We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turning Stone Tower”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tower at Turning Stone Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Turning Stone Tower”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very nice hotel. Rooms are nothing special. Pretty basic rooms for the price. Location is great since you are steps from the casino. Walls are very thin, heard the party next to us all night. Not enough elevators and they are small. Stay in the lodge if you can afford it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    186
    79
    33
    15
See reviews for
77
189
18
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to stay at turning stone in Jan. of 2014. As we waited (30 mins) in line to check in an employee approached us and asked that we open the small cooler we had in addition to our luggage. I asked him (respectfully) to explain the reason for his request. He replied "Do I need to call Security?" At this point other people were staring at us and my wife and I were quite embarrassed being put on display. I opened our cooler and the employee noticed we had a bottle of wine (we brought it as we like to enjoy a glass when relaxing in our room). The employee stated "we do not allow alcoholic beverages to be brought on the property. You need to remove it or you can not check in". My wife and I have never heard of such a policy but we complied to avoid any further embarrassment. Needless to say it put a damper on and ruined the mood of our stay. We will never stay at turning stone again . . .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Airfoils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TS_Management, Manager at The Tower at Turning Stone Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We are very sorry to hear about your experience while waiting to check in. While we do have an alcohol policy, we agree that your situation was handled very poorly. Our Front Office Manager, Kim Lane, would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you personally, regarding your experience. We would like to be able to gather additional information so that we may specifically address your experience with the appropriate team members. Kim can be reached at 1-800-771-7711. Feedback such as yours is very important and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. We hope you will reconsider and join us again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Nice place. Horrible service. Right off the bat the lady at the front desk, Gina, had quite the attitude. Checked in around noon because we were going to a show at their event center. Room was not ready. She said they had until 6 to get it ready. I have traveled the world for years and have never heard of such a thing and have never not had a room ready. Whole conversation I dealt with her attitude like I was being processed to go to jail. Walls are thin and you can hear every conversation in next room. Received two more attitudes while there. Went to the food court for a snack. Bill was x amount of dollars and 37 cents. With a snobby attitude I was asked if I wanted to pay the 37 cents to save a karat. No idea what she was talking about. Explained it with her attitude like I was supposed to know how it worked. Bought concert tickets. Went to front desk to make another reservation. This woman had an extreme stick up her you know what. No hello or anything just stared at me. The lady who checked us in was there and yelled out 'They already checked out.' I said 'Well we have been treated with such respect and dignity that we bought concert tickets and want to do it all over again.' Both nasty once again. Told me they don't take reservations that I have to call and make them. Why can't they just be nice with all the money people spend there? Last attitude was at the promo desk. Nasty people there as well. Once again like the police processing someone you see on tv shows.

Room Tip: Nice place if you can handle the poor service. Don't expect to be treated well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astro1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TS_Management, Manager at The Tower at Turning Stone Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. We were both surprised and disappointed to learn about your experience at our resort. Our Front Office Manager, Kim Lane, would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you personally about your concerns. If you would, please take a moment to contact her directly at 800-771-7711. We hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Another nice stay at the Tower @ Turningstone. Room 1917 was clean, comfortable and fairly large. Comfortable king bed, top rate bathroom/shower. Sadly, the guests in adjacent room 1916 from 10 pm until 2 am (ish) were drunk, loud and not caring about slamming doors and disturbing other guests. We called down to the front desk and complained twice and the hotel staff attempted to quiet them down. Unfortunate that some jerks can ruin a otherwise lovely evening for everyone else. Next visit we'll stay in the Lodge; seems the pricing there keeps out most of the riff raff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snert41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
3,077 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 986 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed at the Tower part of Turning Stone last summer, in a room that was "comp'd" to me by the casino. This place was absolutely beautiful, with all the extras you'd picture in a casino hotel. Excellent bed, bathroom, shower...the works. The air conditioning is also first-rate, and is capable of freezing you out of your summer clothes in a single hour!

Access to the downstairs dining rooms and casino floor are just an elevator ride away. But be careful and DO NOT LEAVE YOUR ROOM KEY BEHIND. You will need it to take the elevator up to a higher floor from the casino.

This was a great hotel, and I would love to come back again soon.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room that is removed from the central ("main") elevator area, especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel and casino are very nice. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Everyone was very accommodating, but the very expensive to stay there. Are room was complimentary, because we stayed with friends who gamble there. We would go again though the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalladiumGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

book a room for new years eve and the Frankie valli and the four seasons show..Stayed in the tower room was so so, Stayed in the hotel before liked that better.after the Frankie valli show thought we would go to bar have a few drinks,Well! couldn't even get near a bar let alone get a drink, way way way over crowded, so no more turning stone for new years !! really enjoyed massages that we had would highly recommend..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vernon
182 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower at Turning Stone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower at Turning Stone Resort

Property: The Tower at Turning Stone Resort
Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Verona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower at Turning Stone – AAA 4 Diamond award-winning high-rise hotel, offers a stunning panoramic view of the countryside. The Tower features spacious guest rooms and elegant suites. 100% Non-Smoking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tower At Turning Stone Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing