We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and fun stay at the Tower”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tower at Turning Stone Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Congers NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable and fun stay at the Tower”
Reviewed July 3, 2006

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Tower at Turning Stone and we had a really great time with no problems or issues. They have made some nice improvements since our last visit 1 1/2 years ago. Our room and bathroom were large, modern, clean, and comfortable. The room was equipped with everything you need and had a view of the area. Valet parking and pool access were included with the room rate. Staff were friendly and competent. Note to government employees: make your room reservations by phone. I asked for a government rate and paid significantly less than the room prices listed online! Just bring your ID, they do check.
The Italian restaraunt Pino Bianco is highly recommended for dinner, and Emerald serves good food at any meal in a diner-like atmosphere. We also had one dinner at Wildflowers at the Lodge which was good with interesting food, but it was on the expensive side. We should have skipped the "food court" as it was mediocre. As noted by other reviewers, they don't sell alcohol, but you can easily BYOB to the restaraunts. Soft drinks, juice and really good coffee were available free in the casino.
Table games were $5 or $10 minimums the nights we stayed, which is much cheaper than Atlantic City. We don't play slots, but I got lucky playing video poker. The non-smoking game areas were nice. We didn't golf or go to the spa, but they are supposedly excellent.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lesleyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    182
    79
    33
    14
See reviews for
76
187
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2006

A friend and I recently stayed in the Tower at the Turning StoneCasino, and love it. The room has a very Metro modern feel to it in very calm, relaxing colors. The free parking garage was a added bonus. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, service from all staff was wonderful. Best deal for dining, if you don't want anything fancy, is the Emerald. Diner type food that is inexpensive, with fast freindly service. And if you are gambling use your karats to pay for things like dining and desserts at Opals. We wished we could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank irelandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2006

My husband and I stayed the night in the Tower after seeing a concert at Turning Stone's Event Center. First of all, we were supposed to have non-smoking room and they accidentally booked us in a smoking. Second, we'd requested a room on a higher level and they were gonna give us one on the 19th floor. It wasn't ready when we got there. After an hour of waiting around, they told us there was one on the 9th floor we could have if we didn't want to wait. So we took it.

The room was nice, but surprisingly small. Nice view. Everything was clean, other than the cigarette smell. The king-sized bed was the most comfortable we'd ever slept in! That was the best part of our stay. Full-size ironing board in the roomy closet, plus a blow dryer. Nice, big bathroom, but the shower was weird. There's only a half-door, which doesn't slide shut. The water pressure was too low for our taste. No bathtub; only a shower. Cool, light-up magnifying makeup mirror attached to the bathroom wall.

When you check into your room, please note that the mini fridge, located under the TV, is monitored by a sensor. Even if you don't take anything out- say if you reach in there and slide things around to make room for your own stuff- you will be charged the full $25 "incidentals" deposit they automatically put on your credit card. Sorry, but I am not going to pay $2.75 for a little bottle of Diet Coke, no matter how thirsty I am! I recommend bringing a cooler or utilizing the ice machine down the hall to fill up the bathroom sink and convert it into a place to chill your beer! (BYOB; it's a dry casino!)

Nice, but not worth $155 a night. Especially when the casino machines are as tight as they are!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cricket975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2005

My SO and I spent a night away and decided to go down the Thruway to Turning Stone and stay at the Tower. We made reservations the day before by phone for a King/NS and thats exactly what we received and we were also asked if we preferred an upper or lower level floor. Restaurants, map of resort, wet bar etc was all explained at check-in. The room was beyond what we were expecting; very stylish, comfortable, clean. The bathroom also had a double head shower, plenty of towels, toiletries, etc. Upon returning from dinner we had a message on the phone from the check in person again welcoming us and reminding us to please contact them with any needs or questions. We parked for free in the parking garage; valet is available. The only two negatives were a couple TV channels had mediocore reception and the rate on the internet did not match the rate we were charged ($20.00 more); upon questioning this, supposedly the rate is variable depending upon availability (however we were quoted the higher rate on the phone making the reservation, but my SO never questioned it). The fitness area, swimming area looked very enticing but we never made it down there; everyone we encountered was very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PoohNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
0.1 mi away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
4.3 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#2 of 2 in Vernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower at Turning Stone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower at Turning Stone Resort

Property: The Tower at Turning Stone Resort
Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Verona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower at Turning Stone – AAA 4 Diamond award-winning high-rise hotel, offers a stunning panoramic view of the countryside. The Tower features spacious guest rooms and elegant suites. 100% Non-Smoking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tower At Turning Stone Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing