We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Verona
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great staff”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Being newly handicapped, brought my attention to all that is needed once you leave home. Turning Stone has rooms equipped to your needs and the staff to make your visit relaxing. The handicapped rooms have oversized door openings so even a large wheelchair is no problem. The bathrooms are equipped with walk in or wheel in showers, grab bars all the way around, hand held shower hose, and a deluxe shower bench seat.
The beds with such comfort, make you want to stay forever.
If you have forgotten an item from home, the housekeeping staff are delighted to bring it to you.
Staff in other areas inside the resort, go out of their way to help and see to it you get whatever you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmlsol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    126
    77
    23
    11
See reviews for
40
167
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our room was nice however we also attended the Ely Young concert in the Showroom. That was my only disappointment. We were so crammed in the third/top level we could not even move our chairs out to sit down. God forbid if there was a fire we would have had to climb on top of the table to exit, Many people were unhappy because you literally could not move and your chest was pushed up against the table with the back of the other person's chair behind you at the next table against yours. Very disappointing, I feel like the concert was oversold and the event staff added a table in that level making it extremely uncomfortable for all of us. I would not go see a concert again in the showroom if I wasn't sure the seating issue had been resolved. I was emabrrassed for the guest that I brought.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently had a girls weekend and chose The Hotel at Turning Stone so we could have the ability to not have the leave the grounds or worry about shuttle schedules. The price was within $30 dollars of the nearby hotels which made it well worth it for us. Rick, the gentleman who helped us with our luggage was so very helpful. The room itself was nicely updated with modern furnishings. The bathroom was nicely appointed with a stone counter top. Shower was decent though the grout towards the bottom of the shower wall is showing it's wear and may need a good bleach soaking or a re-do. We took advantage of the casino, restaurant, night club and enjoyed a buffet breakfast on property in the morning before leaving. Overall, I was pleased with the experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeno0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Not much around here.If you are looking for a marginal casino & decent golf then this is the place.Rooms are decent with some having nice views over the golf course.The valet service is convenient but sometimes slow.A self park is available if you are traveling light.

There are some name brand entertainers but not regularly so you may want to check the calendar.The comedy club is ok.

overall it was a underwhelming experience and glad i only visited 2 nights.

Room Tip: the Tower building overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NATIVENy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very friendly staff, from making the reservation to time of check out. The food was extremely good, from Opals to lunch and dinner restaurants. We enjoyed the bars football "drink specials".
Overall Turning Stone is a very relaxing resort with many amenities; especially the gym and lap pool! We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel at Turning Stone. After reading some of the reviews about the customer service I was a bit nervous with that being said We were greeted by Chris at the check in who was extremely personable we were allowed to check in by 1:00. When I made the reservation I requested away from the elevator which was honored although next time I will request the 4th floor. The room was nice and clean the only noise was that of people slamming their doors which is no fault of management. Liked the idea you could only get on the elevator with room key. The down side was the SMOKE in the casino they definitely need to update the ventilation system in the Casino even in the non smoking it was bad! Stingy with free play Overall we had a nice night

Room Tip: away from the elevator and the 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamdog1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Decent food, very good food service, poor check-in procedures. I arrived at 10:30 a.m. for a conference. After standing in line at the registration desk 4 times throughout the day, I was finally assigned to a room at 5:00 p.m.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#2 of 2 in Vernon
178 reviews
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort

Property: The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at Turning Stone – AAA 3 Diamond award-winning low-rise hotel, located in the heart of casino excitement, provides full service at mid-level prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing