the hotel.

Next time I go, I will plan enough time to go to their beautiful and relaxing spa. We can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: The walkway to the casino is located on the second level. If you don't want to have to ride the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We cannot say enough about the property, amenities and service at the Lodge. This is not the tower property at Turning Stone. It is a resort of the utmost luxury. All rooms are suites with the most beautiful design features. There are beautiful artifacts framed and outdoors plenty of seating in breathtaking gardens.

The valet and front staff set the tone which carried through our whole weekend stay. Everyone smiled and greeted us when we saw them in passing. Many times we were asked how our stay was going and if they could help us further.

We did not utilize the spa services, but my husband and his friend golfed on an amazing course. They were very pleased.

The turndown service was a pleasant surprise. Meals were delicious and service impeccable.

It is no wonder that the Lodge at Turning Stone is an award winning resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

a lodge ??? really? a tent would be better, I am sorry but this is not a hotel. The casino is bad enought this place is worse. I am sorry I travel for a living this is not worth the money and the casino is worse. Bring oxgen tank the place is filled with smoke. NO hospitality here Rude

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pagrif12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TS_Management, Manager at The Lodge at Turning Stone, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We were very disappointed to learn that your stay at the Lodge did not meet your expectations. If our staff indeed treated you less than favorably, that is of great concern to me and I hope you would consider taking a moment to discuss your experience with us personally. I can be reached at the number below. I sincerely hope to hear from you soon.

Nicolas Marquez
Lodge Front Office Manager
1-800-771-7711
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
0.2 mi away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
10.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Turning Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Turning Stone

Property: The Lodge at Turning Stone
Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Verona
#1 Family Hotel in Verona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A legendary experience awaits your indulgence at the AAA 4-diamond award-winning Lodge at Turning Stone. Selected by Conde Nast Johansens as the "Most Excellent Resort" in the USA and Canada for 2007. The Lodge at Turning Stone is an elegant all-suite hotel that's perfected the art of pampering. This beautiful hideaway offers treasured privacy that superbly complements the resort's recreational pleasures. Your sumptuous suite is just mere steps from fun and excitement, yet still a serene world away. Come. Enjoy our hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Turning Stone Hotel Verona
Hotel At Turning Stone
At Turning Stone Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing