We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rob thomas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tower at Turning Stone Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tower at Turning Stone Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Long Lake, New York, United States
1 review
“rob thomas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

the room was great and the place was great, got a little lost when trying to find opal for coffee, and the sports bar later, but had great help from a worker named victor, I believe, he was a great help and very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    179
    78
    33
    14
See reviews for
74
185
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
valatie
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

do not bring alcohol-check your luggage and no previous notes regarding this. Check in time was stated as 3pm-got their @ 2 but had to wait until 5;30 to get room-and we still had to leave by 11am-quite expensive for 3/4qts day.
forget about gambling-they don't explain you can't use cash at slots -have to get in 2 hour line to get a card that you prepay and then wouldn't work in machines- security or higher ups informed me some older machines didn't work to well., No chairs to sit in lounge in one bar / music area and the list goes on-NNEVER WILL I RETURN TO THIS NATION RESORT AGAIN OR ANY OTHER Atlantic city is far better on east coast-beds where like worn out college dorm beds

Room Tip: if you want to check in early don't count on it-wear comfortable shoes and clothing because you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TS_Management, Manager at The Tower at Turning Stone Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We do offer beverage services available for purchase throughout the resort. For this reason, there are restrictions in place, regarding outside alcohol, that we must abide by. We apologize that this created an inconvenience for you.
Our check-in time, does indeed begin at 3pm and rooms are guaranteed by 6pm.
We are sorry that your experience at our resort did not meet your expectations. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity someday in the near future. There are several new and exciting dining and entertainment experiences opening later this year. We think you might enjoy checking them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We add the opportunity of staying with your resort recently and our experience was excellent.It was a wonderful way to spend some quality time with our son and his family. We are from Canada and our son is with the US army and it was just a wonderful way to enjoy our time together. we will definitely stay at this resort when we are in your area again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stay at Turning Stone every year for a business meeting but stay whenever My wife and I want to escape. Whether you are there for business or pleasure it's a great getaway for the winter doldrums. You have many different options, tennis, racquetball, and the spa to name a few. Guests have a wide range of dining selections whether they desire fine dining or a 24 hour restaurant with fantastic food. I don't gamble but that would not stop me from staying here and have a great, relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Tower with a view of the golf course and the eternal fire by the lodge, its gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My first impression of the hotel was not good as I walked through the door into a lovely lobby filled with cigarette smoke. It was unbearable. The concierge did inform me that the lobby was smoke free but that only means you cant light up at the desk - the lobby is filled with smoke from those lighting up 5 feet away from you in a large open room. The concierge also assured me that our room in the tower was competely smoke free, which it was, but unless you stay in your room all day and night there is no where else you can go that won't require you to shower and do laundry to get the thick smoke smell off of you. At check out my partner checked us out and I bee lined it outside so that I wouldn't have to drive home for 5 hours smelling of disgustin smoke. If you are a non smoker or have allergies or sensitivities this is NOT the hotel for you. it felt like a prison.

On the upside, the room was comfortable, nice sized washroom and shower and the bed was ok. We ate at the Steakhouse in the tower (the only smoke free restaurant) which was quite pricey but enjoyable. They have removed all of the other restaurants that are listed in the hotel directory so I think the steakhouse was the only option aside from the casino buffet. We were told there is a sports pub across the street as another option. if you do plan to eat here book a reservation as although they do take walk ins there are only 8 tables on the lounge side and when shows are on they fill up fast.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charli70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Took my hubby for a quick overnight getaway. Had a great time. People are very friendly and helpful. Other reviews talk about the smoke... Yes it can get pretty smokey, but not so unbearable (and I am an ex-smoker)... Maybe it was because we went mid-week, but I did not feel that I had to shower and wash my clothes as soon as I got back to my room right after coming back from the casino. Went to TS Steakhouse for dinner and it was YUMMY... I over all highly recommend, but check out their package deals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlotta114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent and very informative staff at the front desk. We indulged ourselves in a couples massage at the Lodge. Excellent ambiance and a great experience over all. I only wish we would have known about our ability to stay all day in the Spa. We would have booked our massage time earlier.
The only reason I am not rating this a five is because we saw a lot of frowns on cleaning staff. It was very apparent that they did not seem happy with their job. Not the hospitality look for a facility such as this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edddiev1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
0.3 mi away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
11.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower at Turning Stone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower at Turning Stone Resort

Property: The Tower at Turning Stone Resort
Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Verona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower at Turning Stone – AAA 4 Diamond award-winning high-rise hotel, offers a stunning panoramic view of the countryside. The Tower features spacious guest rooms and elegant suites. 100% Non-Smoking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tower At Turning Stone Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing