We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to love this place, now despise it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Verona
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Used to love this place, now despise it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I learned of the TS from our parents and quickly learned to love it. However, we are so unbelievably frustrated with how delayed the mail "offers" are at arriving to us in Canada and our inability to utilize the free plays or free room offers before they expire or take the opportunity to upgrade (why would you offer is discounts on the Inn when we have only ever stayed in the Tower?) before those rooms are gone. Reservation staff have been rude and impatient and have more or less indicated that we'd get better offers if we spent more money, though they "sympathize" with our frustration. I was SO looking forward to my trip at the end of this week where my hubby and I could relax for two days. But after getting shafted out of using my room coupon offers and having to pay $400+ for two nights (as all offer upgrade rooms had been booked weeks earlier, even though we had only just received our coupon...) we decided to cancel our trip. I don't think we will ever be back. We might not have a lot of money but this has been a place we have loyally frequented (driving 3 hours from Canada) and I think next time we will go to an establishment closer to home. Very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starssobright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    126
    76
    23
    11
See reviews for
40
166
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a great clean hotel! It also is a very wonderful Casino with so much to do. A great place to visit. Also has wonderful places to eat And great clubs. It is decorated beautiful. Love this place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brp1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niskayuna ny
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We went on our anniversary(Sun nite) And had a great time. Clean room, clean property, great staff. We ate at the TS steakhouse, which was very good but pricy.I had a huge prime rib that I couldn't finish, but my wife was not impressed with the lamb chops. The only complaint my wife found with the casino was trying to find the right denomination slots. She thought there should be signs above different sections. She's a non-smoker and thought the non-smoking section had very good ventilation.

Room Tip: Don't simply rely on the internet. Call the accommodation people and tell them what your looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

On first entering I was hit in the face with the over powering smell of people smoking, I soon found slot machines in a no smoking area ,which some people were smoking anyway. Had lunch, food was good. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable .My main complaint is a $25.00 slot machine by penny machines. It should be in a high rollers den, not by penny machines. I mistakenly took it for a 25 cent machine and lost $150.00 in two spins, I know it was my own fault for not looking more closely, but still ,it shouldn't be there. I'm sure other people have made the same mistake. My advise to others ,this is a very nice place to stay, but if you are playing slots ,look closely at the machine you are going to play

Room Tip: get a king ,very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICIA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamson, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

It is still disappointing the amount of smoke you still have to deal with at this time. I thought public places have caught on to the stench and annoyance of smoke. It is such a beautiful hotel and restaurant variety. The rooms were nice. Clean. The men working at the valet parking and the men at the bell service were EXCEPTIONAL! I have never had such great service. I dont know what kind of training these guys go through, but are genuinely happy to help you . I cant say enough about it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was there for a meeting for one night. Room was nice , clean and spacious. Great shower, not a tub, with good pressure. It was nice to stay and eat and gamble a little all in one location in upstate NY. Self parking was free and easy in their parking deck. A/C should take a lesson from them. Had a great meal at their steak house on the 21st floor The buffet was breakfast was ok, I look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

apparantly this room was not used for a while because the towels smelled dusty , we could not use them until we got them replaced. On the day of checking out I woke up on hammering and drilling over my head aboput 8Am. When i went to speak to the maintenance man ( In the hospitality room where he was working , he was rude ,and not concern about what i am complaining about and in a rude manner waving his hands in my face is like ordering me to address my concern with the front desk. May be he was ordered to do the work , however , the managment should not have rented the room( if they coordibated with maintenace dept) if they plan to do maintenance work with such disturbance to the guests. also employee should be instructed to respond politely to the guest.i was attending Realtyusa rally. Rm427

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 524hany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TS_Management, Manager at The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are so sorry to hear about your experience at the Hotel at Turning Stone and can certainly understand your frustration. Our Front Office Manager, Kim Lane, would like an opportunity to speak with you personally regarding your experience. If you would, please take a moment to contact her at 1-800-771-7711. We would appreciate further feedback so we can properly address this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#2 of 2 in Vernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort

Property: The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at Turning Stone – AAA 3 Diamond award-winning low-rise hotel, located in the heart of casino excitement, provides full service at mid-level prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing