We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Verona
Malone, New York
2 reviews
“Not worth the price!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Went to a concert and stayed over. Room was just so, so!! The A/C unit was very very load and we could not shut it off. We were told by front desk all the rooms are the same and there was nothing they could do about A/C unit!!! Food was priced out of this world at all 3 areas in the hotel to eat. The concert itself was a disaster. We paid for floor seats. As soon as the concert started, the people in the off floor seats flooded the floor seat area. They were standing on seats in front and behind us. Security asked them to move at least 5 times. They never did and were finally thrown out after the last song of the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jberkman21905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TS_Management, Manager at The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We're very sorry to learn about the issues that you encountered. Our Front Office Manager, Kim Lane, has attempted to get in contact with you to address your concerns personally. Unfortunately, she has been unable to reach you. If you would take a moment to return her call, we would appreciate it. She can be reached at 800-771-7711. We hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    126
    77
    23
    11
See reviews for
40
167
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel many many times and I have never had any issues ,rooms are always clean,staff is always friendly.I would however like to complain about the making of the reservations.My husband and I recently booked another room for a concert and when I was done on the phone the lady stated what the reservations were for two double beds and I immediately told her no it is my husband and I and we need only one bed and she stated ok I will take care of it .Upon our arrival we were booked in a room with two double beds!!!! I was not happy and they made no attempt to try to put me in another room due to they were booked they stated.I was very unhappy and I will not be staying there again anytime soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TS_Management, Manager at The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about the error with your room type and your experience at check-in. We understand that you have since spoken to our Front Office Manager who has addressed these issues personally. We are happy to hear that your other experiences have all been positive and that you have since decided that you will indeed return. We are sure your next stay will be up to the level of service you typically experience. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First time staying at Turning Stone. This was a last minute stay and we had no problem booking a room. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. If you staying overnight the valet parking is free, which was welcomed as we arrived quite late. The room was large, clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. I found the pillows to be a bit firm but there was an extra, softer pillow and blanket in the closet that was much more suited for my sleeping. My brother celebrates his anniversary here each year. I never understood why until we stayed here too. It was easy, fun, quiet and nice. We will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scout11258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went to see concert and stayed in hotel. very clean and front desk very helpful. I have play the golf courses and are always in top notch shape. The cost to play the regular 18 hole courses a bit pricy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Service was great, people were friendly. Roulette table was unkind. Good restaurants and entertainment. Everything was kind of pricey, but which hotel/casino isn't?
I thought it was weird that you are not allowed to bring your own beer into your room, but not a big deal.
Had a smoking room, but it didn't smell smokey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The rooms were fine. Could have been anywhere USA. Double beds, not queens and I had a terrible time sleeping because the pillows were so very big my head was too far off the bed. Only one elevator for the hotel so it took a long time to get to guest rooms.

I didn't like the slot machines (couldn't find my favorite kinds) but I enjoyed the blackjack -- minimum bid was $10 for early afternoon which I thought was high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Throop
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

For our Mom's 90th birthday we decided to take her to your Resort for a day of gambling and dinner. Everything was great except the smell of the room had a hint of cigarette smoke other than that we had a really great day. the restaurant was really good (TS steakhouse) and the rooms were really clean. we will definitely be making a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri5Throop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#2 of 2 in Vernon
178 reviews
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort

Property: The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at Turning Stone – AAA 3 Diamond award-winning low-rise hotel, located in the heart of casino excitement, provides full service at mid-level prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing