We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect for a relaxing Get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Turning Stone

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Turning Stone
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing Get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a wonderful all suite hotel. The facilities and service are excellent. One of the things I like best about the lodge is that it has a contemporary design that is relaxing and comfortable. The designers have done an excellent job of incorporating natural stone and wood into the design. Because the total number of rooms is small by hotel standards (I think there are a total of 90 suites) the building feels uncrowded which adds to the relaxing atmosphere. I have stayed in both a regular suite and a VIP suite. Both are great rooms. The primary difference is that the VIP suites have a larger balcony that has a hot tub. The VIP suite does have a slightly larger living room with a half bath but this was not a big deal for me. The king bedroom and adjoining bathroom seemed similar in both suites. The lodge has its own spa and it is one of the better hotel spa facilities I have been to in the northeast. I had the best pedicure foot treatment that I have ever received. The bar in the hotel is very relaxing and makes great drinks- It also offers an upscale bar menu of lite bites and burgers. The lodges restaurant wildflowers is a first class dining facility and has excellent food. The turning stone resort also has outstanding golf facilities (3 championship courses) located adjacent to the lodge. Ironically, the casino which is thankfully located across the street is a disappointment by comparison to the lodge. Rather than incorporating natural design elements (think Mohegan sun casino) The casino feels like one of the older seedier las vegas casino's that is decorated in a cheap glitzy costume jewelry type design. It doesn't help matters that many of the people gambling in the casino look like they couldn't afford the plane ticket to las Vegas. Also, when I go to Vegas, I don't take cash because I can always cash a personal check at the casino. I have always been able to cash a check (they do an immediate credit check or direct debit) for at least two thousand and as much as ten thousand dollars depending on casino policy. At turning stone the limit was $50. I was able to get $500 out of the ATM using my debit card. In summary, if you're looking for a relaxing getaway the lodge is outstanding and I would highly reccomend it. Prices are high but certainly fair given the quality of the lodge experience. If you are going primarily for the casino and looking for an upscale high energy las vegas type experience the lodge and the turning stone casino are not for you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MC7894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    48
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
70
186
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lodge at Turning Stone for our 6th Anniversary. We stayed in one of the outdoor jacuzzi suites. It was absolutely beautiful. The Lodge is spotlessly clean, the staff is extremely polite, the atmosphere is so relaxing.

The bed was so comfy. The bathroom amazingly clean and very nice. The check-in staff was outstanding...the valet staff was amazing...the bar tender made the best strawberry daquiri I've ever had!

The hot tub on the balcony was a bit too hot and my husband couldnt enjoy it at all. He only got one leg in and had to get out. I could only handle it for a few minutes and had to get out too. It was at 106 degrees and that was way high. I wish we would have uncovered it as soon as we had gotten to the room to check the temp. We would have turned down the temp and left the cover off so it would have cooled down some but we didnt even give it a thought since we didnt even plan on using it till later that evening. We were so disapponted that we didnt get to really enjoy it. After all, that is why I chose that particular room.

I have stayed at the Hotel (it was ok) and the Tower (not impressed and rude staff) but I can tell you that the Lodge has our business from now on. Next time when I make a reservation for the outdoor jacuzzi room I will remember to request that the temp be turned down to 102 degrees and will make sure I check as soon as I get there.

Our overall experience though is worth 5 stars!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMThomas06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just got back from our Ancient Order of Hibernians Convention, and just wanted to say Turning Stone did an excellent job. The food, service, hotel rooms, convention space was excellent. I highly recommend this Hotel for your next convention. No complaints
Not far from the Baseball Hall of Fame, Boxing Hall of Fame and Soccer Hall of Fame

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoolie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We decided to book the jacuzzi suite for a weekend getaway. It's definitely a nice resort for CNY, and it was a pretty good experience. The rooms are spacious with nice amenities, including two tv's, shower, and spa bath. The rooms included a mini-bar and the prices were actually reasonable for the items, compared to at most hotels. I think it was $3 for a beer, $2 for a king size candy bar, etc. We paid an extra $100 and got the jacuzzi suite with a full size outdoor jacuzzi and large deck. The jacuzzi and deck were nice, but they were not very private at all. Pretty much every room on your side of the lodge could look in at you in the jacuzzi, like you were on display for them. I would probably recommend against getting it. The pool and hot tub in the lodge were very nice and both a good temperature. We ended up eating at Pino Bianco in the casino, and were not that impressed with it. I ordered the seafood brodetto which includes a lobster tail, but they only give you a half of a lobster tail. For a $40 entree, you would expect a full lobster tail as listed in the menu. Besides that, the dish was watery with very few noodles. I don't think I'll be going back to Pino Bianco. I would think about staying at the Lodge again, but I'm not sure it's worth it for the price. There's a lot of other four star hotels out there for half the cost.

Room Tip: I would recommend a normal suite, only get the jacuzzi suite if you don't mind people being voye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Lodge is a hidden gem in upstate NY. The fact that it has a Casino and several restaurants makes it a plus. But the Big plus is that when you stay at the Lodge you are secluded from the casino atmosphere. This place is luxurous, stylish & magnificent. the reception we received and the treatment we got throughout our stay was fantastic. We loved it so much ( we were there Memorial Day weekedn) that we are going back there on Labor Day weekend. Rooms were very spacious ,bathrooms elegant. Lobby ...and garden areas were wonderful . The onkly downside is that it is a far ride from NYC but well worth the trip.

Room Tip: We did not get a balcony room this time but we did reserve one for Labor day....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urbanphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Away from the tower and hotel casino. The lodge offers quietness and an oasis of calmness. Excellent attention to details and service. Well worth the price premium. Restaurant in lobby offers full fare. Quick access to golf course.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Lodge at Turning Stone, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review of the Lodge. We particularly appreciate your kind words about our attention to detail, and we have shared this with our staff. We hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Rooms are exceptional. Hotel staff excellent and responsive. Golf and other amenities easily accessible. We went with 3 other couples for a golf weekend and the weekend could not have been better. Only issue was wildflower, a 4 diamond restaurant. the service was slow. the appetizers uniformly excellent. However, the tuna was clearly recommended by the waitstaff but greatly disappointing. Bland, flavorless. Other entrees were very good but not earth shattering and not 4 diamond. The next day we had breakfast. Very slow service and more than one order was incorrect. I was served a butchered english muffin with eggs and only recieved my sausage and hash browns as we were asking for the check. Very impressed with the lodge and will go back. However, I will avoid wildflowers and would recommend others do the same. there are too many other restaurants in the casino to waste your time in wildflower

Room Tip: no particular tips. all 4 couples had great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarabthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Lodge at Turning Stone, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lodge and Wildflowers. We are especially pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay so much and took advantage of our beautiful golf courses while you were here. We were disappointed to learn of your experiences in Wildflowers and have shared your feedback with the management and staff. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experience and appreciate you taking to the time to share yours. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
0.2 mi away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Turning Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Turning Stone

Property: The Lodge at Turning Stone
Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#1 Family Hotel in Verona
#1 Business Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A legendary experience awaits your indulgence at the AAA 4-diamond award-winning Lodge at Turning Stone. Selected by Conde Nast Johansens as the "Most Excellent Resort" in the USA and Canada for 2007. The Lodge at Turning Stone is an elegant all-suite hotel that's perfected the art of pampering. This beautiful hideaway offers treasured privacy that superbly complements the resort's recreational pleasures. Your sumptuous suite is just mere steps from fun and excitement, yet still a serene world away. Come. Enjoy our hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Turning Stone Hotel Verona
Hotel At Turning Stone
At Turning Stone Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing